Goats, Gates, and Grease

28 Jan

I’ve had a couple of rough, slippery days.  It started yesterday morning.  Well, it started Tuesday evening when my delivery of oils for soap making came.  I brought the five-gallon buckets inside and left them in my kitchen (please ignore the messy floor.  We’re back to muddy again).  When I got up in the morning and went to let Bob outside, I found a big pool of olive oil on my floor.

oils ews

It seems that while the oil was cold, the bucket was punctured.  It didn’t cause a problem until it came into my kitchen and melted.  Um.  Yeah.  I had about a quart of oil all over my floor, and by the the time I got done pouring it into another bucket, it was also all over my clothes and in the cat food and water.  I might have stripped down to my underwear and began sopping it up with paper towels.  There’s no photographic evidence, though, so I might deny that.

Oil_0692ews

I finally chucked the bucket outside because I was still oily and mostly naked.  Can you see the puncture hole on the top right by the bottom?  I’ll deal with it this weekend.

Bucket_0695ews

I finally made it to work, and when I came home, I found the gate between the yard and barnyard off its hinges.

Gate_0694ews

Fence_0696ews

That was a bit worrisome; however, I was relieved to find everybody where they belonged!

Sam Goodberry

Sam Goodberry

Tonight I was not so lucky.  I came home to find that the chicken coop gate was open.

gate_0708ews

I had a couple of peafowl outside, but they herded in easily.  Unfortunately, I had goats in the coop eating corn.  Because I feed my goats very little grain, it is very dangerous if they eat too much.  It can be fatal.

Corn_0710ews

I gave a large dose of vegetable oil to everyone that was in there.  I hope I just caught the last of the culprits (becuase it was a big mess for just the few goats that were in it) and the corn was eaten by twenty or thirty instead of just five big goats and one little goat.  If it was everyone, it shouldn’t be a big deal because I don’t keep tons of corn in there.

tub_0709ews

Hopefully, they’ll get diarrhea and flush the corn out of the system and be okay.

I do hope you’ll come back tomorrow evening to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  If you are interested, the items are in my sidebar (at the top).

Sharing with Good Fences.

28 Responses to “Goats, Gates, and Grease”

  1. Mary Ann January 28, 2016 at 10:11 pm #

    Do you feed whole corn to the chickens???

  2. Ida P. Krause January 28, 2016 at 10:59 pm #

    Oh my you have had quite a time lately. Sure hope the goats will be okay.

    • Teresa January 29, 2016 at 6:54 am #

      There’s always something on a farm. It’s been a very long time since we’ve had an over-eating scare.

  3. TexWisGirl January 29, 2016 at 6:48 am #

    i hope your invaders will all be okay.

    • Teresa January 29, 2016 at 6:55 am #

      Me too. I always worry that they will do something like this.

  4. Eileen January 29, 2016 at 6:53 am #

    Good morning, what a day you had! I love the shot of Sam with the hay! So cute! I hope the goats will be OK. Happy Friday, have a great weekend!

    • Teresa January 29, 2016 at 6:55 am #

      Thanks. Me too. It will be a couple of days before I know for sure.

  5. Alica January 29, 2016 at 8:01 am #

    If you get tired of your goats causing trouble, you could just come here for a visit, and teach me how to make soap! I’m assuming that raw cows work could work as good as goats milk?
    I really hope those goats are ok. Scavengers!

    • Teresa January 29, 2016 at 11:24 am #

      I would guess you could use any milk. I never get tired of the goats and their antics. I just hate when they do thinks that make me worry.

  6. S. J. Qualls January 29, 2016 at 9:32 am #

    What hair pulling events! You are made of some strong stuff, Teresa!

    • Teresa January 29, 2016 at 11:24 am #

      You do what you have to do. 🙂

  7. Andrea January 29, 2016 at 10:49 am #

    Wow, what knocked the gate off like that? That oil mess would have been frustrating to get cleaned up. Yuck.
    I hope you have a nice weekend 😊

    • Teresa January 29, 2016 at 11:24 am #

      I’m going to guess Meg. She gets the blame for a lot of things when I don’t know who did stuff. She’s a feisty goat.

  8. jesh stg January 29, 2016 at 12:38 pm #

    geez, what a mess! Hope everyone is okay now, especially you!

    • Teresa January 29, 2016 at 6:08 pm #

      Well, it will be a couple of days before I know for sure with the goats, but they all seem okay right now. I’m fine. Not even too greasy now. LOL

  9. genie January 29, 2016 at 4:09 pm #

    I can just see you now. I bet you had as little on as possible. What a mess and then your babies were not very cooperative making your life even more difficult. You are a strong woman.

    • Teresa January 29, 2016 at 6:09 pm #

      I’m sure it would be hilarious to watch the whole thing. Not quite as much fun to be involved in the middle of it. LOL

  10. Jim January 29, 2016 at 5:10 pm #

    Can you pin the hinges so they won’t open up? I am sorry you had such a mess. It is a double mess out in the cold.
    I didn’t know you could make a goat drink olive oil. Good think they aren’t cows or dogs or pigs. Well goats might a lot of different stuff. My pigs did.
    ..

    • Teresa January 29, 2016 at 6:09 pm #

      In fifteen years, they’ve only ever opened it a couple of times, and this is the first time they’ve gotten corn that has left me worried. I do try not to keep too much in there.

  11. artmusedog January 30, 2016 at 12:44 pm #

    Had to check in to see your sweet goats and other critters ~ neat fence too!

    Happy Weekend to you ~ ^_^

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 1:06 pm #

      Thanks. They’ve been quite naughty this week. Hope you have a good weekend.

  12. Gayle January 30, 2016 at 2:33 pm #

    Good Grief – KIDS!!! Hope are all well. Can’t wait to show Sam to the RG. He always says he is tall because he was raised on goat’s milk ;/

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 4:51 pm #

      Everyone seems to be doing well yet. After tomorrow, I’ll relax a lot.

  13. Jeanne January 30, 2016 at 4:26 pm #

    It’s hard to believe all the trouble those goats can get into! It’s rather scary to think that too much corn can kill them! Sorry about the oil mess. That was awful!

    • Teresa January 30, 2016 at 4:52 pm #

      Their rumens have to have time to adjust to diet changes. You have to get them used to green grass in the spring or it will make them sick too.

  14. pattisj February 3, 2016 at 11:29 pm #

    I’m glad you didn’t find five gallons of oil on the kitchen floor! It would have been hard enough to clean up what you did have. I’m glad the escapees were all OK and accounted for, and hoping no bad effects from it.

    • Teresa February 4, 2016 at 6:41 pm #

      Everyone is fine. They just like to give me gray hair. LOL

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.