Friday’s Hunt v1.2

8 Jan

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  I’m excited for week two!  It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week, the topics will be:  Starts with C, Week’s Favorite, and inside.  I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. Without furthur ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with B: Bouquet bokeh.  I can’t help it.  I’m an English teacher.  I like the play on words.

Bouquet bokeh_9845ews

flower lamp_9918ews

Week’s Favorite:  I’m looking forward to the end of the rain and mud, but I’ve also really enjoyed my winter evenings doing still lifes.  The rose has been especially nice.  It’s a good thing I live by myself with the mess I’m making.

rose_9869ews

Rose_9883ews

Rose Reflect_9878ews

Outside: The woodpeck was outside on the suet.  I’m trying to figure out how to tell if it is a downy or a hairy.  I’m thinking hairy.  Any help?

Woodpecker_9688e2ws

Click the button below to link up and view the other participants.  For some reason with the WordPress blog the linkup looks a little different.  It’s the same as any other linkup; it only looks confusing.  The first line is the url; the second is the name to be displayed; the last is an e-mail address (which is not displayed).  If you prefer it to be easier (like me), you can click on the red Try Here, and it will look like it does on a Blogger platform.

I’m also sharing with Bird d’Pot and Weekend Reflections.

 

52 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v1.2”

  1. Sherry January 8, 2016 at 7:17 pm #

    Great shots! I love the flowers!. I’ll be writing a post tomorrow to join you.
    Hope you have a great party!

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 7:47 pm #

      Thanks. I’m glad to hear you’ll be joining us!

  2. EG CameraGirl January 8, 2016 at 7:35 pm #

    Just like last week’s post, I like your still lifes. I may have to do one myself next week for the prompt “inside.” I don’t know yet. The bird is a Hairy Woodpecker. I can tell by its beak which is much bigger compared to its head than a downy’s beak.

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 7:47 pm #

      Thanks. I thought that was the case. This one was bigger too. I’m actually hoping to have more time to get outside! Darn rain.

  3. EG CameraGirl January 8, 2016 at 7:38 pm #

    OOPS! I just looked at the woodpecker again and I’ve changed my mind. It’s a downy, I’m pretty sure. 🙂

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

      Darn. That means I’ve been backwards all these times I’ve been saying downy woodpeckers. LOL

  4. Candy C. January 8, 2016 at 8:12 pm #

    Love the Bouquet Bokeh!! I may have to try some bokeh for next week’s Inside prompt. This is fun, thanks for starting Friday’s Hunt! 🙂

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 8:35 pm #

      I’m glad you’re enjoying it! I know I had a lot of fun last week.

  5. Ralph Villers January 8, 2016 at 9:09 pm #

    Love all the pics here! The bouquet is lovely, the roses making me anxious for Spring (and is that an IKEA lamp – we do the same with an LED candle 🙂 The woodpecker is hard at work. Agreed this has been a warm-isa Winter, and we on the East coast are awaiting a deluge of rain on Sunday, perhaps arriving from Iowa. I prefer my mud in Springtime…

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 9:10 pm #

      I have no idea where the lamp came from. I got it from the thrift store. It’s sad when I’m looking forward to a high of 12 degrees because it will freeze the ground.

  6. Judith@Lavender Cottage January 8, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

    I can tell the difference between the two woodpeckers on my peanut feeder only when they’re upright and because of their size, glad Tina could distinguish which is in your photo.
    The linky gave me grief trying with my iPad so I went on my computer and then saw your comments about linking.
    Excellent shots of the flowers, they’re always so willing and photogenic, aren’t they?

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 9:51 pm #

      Flowers are wonderful when it’s rainy outside! So glad you got it linked up.

  7. Jim January 8, 2016 at 10:35 pm #

    Terrific

  8. pattisj January 8, 2016 at 10:38 pm #

    What pretty roses! The reflection is really nice, and it’s such a pretty color. I’m going to agree with Downy on the woodpecker. It has the visible tufts at the base of the beak, and it looks smaller than a Hairy considering the size of the squares on the feeder.

    • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 8:01 am #

      Hmmm…. This one is actually a lot bigger than the ones I usually see. I’m going to have to consult the Cornell page and see if I can figure it out.

      • pattisj January 9, 2016 at 10:19 am #

        Hairy are 3″ longer than Downy. It’s hard to tell the way it’s curled around the feeder. The should come with a little badge. 😉

      • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 10:35 am #

        That would be so nice. Size alone makes me think it’s a hairy.

  9. Margaret Birding For Pleasure January 8, 2016 at 11:54 pm #

    I’m a bit late joining this week so I joined it with Saturday Critters. Love you flowers and the sparkles in the second shot. Have a lovely weekend.

    • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 8:02 am #

      Thanks. Glad you were able to join in!

  10. Gattina January 9, 2016 at 1:57 am #

    Beautiful rose and a very creative picture of the woodpecker !
    I participate for the first time

    • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 8:02 am #

      Thanks, Gattina. I guess that deck railing in my way served its purpose this time, providing the bokeh.

  11. Eileen January 9, 2016 at 3:44 am #

    Hello, your roses are lovely. Beautiful capture of the bokeh! Cute shot of the Downy! Thank you for hosting, have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 8:02 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. Happy weekend to you too!

  12. Audrey January 9, 2016 at 5:38 am #

    Romantique tout ca ;O)

  13. Alica January 9, 2016 at 8:41 am #

    Gorgeous flowers! I don’t know if the woodpecker is downy or hairy…I just know he’s upside down! 🙂 Sorry…couldn’t help it!

    • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 8:46 am #

      That’s my response too. “Oh. Bird. Pretty.” That’s why I have to ask. LOL

  14. Patty Leonard Woodland January 9, 2016 at 12:28 pm #

    I have the world’s worst time telling downy from hairy without seeing the red splotch and even then it’s challenging. Little buggers. They are so cute though. I love the rose – so beautiful and it gives hope for spring.

    • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 12:43 pm #

      Going by size, I do think it is a hairy. Of course, I have the advantage of seeing the tiny downy with his red splotch just outside my photograph. I end up buying those Wal-Mart bouquets every winter to bring a bit of summer into the house.

  15. Gayle January 9, 2016 at 3:17 pm #

    Lots of guesses. The size and the beak tell the tale. I usually compare it to the size of the suet basket but this one’s position nixes that. Fun to see either way.

    • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 3:21 pm #

      I do have a couple of other pictures of it on the tree. I really do think it is a hairy after visiting the Cornell University site.

  16. Lavender Dreams January 9, 2016 at 3:42 pm #

    What a pretty woodpecker. We saw one of those in our feeder this morning but I wasn’t quick enough to get a photo. Enjoy your afternoon! Hugs!

    • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 3:48 pm #

      Thanks. Hope you have a good weekend too.

  17. TexWisGirl January 9, 2016 at 3:50 pm #

    very nice!

  18. Crystal January 9, 2016 at 5:47 pm #

    I’m in this week a bit late had computer issues. Love the upside down woodpecker

    • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 5:48 pm #

      Thanks for joining. Love those woodies!

  19. Su-sieee! Mac January 9, 2016 at 7:01 pm #

    You caught some nice deep emotion out of the roses. I have yet to see a woodpecker in person. Those guys do not look at all like Woody the Woodpecker, which for the longest time I thought was what woodpeckers looked like. LOL.

    • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 7:14 pm #

      So funny. I don’t even remember what Woody Woodpecker looks like now. They are really cute birds. The roses were fun to photograph.

  20. Jim January 9, 2016 at 11:10 pm #

    We had a woodpecker like yours for a few years. I thought it was a she because there wasn’t any red. Aren’t I dumb! But I think it was a she because she would take bugs to the babies. Later one year they all came and feasted on the tree when the little ones could fly.
    Harry Husker belonged to my Mom. We got it for her in the early 70’s. Mom would put him out for every Husker game. I do sometimes too as I got him back when Mom died in 1999. I don’t leave him out overnight because he might get stolen.
    🙂

    • Teresa January 10, 2016 at 8:22 am #

      So nice you interited Harry. I would certainly have to agree that it’s best to bring him in at night.

  21. Jeanne January 10, 2016 at 4:02 am #

    The flowers are lovely! You do such a great job with them. The woodpecker is just cute, upside down! He could be any kind…..I have no clue!

    • Teresa January 10, 2016 at 8:23 am #

      Thanks. I like doing the flower photography in winter when I really need a bit of sunshine and spring.

  22. Anni @ I'd Rather B Birdin' January 10, 2016 at 5:55 am #

    Absolutely gorgeous!!! I always love your misted special effects you create on your photos…it’s a big plus.

    Thanks for adding and sharing your post this weekend at I’d Rather B Birdin’

  23. Sallie (FullTime-Life) January 10, 2016 at 2:47 pm #

    The bouquet bokeh tickled me ! I love words. I love your still lifes. I loved the post!!!

    • Teresa January 10, 2016 at 4:02 pm #

      Thanks, Sallie!

  24. Mimi Foxmorton January 15, 2016 at 10:43 am #

    Awesome shots! Make me log for spring. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Hunt v1.2 and Skywatch Friday | A New Day Dawns - January 8, 2016

    […] trying a new photo meme link-up with Eden Hills. Click the link for details, everyone is welcome to […]

  2. Another Scavenger Hunt Sunday | Eden Hills - January 9, 2016

    […] It’s not too late to join me on Friday’s Hunt.  You can check it out and enter here. […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.