Archive | 5:49 pm

Great Goat Shuffle

3 Jan

It’s that time of year when I divide the goats into different groups to make June babies.  I have to say, it was quite the challenge this year with four bucks, Muffin and Pistol, and a large group of already bred, wethers, too young, and a llama to be wrangled together.

Goats_9787ew

We got it done though!  Pistol and Muffin were easy.  They didn’t move.  I did, however, put Xerxes, Hilda and Hazel together in the other part of the greenhouse.  I really don’t think he’s going to breed anyone this winter, but I’m fine with that.  There’s always next year.  I also put Gidget in there even though she’s due for March.  I just needed a place where nobody would pick on her and I knew she’d get enough to eat.

young goats_9814ew

Boeris is by himself in the Love Shack.  I don’t want any more of those big headed babies.  Boeris seems quite content to have a room to himself.

Buck and does_9831ew

I have Sam and his girls in the buck pen.  They seem happy in there; although, I did have to put Annie back in there after fixing fence.  She had put herself in with the already bred group.

Goats_9799ew

Finally, I have Fionn in the barnyard.

Buck goat_9784ew

He’s already been doing his job.

Buck and Doe_9835ew

We’ll have babies right around the first of June.

I hope you’ll consider joining in Friday’s Hunt this week.  The items are in my sidebar at the top.