Friday’s Hunt v1.5

29 Jan

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  I’m excited for week five!  It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week, the topics will be:  Starts with F, Week’s Favorite, and negative space.  I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. Without furthur ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with E:  I’m going with something easy because it’s been a crazy week.  E is for evening and the beautiful skies.

Sky_0706ews

Week’s Favorite:  I had a bit of excitement in my classroom this week.  Even though I don’t usually talk about work, I have to share this.  I was standing behind my desk and the students were working, when two boys exclaimed, “There’s a bat under your desk.”  I walked around and looked under the desk.  Sure enough.  There was a bat.  I was extremely impressed with the students.  Nobody screamed and ran out of the room.  They mostly just sat there; although, I did have to tell one young lady that it was not a good idea to take a selfie and cuddle with a bat.  It was just a few minutes until the custodian came and whisked the little fellow out of the room.  Way too much excitement!

Sky:  When I was out there taking pictures after greasing my six naughty goats, I noticed that it’s staying light later.  That means I actually can take a picture or two most evenings (when I’m not oiling goats) before it gets dark.  I’m very excited for longer days!

Sky_0711ew

Now it’s your turn.

 

21 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v1.5”

  1. Jim January 29, 2016 at 7:58 pm #

    Nice post, Teresa. Women are supposed to get up on the table (desk for school) when there’s a varmint alert. I might, I sure don’t like bats. Iowa skies are pretty, sometimes we have those kind also. Today mine is entirely clear blue. With trees and birds.

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 9:48 am #

      I’ve never been melodramatic that way. LOL I do love my beautiful sunsets this time of year.

  2. Jeanne January 30, 2016 at 12:52 am #

    I enjoyed your story about the bat! And I really did see a friend on a chair in our kitchen a long time ago, when we saw a mouse run through the room! I had to laugh, because I had been on the opinion that such a thing was only an old wives’ tale.

    Your pictures are beautiful!

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 9:48 am #

      Too funny! I’ve never actually seen anyone jump on a chair. I have seen students run around like a lunatic when a bee was in the classroom.

  3. Gattina January 30, 2016 at 1:49 am #

    A bat in a classroom that’s very special ! I too am happy that the days are longer now, although due to the bad weather it seems still dark ! Can only dream about taking pictures like yours !

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 9:49 am #

      Thanks, Gattina. I do hope you get some sunny skies soon.

  4. Alica January 30, 2016 at 5:38 am #

    Your kids did much better than I would’ve done. We used to get lots of bats (10 one summer) in our house. There’s just something about a “flying mouse” that freaks me out every time, especially since they flutter around so erratically! Now we had our roof repaired and some old chimney’s capped at the roof line, which has solved that problem! 🙂

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 9:49 am #

      This one was luckily just sitting under my desk. I assume it preferred the dark. They are a lot more scary when flying.

  5. Eileen January 30, 2016 at 5:45 am #

    Hello, neat story about the bat in the classroom. Your sunset is lovely, gorgeous capture. Thank you for hosting Friday’s Hunt. Have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 9:50 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. The bat was definitely a first for me. LOL

  6. jesh stg January 30, 2016 at 1:52 pm #

    Hi Teresa. Beautiful sunsets! Whenever convenient please leave me a note about the following.
    What I see on my screen to link is confusing – first come “submissions” then url, then name,, then email – but there is no place to put my email there! (have the same problem with another blog) -so you don’t have to fix it for me every time, just let me know in which of the 3 boxes I need to put my www (url).- thanks!

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 2:02 pm #

      Top box is url. I don’t know why it looks different after you hit tab, but it does. The second is your name. The last is e-mail. If you want to do it so it looks like on the blogger platform, you can click on the blue try here at the bottom. Hope this helps!

      • jesh stg January 30, 2016 at 4:37 pm #

        Yes, thanks so much!

  7. Candy C. January 30, 2016 at 5:00 pm #

    I’m glad you are getting to enjoy the beautiful Evening Sky a bit more with the longer days. 🙂

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 5:01 pm #

      It’s so nice to have warm weather on the weekend. I got all my water tubs emptied and scrubbed!

  8. Patty Leonard Woodland January 30, 2016 at 7:57 pm #

    Ooooh, bats are cool. I think a lot of us will have sunrises/sunsets this week

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 8:06 pm #

      The sunrises and sunsets always seem dramatic this time of year!

  9. itsallaboutpurple January 30, 2016 at 9:57 pm #

    We have been have amazing shows in the skies, especially the sunsets!!

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 9:58 pm #

      I think it’s our reward for having to deal with the short days.

  10. pattisj February 3, 2016 at 11:34 pm #

    I can imagine their excitement at a bat in the classroom. We were on the go last weekend and I missed the link-up time. I’ll try to get here on time this week!

    • Teresa February 4, 2016 at 6:41 pm #

      No worries, but I do look forward to seeing you this week! I appreciate your support.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.