June 1st

1 Jun

What’s going on in my backyard for the first of June?  Well, the doghouse landscaping is doing quite well.  Although, it does look like it needs weeded.

I love the spider worts.

They were especially pretty after our rain yesterday.

I have cherries waiting to be picked.

The peaches are growing.  I’m really looking forward to them, and I will even fight the squirrels for them this year.

I’ve started trying to reclaim the strawberries.  I’ve even picked a few, but there are many more that need to be picked or should have already been picked.

The garden has been tilled, and I have even started planting it.  I know, it’s horribly late to just be planting.

My gardens have really been neglected because most of my time has been spent with the goats.  This is one of the triplets Maggie had a couple of nights ago.

This one is much smaller than the other two, and I didn’t think she’d ever get enough to eat.  That means she’s another bottle kid.  She’s growing and doing well.  Mushu is getting used to having kids in the kitchen.

Stella isn’t quite as sure about this little girl being in her yard.

I admit the little girl did think the back yard was a bit scary, and she was happy to go back to the kitchen.  For now, I’m happy to neglect the gardens to enjoy the company of the goats and their new little ones.

Linking to Farm Photo Friday and Photo Friday.

Linking to Camera Critters and Macro Monday.

Linking to the 1st of the Month hosted by Jan at Murrieta 365.  The first of each month, I’m sharing what’s going on in my back yard.

46 Responses to “June 1st”

  1. Alica June 1, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Oh my…I didn’t realize just how tiny she was until I saw her next to your dogs! She’s adorable! (looks like your corn is coming up nice too, behind your garden!)

    • Teresa June 1, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

      The corn is looking good! She is very small compared to the other kids, but she’s feisty and doing well. I just don’t think she could get anything to eat with two bigger ones.

  2. Bev June 1, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    Ah HAH! I saw some spider worts in the village this morning and was admiring them but didn’t know what they were! Thank you! That wee goatling is just the sweetest thing. I know, I know…I say that about all the kids. hee hee I love the look on Stella’s face!

    • Teresa June 1, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

      Spider wort is a common name. They are tradescantia. Stella really didn’t know what to think about that little thing in the yard. She got very bouncy, which might explain why I don’t have her with the animals in the pasture.

  3. TexWisGirl June 1, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

    such a tiny one w/ those dogs!

    (to answer your question, our pond got to ‘normal’ – never ‘high’ – but we had a very dry may which has had it shrink again, but we’re still much better than we were last year.) 🙂

    • Teresa June 1, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

      We just got an inch of rain, but we’re still behind. Hope you keep getting some rain. 🙂

  4. Pam Striker June 1, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    Aww, love all the yummies and cuties! 🙂

    • Teresa June 1, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

      Thanks. I just love snuggling this little girl.

  5. Barbara F. June 1, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    Teresa, if this little girl doesn’t have a name yet, how about Coco? 🙂 xo

    • Teresa June 1, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

      I already have a Cocoa~Bonnie’s little girl. 🙂 It’s hard to find names some days.

  6. cattlecallfarm June 1, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    Everythhing looks great!

    • Teresa June 1, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

      You are too kind! I appreciate you not noticing all the weeds. 🙂

  7. Melodie June 1, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    Well even if you do not get your whole garden in it looks like you will have fruit to put up! That is a beautiful color that little girl has!

    • Teresa June 1, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      She is the same color as her maa and grandmaa~gorgeous red!

  8. The Sugarlump June 1, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    your little goat is precious! I want one!

    • Teresa June 1, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      They are very sweet!

  9. Lavender Dreams June 1, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    What a precious little goat! I love your banner, too. Looks like a great place to live with fruit trees and animals! Can’t wait to look around your blog!

    • Teresa June 1, 2012 at 8:13 pm #

      Thanks. I do have a wonderful life here. I love the country and farming!

  10. Jen June 1, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

    Everything looks great… love the dog house & flowers. Wish I had those cherries & peaches too when they are ready. You already know I’ll be lovin that baby goat, cutie 🙂

    • Teresa June 1, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      We have more kids on the way. They are all just so cute!

  11. Linda Kittmer June 1, 2012 at 10:31 pm #

    Oh my! I love goats and that little brown kid is just adorable. I can’t believe how tiny she is (either that or you’ve got gigantic dogs!). Wish I could cuddle that cutie! Your photos are wonderful. Love the raindrops on the flowers. So pretty.

    • Teresa June 1, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

      The kid is little and the dogs are big!

  12. Pat June 1, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    Those babies look so tiny next to your big dogs. The cherries look good!

    • Teresa June 2, 2012 at 6:27 am #

      Hopefully, I’ll get the cherries off the tree and into a pie. Or better yet, some wine! 🙂

  13. Gattina June 2, 2012 at 5:05 am #

    She is so tiny how cute with the dogs !

    • Teresa June 2, 2012 at 6:28 am #

      Stella was really wondering about that little noisy thing, but my big black Mushu dog is very mellow about everything.

  14. Candy C. June 2, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    I have peach and cherry envy!! The new little goat girl is just darling, what a pretty color! Love the dog house landscaping too! 🙂

    • Teresa June 2, 2012 at 10:43 am #

      Thanks. It really is pretty in the back yard right now as long as I ignore everything I haven’t gotten done. 🙂

  15. MixedMolly Designs June 2, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    I love raindrop photos! Very nice.

    • Teresa June 2, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      Thanks. It’s been nice to get some rain these last couple of days.

  16. colleen June 2, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    I’m eating cherries now and it’s raining so our Irises are wet too. I love the look of your place.

    • Teresa June 2, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      Thanks. It’s really pretty where I live.

  17. Marigold and the Goatmother June 2, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    Did you take those close ups with your new lens? It does an awesome job. I tried to take some of water on daffodils awhile back with just my regular lens and they just didn’t come out very well. Yours are fabulous! I’m envious of how far along your fruit is on your trees! Also love the picture with Mushu and the baby. The size contrast is great!

    • Teresa June 2, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

      Actually, I used the 18 – 55 mm lens that came with the camera. It was still rainy, and I just stopped on my way in. I didn’t take the time to go get the macro lens.

      I’ll have to put this little Indie girl by the baby Jilly just had for size comparison. I would like to hit a happy medium with kids and births, but that doesn’t seem to be the theme for this year.

  18. kateri June 3, 2012 at 6:23 am #

    Your fruit looks wonderful–with the very early spring, then a freeze after the blossoms, we aren’t going to to have any tree fruit this year–but it looks like it will be a great year for berries here.

    That kid is so tiny! (Or else the dog is a giant!)

    • Teresa June 3, 2012 at 7:28 am #

      The size comparison might be a bit of both. 🙂 The plums here were frozen, but I think the rest of my fruit is fine. I am very lucky!

  19. Eileen June 3, 2012 at 6:25 am #

    Wow, they are so cute and small. I love your dogs. Lovely shots of the goats, dogs and the pretty flowers.

    • Teresa June 3, 2012 at 7:29 am #

      Thanks. There’s never a lack of photo opportunities in my back yard. 🙂

  20. Rose Cottrill June 3, 2012 at 11:48 am #

    Your dog is gorgeous too!

    Visiting a little late from Camera Critters, here’s my entry, hope you can still take a peek, your comment will be greatly appreciated.

    • Teresa June 3, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

      Thanks. They are both pretty sweet dogs. 🙂

  21. Kay L. Davies June 3, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    That little brown kid is one of the cutest critters I’ve ever seen, Teresa. Your dogs look SO big next to her. Wonderful photos.
    K

    • Teresa June 4, 2012 at 9:19 am #

      Thanks. The dogs are big, but she’s pretty little too. 🙂

  22. Carletta June 4, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    The drenched spider worts are lovely!
    That little kid is as cute as can be.
    LOVE the cherry shot!!!

    • Teresa June 4, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      Thanks! I love the spider worts. They give color all summer long.

  23. Janis June 4, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    Lovely flower shots…and your little Kid is too cute!

    • Teresa June 4, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      Thanks. We have a lot of cute little kids right now.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.