Archive | 6:51 pm

Mid-Winter Crazy

21 Jan

I swear, this last week has been nothing but a pattern of get up and go to work; come home to do chores; write a blog post and collapse on the couch.  Go to bed so I can repeat it.

dusk sky_0477ws

My chores are taking me a long time each evening, and I am exhausted by the time I get done.  I’m looking forward to a warmer weekend when I can hopefully get my hose thawed.  That will make things easier when I can quit carrying tons of buckets of water.  I’m rather mad at myself for not adequately draining it.

Dusk_0493ws

I also don’t know what to do with Helen.  Her arthritis will not get better (it’s CAE), but she does have better and worse days.

Doe goat_0454ews

With the warmer weather and meds and moving her to an area away from all the other goats (except for her twins and Xerxes) where she can eat all the food she wants, she’s doing better.

Doe and kids_0461ews

I did have a heat lamp in there for her, but she burned her fur off.  Really.  I do not like heat lamps to start with because they are so dangerous, and she won’t get one back after that.

burnt hair_0457ews

I have not seen her lying down.  I don’t know if she can get down and have strength in her back end to stand back up.  Tonight for the first time in ages, I saw her front knees down, but she saw me bringing hay and got up again.  I just don’t know what to do.

Doe goat_0464ews

I hate to make her suffer unnecessarily when I know she won’t have any long term improvement, but I don’t want to euthanize her before it needs to happen.  I made an appointment with the vet for next Monday, but I’m second-guessing that decision.  I just don’t know what to do with her.

***

I do hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  The items for this week are at the top of my sidebar.  Hope to see you!

Sharing with Good Fences and Skywatch Friday.

