Archive | 5:28 pm

Finished Kidding

30 Jun

We have finally finished kidding for the year.  I present to you the last five girls to have kids.

Blaze gave us our second Fionn kid on June 19th.

Blaze and Sandy

Her name is Sandy.

Sandy

I must say, I’ve decided to try and train Blaze to be a milking doe once Sandy is weaned.

After Blaze was Vinnie.  She had Boeris twins on June 21st.  She has one little buck, and

Vance

she also has a little doe.

Violet

Next up was my x-ray goat Haley.  I pulled one big Fionn buck from her on June 22nd.

Justin

He has been named Justin.

I think he’s pretty happy with that milk!

The next day Haley’s triplet sister, Harley, had another Fionn buck.

Harley

This one was pretty small, but he’s really growing and getting strong and doing well.  He’s been named Bullseye.

Bullseye

Finally, today was Victoria’s turn to have a Fionn baby.  She was the youngest girl to be bred, and when I came outside and heard her yelling, I figured it was time to get her locked in.  She had not been doing anything the hour before when I checked on her, and now she was in full labor and pushing.

It was not easy to get the kid out of her.  She kept trying to get away from me, but I kept trying to pull the kid, and I would pull her too.  As she was on her knees trying to flee, I finally sat down and put my feet against her back side and pulled on those feet as hard as I could, and he finally came out.  Poor girl doesn’t want anything to do with me now.

Of course, she wasn’t too sure about the kid either.  I’m not sure she really believes that he came out of her.

Victoria and kid

She did finally figure things out and he got cleaned up and was nursing.

He’s much cuter now that he’s all dried off.  He doesn’t look near like the giant square peg I thought he was.

I’m very relieved to be done kidding for this year.

Linking to SOOC Sunday and Your Sunday Best.