Archive | 5:46 pm

Love is in the Air

25 Jan

Twenty-two days after putting Fionn and the girls together, I figured everyone had to have come into heat and been bred (they have a three week heat cycle).  I hadn’t seen him with three of the girls, and I hadn’t seen Sam with Vixen, but that’s not unusual when we breed this time of year.  It’s cold, the days are short, and I’m at work.  I just hope everyone has been bred, and I’ll watch to see if they come back in heat.

Joani van de Yell

Joani van de Yell

I was wrong!  Sunday, Bambi and Fionn were in love.

goats in love collage

I hope everyone else has been bred and she is my last one to kid in the summer.

Bambi Blackboer & Fionn Osboer

Bambi Blackboer & Fionn Osboer

In related news, Pistol is definitely bred.  My highly unreliable memory thinks she is due around February 23rd.  That’s not very far away.  I’ve added my 2016 buck/doe count to the sidebar in preparation.

Pistol Osboer

Pistol Osboer

I do hope you’ll consider coming back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.

Sharing with Song-ography.  This week’s post was inspired by John Paul Young’s Love Is In the Air.  The Good. The Random. The Fun.