Mid-Winter Crazy

21 Jan

I swear, this last week has been nothing but a pattern of get up and go to work; come home to do chores; write a blog post and collapse on the couch.  Go to bed so I can repeat it.

dusk sky_0477ws

My chores are taking me a long time each evening, and I am exhausted by the time I get done.  I’m looking forward to a warmer weekend when I can hopefully get my hose thawed.  That will make things easier when I can quit carrying tons of buckets of water.  I’m rather mad at myself for not adequately draining it.

Dusk_0493ws

I also don’t know what to do with Helen.  Her arthritis will not get better (it’s CAE), but she does have better and worse days.

Doe goat_0454ews

With the warmer weather and meds and moving her to an area away from all the other goats (except for her twins and Xerxes) where she can eat all the food she wants, she’s doing better.

Doe and kids_0461ews

I did have a heat lamp in there for her, but she burned her fur off.  Really.  I do not like heat lamps to start with because they are so dangerous, and she won’t get one back after that.

burnt hair_0457ews

I have not seen her lying down.  I don’t know if she can get down and have strength in her back end to stand back up.  Tonight for the first time in ages, I saw her front knees down, but she saw me bringing hay and got up again.  I just don’t know what to do.

Doe goat_0464ews

I hate to make her suffer unnecessarily when I know she won’t have any long term improvement, but I don’t want to euthanize her before it needs to happen.  I made an appointment with the vet for next Monday, but I’m second-guessing that decision.  I just don’t know what to do with her.

***

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.  Hope to see you!

Sharing with Good Fences and Skywatch Friday.

43 Responses to “Mid-Winter Crazy”

  1. Donkey Driver January 21, 2016 at 7:26 pm #

    I think you did the right thing with the vet. I just don’t think it’s kind to keep an animal around when they are suffering. It’s our jobs to ensure their quality of life. 😊. As for the hose, total bummer!! I hate it when I let mine freeze! Wishing you a thaw!

    • Teresa January 21, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

      I’m really not sure what I’m going to do with Helen. She’s so much better with the move to the smaller setting and meds that I might see if I can wait for a while. She really is that much better. I should be able to get the hose going again this weekend.

  2. Peter B January 21, 2016 at 8:43 pm #

    Such a difficult decision. Hopefully the vet can give you some guidance. Good luck.

    • Teresa January 21, 2016 at 9:12 pm #

      This is the worst part of farming.

  3. Jim January 21, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

    terest

  4. Jim January 21, 2016 at 9:19 pm #

    Interesting post.
    Sydney – City and Suburbs

  5. Jeanne January 22, 2016 at 12:10 am #

    I really hope Helen will be okay. Poor girl. How old is she? I realize she has the CAE.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 7:37 am #

      Her 7th birthday would be in June.

  6. Margaret January 22, 2016 at 12:20 am #

    Difficult decision to be made. If she is suffering, the decision is easy. I know you would not wAnt her to suffer.

  7. Jim January 22, 2016 at 1:07 am #

    Poor Helen ~~ Arthritis is the bane of the elderly. Mrs. Jim and I both have it, she has the more. Right now she is pretty good because of steroid shots. I hope the vet can keep her going. Her twins are really cute.
    I don’t use my hose very much but I have let them freeze. Could you drag it to a sort of warm barn without breaking it?
    ..

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 7:38 am #

      I have the hose in the garage, and it should warm enough this weekend that I can get it back into use. I deal with a bit of arthritis, but not as bad as Helen’s. We’ll see what the vet says.

  8. Tony McGurk January 22, 2016 at 1:53 am #

    Lovely photos. I really like the photo of Xerxes & the twins. The 3 of them have such beautiful faces. I hope Helen improves for you. I have arthritis in my toes & ankles & I know how bad it can get in the colder weather.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 7:39 am #

      I am really surprised how much better she has gotten since I moved her in with her girls.

  9. lulubelleliz January 22, 2016 at 4:50 am #

    I do sympathise with you and your goats. I had CAE years ago when it was quite rampant in Australia. We had to keep two separate hers and in the end it got too much for me as a full time tewacher and sadly we sold off our healthy goats – a decision I regret to this day. Good luck with your girl.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 7:40 am #

      I assume all of my goats are positive for CAE, and it hasn’t been too bad. I have two goats who will turn twelve in a couple of weeks, and you’d never know that carry the virus. It’s never easy when you have start thinking about good-byes for whatever reason.

  10. Eileen January 22, 2016 at 5:14 am #

    Hello, I feel so sorry for Helen. I hope the vet has a good answer for you and Helen. They are all so cute! Happy Friday, enjoy your weekend!

  11. TexWisGirl January 22, 2016 at 6:36 am #

    i hope you’ll come to the right decision.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 7:41 am #

      I will. You know I will. It’s just the timing. She is so much better than when I had called the vet to set up the appointment, that I’m not sure this is the right time now.

  12. Andrea Ostapovitch January 22, 2016 at 8:39 am #

    That is such a difficult position to be in. For me and the animals I’ve loved, euthanasia was the answer, but after it was done, i always felt that it should have been sooner. I hate making that decision, it is awful.
    Ally my best to you while sorting out your feelings.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 9:01 am #

      Thanks. I know it’s the right thing, but the timing is hard. When I called the vet on Monday, I was certain. With the changes and her improvement, I’m not so sure. She was even feisty enough to go after little Xerxes last night. LOL

  13. LaVoice January 22, 2016 at 9:05 am #

    Cold weather is hard on old folks and as well as animals. I will take Texas anytime.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 9:05 am #

      It truly is. I guess that’s why they call it a “bone chilling” cold.

  14. Jim January 22, 2016 at 9:24 am #

    Hi again, Teresa ~~ I am now more sorry for poor Helen. I read up on the CAE and situations that can develop for CAE goats. It is a bummer, mainly because it shortens their beautiful lives. If I had to be a domestic animal, being a goat in a family heard like you have would be high on my list.
    Best of wishes for both you and Helen.
    ..

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 2:26 pm #

      Thanks, Jim. We cope quite well with CAE, and I know that I will outlive all of them (I hope), but it’s tough when we get to this point. CAE or something else.

  15. Ida P. Krause January 22, 2016 at 2:17 pm #

    Sometimes it does seem like that’s what we do in life only to do it over again the next day. – Sorry to hear of Helen’s problems. She seems like a very nice goat.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 2:26 pm #

      Helen, honestly, is a brat, but I do adore her. She’s one of my milking does, and you always have a special relationship with your milking girls.

  16. Kay Davies January 22, 2016 at 4:01 pm #

    Oh, Teresa, I can sure understand how you feel. Our dear old dog Lindy is blind, and has some arthritis issues, but nothing like CAE, which is horrible according to what I’ve read.
    I understand how you can love Helen even though she is a brat, and so you are in a particularly difficult position because you care so much about her.
    I wish you both well. And as someone said, the twins are adorable.
    K

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 5:06 pm #

      You know, I read all those things on CAE, and while it’s not good, they are all going to die eventually. It could be worse. She makes me laugh with her bratty ways. LOL

  17. Freda Mans January 22, 2016 at 4:10 pm #

    Poor Helen. Sending positive vibes and prayers.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 5:07 pm #

      Thanks. I got a different med from the vet, and it should be safer for a long-term treatment. I hope it works and she can be happy for a while longer.

  18. EG CameraGirl January 22, 2016 at 5:46 pm #

    I hope the vet gives you good advice so you feel you are doing the right thing…whatever that may be.

    • Teresa January 22, 2016 at 6:21 pm #

      We’ve switched her meds (or I will tomorrow), and we’re going to see how she does.

  19. A January 22, 2016 at 11:14 pm #

    I’d be exhausted too if I had to haul tons of water.

    So sorry to hear about Helen. I empathize with you as that is where I was with my cat Max a few times…not fun at all.

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:40 am #

      I do think trying the new med and babying her will let me have her around for a while longer. She doesn’t seem stressed now that I’ve moved her. Hopefully, my hose will be thawed this weekend!

  20. Stewart Monckton January 23, 2016 at 12:35 am #

    I think I am glad I have a cat, but no goats! At least Mr. Hudson (my cat!) does not try to catch himself on fire! Hope the hose thaws!

    Cheers – Stewart M – Melbourne

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:43 am #

      I do believe I’ll get to use my hose again after our warmer weather this weekend. If not, spring isn’t that far away. LOL Cats are much simpler, but they can be challenging in their old age as well. But they are easier to bring in the house.

  21. pattisj January 23, 2016 at 8:48 pm #

    I’m glad she’s improving. Can’t believe she’d singe her fur! Praying for wisdom in her care.

    • Teresa January 23, 2016 at 8:50 pm #

      I was a bit surprised to see she stood there that long. It’s not like she isn’t mobile. She seems to be doing much better now.

  22. Anney Horlacher January 23, 2016 at 11:33 pm #

    On heat lamps..are the red ones any safer? I have babies due next month and have no idea what I need to do. How close do the lamps need to be? Any advice would be appreciated. ( love your babies!!) Thank you.

    • Teresa January 24, 2016 at 8:05 am #

      The red are not any different than the clear ones for safety. They just are supposed to keep chickens from pecking. I hate using heat lamps. When kids are born in the winter, they have a good winter coat. The most important thing is to get them dried quickly. I usually go through a lot of towels and use a blow drier. If they have a good shelter, that might be enough. If it does get too cold and they are shivering, you can use the heat lamp. I usually fasten it to the panels, so it’s 2 1/2 – 3 feet off the ground. They will adjust where they lay to find the right temperature. I don’t know why Helen let it burn her because she is mobile.

      • Anney Horlacher January 24, 2016 at 7:15 pm #

        Thank you so much!! I think we are looking at twins..we are very excited. We have a barn so I’m hoping they do well. This is her 2nd time kidding, and they told us she had twins then. Wish me luck! So happy Helen is doing well.

      • Teresa January 24, 2016 at 7:17 pm #

        Kidding is always exciting. Good luck!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

