Friday’s Hunt v1.4

22 Jan

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  I’m excited for week four!  It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week, the topics will be:  Starts with E, Week’s Favorite, and sky.  I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. Without furthur ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with D:  Depth of field.  I have admit this was a hard week between short days, crazy weather and chores.  Finally, last night I got around to taking my first pictures of the week.  I decided to play with depth of field.  I started with a shallow depth of field and finished with a deeper one.

pine cone collage

Week’s Favorite:  Honestly, I didn’t have much for choice.  I guess taking the time to play with the camera was my favorite activity this week.  I’m looking forward to this weekend when the weather is supposed to be much nicer, so I’ll hopefully be able to play outside with the camera.

pine cone_0576ews

Beautiful:  I have this beautiful mirror with a grape leaf design around the edge.  I love it, but I don’t really have anywhere to hang it, so it just sits in my dining room.

mirror_0579ews

I actually bought it from an antique store because I thought it would be a great photography prop.  Maybe someday…

mirror_0583e2ws

Now it’s your turn to link up.

41 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v1.4”

  1. Candy C. January 22, 2016 at 7:10 pm #

    Love the depth of field shots and would like to see more of your mirror!

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 7:12 pm #

      The mirror is rather large, and I don’t have anywhere big enough for it. I hope to have a place to hang it someday. You know, in my dream world when I have a photography studio. LOL

  2. Ralph Villers January 22, 2016 at 7:33 pm #

    I like the subject – a pine cone offers lots of unique shapes and patterns so it encourages artistic edits.For depth-of-field, each edit looks as if it is is flora or perhaps fauna, almost a small furry mammal posing for the camera. And the ornate mirror is a beauty in the tease photos, I’d like to see more of it too!

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 7:43 pm #

      Thanks, Ralph. I really don’t know how I could even show more of the mirror. I’m a bit crowded in my house.

  3. Denise A Gullickson January 22, 2016 at 7:51 pm #

    These are great macros. Love the design around the mirror.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 8:07 pm #

      Thanks, Denise. I always seem to collect pine cones from my trees and never do anything with them. It was just sitting there.

  4. Lavender Cottage January 22, 2016 at 7:52 pm #

    The pinecone was a good choice to experiment with depth of field and I hope you do one day get a place to set up a studio.
    Thanks for hosting this fun meme Teresa.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 8:07 pm #

      It would be so much fun to have a studio where I could set things up. I am have so much fun with Friday’s Hunt. Thank you for joining me!

  5. Alica January 22, 2016 at 8:03 pm #

    That mirror really does look beautiful!

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 8:09 pm #

      Thanks. I was thrilled to find it. It is a commercial quality like you’d find in a hotel, so it has great reflections. I really wish I had a place to hang it.

  6. Gayle January 22, 2016 at 8:08 pm #

    Love, love the pinecone shots in all forms

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 8:09 pm #

      Thanks, Gayle! Sometimes simple is best.

  7. gailatthefarm January 22, 2016 at 8:40 pm #

    Nice shots.

    Thanks for visiting.

  8. EG CameraGirl January 22, 2016 at 9:06 pm #

    I like your depth of field experiment. It’s a great way to learn more about your camera and what it can do. Purchasing a mirror for photography sounds interesting! I look forward to one day seeing what you do with it.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

      Well, I actually got the mirror for a wedding a year-and-a-half ago, but my toe surgery curtailed my creativity at that time. Now it’s just waiting for great things. LOL

  9. Margaret January 22, 2016 at 9:37 pm #

    Love your experiments with DOF withe the pine cone. That mirror would make an beautiful addition to a studio! Thanks for hosting.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 10:03 pm #

      It was relaxing to play with the camera last night. I needed it. I’m still hoping for that studio someday.

  10. Jeanne January 22, 2016 at 11:46 pm #

    I like your pictures this week, especially the mirror! What a fantastic find! I hope you can use it for a wedding shoot sometime. I think it would be wonderful!

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:41 am #

      That was my thoughts exactly! I just am impatient with photography. Heck. I’m impatient with everything.

  11. Rajesh January 23, 2016 at 12:19 am #

    Wonderful shots, very creative.

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:42 am #

      Thanks. When it’s winter outside, I figure it’s a good time to play inside.

  12. Jim January 23, 2016 at 1:00 am #

    You do good playing with your camera, Teresa. It ended up a lot better with more depth, we could see the pine spiny things on the back quite a ways back.
    Your antique pick was good. What I do is if I haven’t used it for a year or two then I gift it at a white elephant family Christmas party.

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:44 am #

      Well, I’m not quite ready to get rid of the mirror. I still have hopes of someday getting a photo studio. A girl has to hoard junk for her dreams. LOL It is amazing how changing the depth of field can generate such different images. Fun to play!

  13. Gattina January 23, 2016 at 1:47 am #

    The mirror looks very beautiful ! I think with all such a full filled life and work, it’s wonderful that you still have time to manage a theme ! I like it very much !

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:45 am #

      Well, when you’ve got nothing for the blog post, you’ve just got to play. I guess that’s a good thing. Thank you for joining in.

  14. Hootin' Anni January 23, 2016 at 3:46 am #

    Well done….love the perspective and the textures you chose for ‘depth’. And the mirror….with that I’d love to see the full subject hanging on a wall….beautiful decorative touches on the frame, I’m sure.

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:46 am #

      Thanks, Anni. Winger is a good time for playing with the camera. The frame is gorgeous. I really do need to find a way to use it.

  15. monisertel January 23, 2016 at 3:55 am #

    Hello Teresa,
    WOW, what amazing macro shots!
    Have a nice weekend,
    moni

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:46 am #

      Thanks so much!

  16. Eileen January 23, 2016 at 5:18 am #

    Hello Teresa, I love the pine cone shots. It is fun playing with the camera and experimenting. I like the pretty mirror, I hope you find a place to hang it. Thanks for hosting, enjoy your weekend!

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:46 am #

      Thank you, Eileen. I’m afraid it might be a while before the mirror has a good hanging spot, but I’m not going to give up hope on that.

  17. Lavender Dreams January 23, 2016 at 8:18 am #

    I love the frame on that mirror! Hope you and all your animals are safe and warm today! Hugs, Diane

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:47 am #

      We are all doing well. Our weather has finally warmed back to more normal temperatures, and we’re even going to get a bit warmer tomorrow. Hope you have a great week!

  18. Su-sieee! Mac January 23, 2016 at 10:36 am #

    Your mirror is beautiful and intriguing. The leaves look so fragile. That would be fun to take reflection portraits in your mirror.

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 1:30 pm #

      I think so too. I just need a big enough space to use it. LOL

  19. pattisj January 23, 2016 at 8:50 pm #

    I’ve been paying so much attention to weather, watching birds, etc., I forgot to create a post! I’ll be back to link up!

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:53 pm #

      I do get that. Hope you are staying safe!

  20. Patty Leonard Woodland January 23, 2016 at 9:16 pm #

    I keep finding things like your mirror only they will be great for my food photos. I’ve now bought a plastic bin in which to store them all. Great shots! Far less predictable than mine.

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 9:22 pm #

      Thanks. I think I need another new building just for all the “stuff” I have that’s not a part of living. I loved seeing your ducks today. Makes me miss having them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A New Day Dawns - January 23, 2016

    […] Linking to Willy Nilly Friday 5 and Friday’s Hunt […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.