Archive | 3:01 pm

Cute Calf

6 Jun

Even though I’ve been very focused on the goats lately, I haven’t forgotten my other animals.  Just the other day, I hiked out to the top of the big hill in the Back Forty just to see my cute calf, Norma Jean.

She was being naughty eating the big round bales.

Don’t worry, it wasn’t just her.  Maxine and MJ were snacking also.  I’d guess they were being a bad influence on her.  I warned them it was that much less they’d have to eat this winter when they didn’t have a nice lush pasture either.

As soon as I got closer, Norma Jean hid behind her mom.

Even though we helped her to nurse for the first few days of her life, she is now afraid of humans. 😦  She just hides and stares or runs away from me.

Maybe when she wants to try a taste of corn this fall, she’ll decide I’m not so bad.  Before I made her even more fearful, I turned and walked back towards the house.  It didn’t take them long to ignore my warning of a lean winter and go back to snacking on the bale.

Luckily, my nephew came and took the bales out the next day.  Now they won’t have to starve this winter.

Linking to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday.  This week the featured letter is C.

Linking to Rural Thursday hosted by Nancy at A Rural Journal and Lisa at Two Bears Farm.