A Happy Helen

23 Jan

I talked to the vet yesterday and cancelled the appointment I had set up for Monday.  Instead, I stopped and got a different pain killer/anti-inflammatory for her.

Helen Osboer

Helen Osboer

It’s a pill.  Luckily for me, Helen likes peanut butter.

goat meds collage

She was very happy to see that spoon of Skippy super chunk.  She didn’t seem to notice the extra little crunchy chunks in it.

goat collage

I did have to let her finish the rest of it off my finger.

Goat Meds_0597ews

By then, some nosy kid thought she should get some too.

Helen, Hilda (crunched in the middle), and Hazel

Helen, Hilda (crunched in the middle), and Hazel

Helen seems to be still doing better, so we’re in a holding pattern of meds and babying her for now.  She seems happy with that.

I do hope you’ll come back to link up to Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.

Sharing with Camera CrittersSaturday’s Critters, I Heart Macro, Macro Monday, Monday Mellow Yellows and Mosaic Monday.

44 Responses to “A Happy Helen”

  1. Tony McGurk January 23, 2016 at 7:18 pm #

    So nice to hear that Helen is doing better. I once had a Rottweiler who was a sod for getting worm tablets into, this was before I learned the push them right down the back of his throat & hold hus mouth shut while massaging his throat. I used to hide them in a lump of minced beef. He’s gobble down the mince then spit out the tablet. I was too silly to think of crushing it up first. Your goats are just so cute.

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 7:28 pm #

      I also thought of applesauce. There’s always molassas. Goats are much easier than dogs. I hate using pill pushers on the goats, dogs, cats, anything. I’m glad she likes the treat.

  2. Mama Zen January 23, 2016 at 7:25 pm #

    Hey, everybody likes peanut butter, right?

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 7:29 pm #

      Yep! Now I just need to remember to get a clean spoon for me. LOL

  3. Margaret January 23, 2016 at 7:40 pm #

    Hope these tablets give Helen some pain relief.

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 7:52 pm #

      She is acting well. She’s still weak/stiff in the back end, but she doesn’t act like it’s painful now.

  4. pattisj January 23, 2016 at 8:55 pm #

    Peanut butter is so good. I didn’t realize goats would eat it!

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 9:20 pm #

      They love peanuts, so peanut butter is yummy! I also got applesauce in case she gets tired of the peanut butter. She’s loving the medicine.

  5. Patty Leonard Woodland January 23, 2016 at 9:14 pm #

    I’m glad she’s doing well. That makes me smile

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 9:21 pm #

      Back end still doesn’t work right. She’s afraid to lay down, but she’s got the leaning and half sitting on the shelf to sleep going pretty good. I’m hoping the meds will keep helping and let her lay down. She seems happy though.

  6. Gattina January 24, 2016 at 3:01 am #

    Reminds me of my cats when they have to take a pill ! Good that it helps. Such cute pictures !

    • Teresa January 24, 2016 at 8:07 am #

      I hate the big bolus type of pills that I have to push down their throats. This we can do easily!

  7. Eileen January 24, 2016 at 3:46 am #

    Hello, I am glad the pills seem to be helping Helen. We used to use peanut butter to give pills to our dogs, they loved it. Cute goats and photos. Thank you for linking up and sharing your post. Have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa January 24, 2016 at 8:07 am #

      The pills and moving her out of the big herd have both been quite beneficial. It is a relief to me that she’s doing better now.

  8. Judy@CranberryMorning January 24, 2016 at 8:35 am #

    What cute photos! That’s exactly how I give my dog her Iverhart pill. 🙂

    • Teresa January 24, 2016 at 8:55 am #

      As long as it works. I couldn’t find any way to give my Great Pyrenees a pill.

  9. breathtaking January 24, 2016 at 9:52 am #

    Hello!:) Cute photos of your goat Helen.I’m so sorry your goat has pain but Peanut butter is a good way to give her the medcine. I hope she will get some relief.

    • Teresa January 24, 2016 at 10:24 am #

      It really does seem to be helping her. It’s not going to fix the arthritis, but it makes it so she can be here for a while longer. I’m grateful for that.

  10. S. J. Qualls January 24, 2016 at 10:21 am #

    Good that you can grind the pills and use peanut butter! Pills and animals can be such a trial sometimes. Happy to hear she is doing better.

    • Teresa January 24, 2016 at 10:25 am #

      Her father was always easy to give medicine to. I’m glad she got that trait from him. It really does seem to help. That and not being part of the big herd where she’s always stressed that someone might want to challenge her. I tried moving her a month ago, but she was picking on Muffin and Pistol. Brat.

  11. ifthethunderdontgetya™³²®© January 24, 2016 at 11:18 am #

    Good for you and Helen!
    ~

  12. Freda Mans January 24, 2016 at 12:44 pm #

    How cute she loves PB.

    • Teresa January 24, 2016 at 1:22 pm #

      Goats love peanuts. They just eat them shell and all. It’s like crack for goat. 🙂

  13. Alica January 24, 2016 at 1:02 pm #

    It’s a good thing that goats will eat just about anything! 🙂

    • Teresa January 24, 2016 at 1:22 pm #

      At least stuff I can hide pills in!

  14. Marie-AZ January 24, 2016 at 5:33 pm #

    She seemsto like the peanut butter! 🙂 Hope she’s getting better.

    • Teresa January 24, 2016 at 6:25 pm #

      She loves it. The arthritis isn’t going away. It’s just a matter of how long we can manage it.

  15. TexWisGirl January 24, 2016 at 7:57 pm #

    one of my old girls (dogs) is really tough to hide pills. she won’t take them in cheese or p.b., roots them out in balls of hamburger. most times i end up having to force them down her throat. *sigh*

    • Teresa January 24, 2016 at 7:58 pm #

      That’s how Stella was. Drove me crazy. I’m really grateful that Helen likes the peanut butter. It seems to make a big difference for her.

  16. Jeanne January 25, 2016 at 2:11 am #

    I love peanut butter! On a spoon, on toast, with dill pickles on top….you name it! Obviously, Helen loves it too! But the way we give pills to our dogs, works. If you just put it in something and toss it in the bowl, they will spit out the pill. We soften some mozzarella in our hands, sandwich the cheese around the pill, and then, with a second piece of cheese ready so Fido can see that there are 2 treats, give the loaded one and they snarf it down because they know they get another one! It works for our two. We usually have to give the one not needing a pill, some cheese too. The competition may he’ll a bit, too, with dogs! I must say though, that I have no idea how this would work with goats! 😃

    • Teresa January 25, 2016 at 9:34 am #

      I tried that cheese with my Great Pyrenees. Could never get it to work for her. Luckily she was healthy right until the end.

  17. jeanniemaries January 25, 2016 at 11:54 am #

    My dog also loved peanut butter, so pills could be ground and mixed, but pumpkin worked even better, for some reason pumpkin itself is a healer!

    • Teresa January 25, 2016 at 11:58 am #

      I know my goats like pumpkin too. I also got applesauce in single serving containers that I can try.

  18. indrani January 25, 2016 at 6:50 pm #

    Seeing for the first time goats having peanut butter and tablets. 🙂
    Great pics of them. Hope she gets well soon.

    • Teresa January 26, 2016 at 6:48 am #

      They do help to relieve her arthritis pain.

  19. Lavender Dreams January 25, 2016 at 8:15 pm #

    I’m glad you have a good way of giving her the medicine! Get well soon Helen!

    • Teresa January 26, 2016 at 6:49 am #

      Me too. The arthritis won’t go away, but this is definitely helping her.

  20. Judith Rogers January 26, 2016 at 7:14 am #

    Oh dear, I just saw above that the pills are for arthritis, I’m giving my older dog liquid omega 3 for his as per the vet. Hope Helen gets some relief.
    Thank heavens for peanut butter, it has been my go to for the dog as well. 🙂

    • Teresa January 26, 2016 at 10:33 am #

      My whole herd is getting old. I’m finding it not to be near as much fun. She is doing well with the meds.

  21. Donna@Gardens Eye View January 26, 2016 at 12:27 pm #

    A sick goat cannot be fun…hoping she improves.

    Donna@GardensEyeView
    and LivingFromHappiness

    • Teresa January 26, 2016 at 12:57 pm #

      It’s arthritis, so it will never go away, but the meds seem to really help her cope with it.

  22. Laura Hegfield January 29, 2016 at 10:56 am #

    I do hope Helen is on the mend. We give our dog Ellie her meds twice a day with peanut butter. We tell her “Time for your ppbp (poodie peanut butter pill) and she comes racing down the stairs!

    • Teresa January 29, 2016 at 11:25 am #

      With arthritis, there is no true mending, but I do hope it helps comfort and ease her pain, so she can be around for a while longer.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

