Missing Break

7 Jan

I’m really missing winter break.  The days are short, and I rush to get everything done before dark.  It’s made more challenging by the weather.  We have been gray and rainy.  That means our packed snow has now turned to slush, but it’s still frozen on the bottom.  It’s rather challenging to maneuver out there, especially wearing snow boots that are a size too big.

book bokeh_9704ews

It’s also made more challenging with the division of goats into different breeding groups.

cup and book_9719ews

Annie refuses to stay where I put her.  The first day she got out, she ended up with the largest group of already bred, wethers, and not getting bred goats.  They picked on her, so I put her back.  Then she put herself into the group where her mom is.  Unfortunately, her dad is in there too, so I really don’t want her in there.  The weather, however, means I can’t sneak a panel off and put her and her mom (who already got bred) with the other goats.

Daisy lamp_9930ews

It’s also a bit crowded on that side.  Heck.  It’s a bit crowded on both sides.  There’s technically enough room, but they are not able to move as freely as they want to, and they are not necessarily in groups with other goats that they like.  That means Kizzy won’t go in to eat hay.  I have to feed her out in the rain.  Joani and Vinnie keep running me over trying to get the hay I’m carrying to other groups because they don’t want to go in the barn with their group.

old books_9744ews

I also am contending with Fionn being in the area of the barnyard that I have to carry my buckets of grain from the bulk bin to the birds’ pen.  Now Fionn is a sweet guy, but when he sees me, he assumes I’m going to feed him.  If I happen to have a cat litter bucket (with the lid closed) full of corn, he can tell there’s food in there. That means he’s willing to walk over the top of me to get that food.  Seriously.  I thought I wasn’t going to make it with the two buckets through the slush into the garage without spilling all the grain.  I made it though!

Flower PItcher_9760e2ws

Luckily, every time he came running out because the geese were squawking that they wanted fed, I could hold my hands up and show him that I didn’t have anything.  Then he’d just turn and go back to eating hay in the barn.  Goofy guy.

Daisy Book_9895ews

After finally getting everyone fed (and sneaking my buckets of grain through the barnyard while Fionn was distracted by eating hay in the barn) I had to water the big group of goats.  My hose was drained (and it’s warm enough it wouldn’t have been frozen anyhow), so I hooked it up.  Sadly, it’s about 15 feet too short.  That means I filled my six five-gallon buckets and then carried them over by the panel.  After chasing two goats out of the way, I strategically placed myself so I could put the buckets through without letting a goat in or out.

cup and books_9731e2ws

Success!  I’m looking forward to being able to get the goats back into a more convenient grouping.  Then I just need the weather to cooperate.

Obviously, this is the long explanation as to why you get more still life photography instead of farm photos.

I do hope you’ll consider joining me for Friday’s Hunt this week.  The items are in the top of my sidebar, and the linky will open at 7pm central time on Friday.

I’m sharing with NF DAM.

27 Responses to “Missing Break”

  1. daystarhomestead January 7, 2016 at 7:35 pm #

    Whew!!!! I loved the pics, but I’m tired after all that work!! Lol we go through the same ritual every day. My husband doesn’t get home until almost dark so we have that to contend with also!!
    But we love it!!! Great tasting goat milk….fresh eggs…. Just doesn’t get any better!!!

    • Teresa January 7, 2016 at 7:39 pm #

      I’m looking forward to longer days. I’d even be happy with cold instead of mud. I do agree though, that it’s the best life ever.

  2. Donkey Driver January 7, 2016 at 7:57 pm #

    When it comes to caring for the animals, sometimes we just “get through the winter”

    • Teresa January 7, 2016 at 8:00 pm #

      That’s for sure. I really don’t mind the cold. It’s this rain and mud that makes it miserable.

      • Donkey Driver January 7, 2016 at 8:14 pm #

        I totally understand. It oozes into everywhere!

  3. Yogi January 7, 2016 at 9:22 pm #

    Beautiful edits on your photos and I love reading about your issues with the goats. I have never been a farmer or rancher and know nothing about it but I have known farmers and ranchers all my life and done right, it is a lot of hard work.

    • Teresa January 7, 2016 at 9:35 pm #

      It certainly is a lot of work. I do lovd it though.

  4. Margaret January 7, 2016 at 10:08 pm #

    Mud, mud, glorious mud, – or so the song says! Don’t suppose you would agree! Love the stills. Books are wonderful

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 11:49 am #

      I absolutely do not agree. Mud is the worst on the farm.

  5. Jeanne January 7, 2016 at 11:17 pm #

    Now don’t go putting your still life photos down! They. Are. BEAUTIFUL. 😊

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 11:50 am #

      Thanks. It wasn’t meant to put them down. It’s just not my usual farm.

      • Jeanne January 8, 2016 at 11:36 pm #

        Ya, I knew that! I was only teasing! The pics for today are lovely, too. I haven’t figured out the Friday thing yet. Do you have to go to the individual’s names in order to see what they’ve done? This is all new to me.

      • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 8:01 am #

        Yes. If you click on the person’s name, it takes you to their blog post that they have linked.

  6. Marie January 8, 2016 at 3:57 am #

    You need a Go Pro camera for your barnyard excursions. i haven’t heard you mention Bud in a while. You are certainly a busy person with all the feeding and watering.

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 11:51 am #

      Bud is well. He was actually being mean to Minnie yesterday. They don’t like being cooped up with the rain.

  7. Alica January 8, 2016 at 7:39 am #

    Ugh…mud and slush and pushy goats sure does sound like a recipe for frustration! It’s good that the goats are so cute, it must be hard to stay mad at them!

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 11:52 am #

      I’m just glad I stayed on my feet and didn’t dump 70 pounds of corn for just a few goats. LOL

  8. NatureFootstep Photo January 8, 2016 at 3:22 pm #

    I really love your images. You know how to handle a camera and to edit beautifully. 🙂

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 5:07 pm #

      Thank you so much.

  9. EG CameraGirl January 8, 2016 at 4:35 pm #

    I really like your still lifes. Teresa so I;m glad you shared them. But I am sorry the goats are wandering and not necessarily agreeing to where you want them right now.

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 5:08 pm #

      Thanks. I guess I shouldn’t expect any less from goats. Still, I’d appreciate if they could make it a little easier on me. LOL

  10. Sallie (FullTime-Life) January 8, 2016 at 5:06 pm #

    It’s almost disorienting to read your wild and crazy adventures with those lively goats interposed with the calm and serene teacups and lovely old books — a wild ride but a really fun one, I loved the wild and the serene. But gosh take care of yourself and buy some boots that fit. (I can see you rolling your eyes, the way my 55 yo daughter still would do if I gave her advice like that (she does wild stuff too)!

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 5:09 pm #

      It’s the toe. After my surgery, it doesn’t bend well enough to get into boots that fit. Once it freezes, I’ll go back to sneakers or add a sock to try and stay warm.

  11. Freda Mans January 8, 2016 at 5:56 pm #

    I love all your bookish photos. So pretty.

    • Teresa January 8, 2016 at 7:47 pm #

      Thanks. I do collect old books.

  12. pattisj January 9, 2016 at 6:27 pm #

    I enjoyed seeing your still life photos.

    • Teresa January 9, 2016 at 6:32 pm #

      Thanks. I’m starting to think that might be all I get to do until spring. LOL

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

