Haley Visits the Vet

5 Jun

With the possibility of extremely large kids, I have a couple of girls that concern me.  The vet said an ultrasound at this point would not be able to tell me how many they were carrying.  I could do an x-ray on younger girls.  The older ones would not show as well.  Of my younger girls, the one that I couldn’t decide if she was carrying one or two is Haley.  The rest I already think have just one.

Today, I loaded her up and took her to the vets.  I must say, she was showing her stubborn streak for this, and I had to almost drag her the whole way.  I had to have my son help me lift her up because she was not about to cooperate.

We arrived at the vets and unloaded her.

it was just a few minutes for them to get the x-ray and have an answer for me, but Dr. Schmitz decided to try for a better picture.  I’m glad he did.

There is one big baby in there.  Here’s the x-ray overlayed on a picture of Haley.  It doesn’t line up exactly, but you can see how much of her abdomen is filled with kid.  It also confirms that her due date is probably June 2, which means she could go into labor at any time.

Now I know there is just one.  If it seems like she isn’t progressing like she should, I’ll certainly try to call soon enough for a c-section.  You can see what she thinks of the whole situation.

Hopefully, she’ll do fine.

Linking to Wordless Wednesday with Project Alicia, Live and Love Out Loud, Create With Joy, Tina’s Wordless Wednesday and Sarah Halstead.

Yes, I linked an old post to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday for the letter X, but really.  How often do you get an awesome X-ray like that to share?  If you want to see how her boy looked after birth, I shared that HERE.

57 Responses to “Haley Visits the Vet”

  1. TexWisGirl June 5, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    i hope so too!

  2. farmer June 5, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

    That is so cool,that x-ray on her belly is amazing.
    I sure hope she does well.
    Does the x-ray affect the baby in anyway like it would people?

    • Teresa June 5, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      I’m guessing it’s far enough along it shouldn’t have too big of an impact, but don’t quote me on that.

  3. Sandy June 5, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Sending lots of good thoughts your direction!

    • Teresa June 5, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      Thanks. We seem to need it this year.

  4. Alica June 5, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    So, she was stubborn…can’t imagine a stubborn goat! 🙂

    Hope all goes well…won’t it be fun to put fur and a personality on that x-ray!

    • Alica June 5, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      Oops…I guess it’s not really called fur on a goat, is it? How about putting a hide on it instead!

      • Teresa June 5, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

        Fur, hair, hide…we’re not picky!

    • Teresa June 5, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      Definitely! I’m very anxious to meet him/her.

  5. Candy C. June 5, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    I hope she does well with her delivery, you and the goat girls have had enough hard kidding this year. By the way, I love that last picture! LOL!! 🙂

    • Teresa June 5, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

      She wasn’t too thrilled with the whole ordeal. It’s the first time she’s ever left the farm. I hope this second half goes much smoother than the first half.

  6. Ozarks Goat Girl June 5, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    I’ts fascinating to see the X-ray. Thanks for sharing all your information. I love your blog!

    • Teresa June 5, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

      Thanks. I couldn’t resist sharing this. I just hope she can have this one on her own.

  7. Sarah Halstead (@sarahmhalstead) June 5, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    Hopefully she will do okay.

    • Teresa June 5, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

      Thanks. I hope she does too. It’s always scary when it’s their first time, but this year makes it really scary.

  8. Pat June 5, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    I hope Haley does okay. Sending positive thoughts your way.
    I do love that last shot!

    • Teresa June 6, 2012 at 7:37 am #

      Thanks so much. She was not happy with me!

  9. Tina´s PicStory June 6, 2012 at 3:50 am #

    i hope she will be fine!

    • Teresa June 6, 2012 at 7:37 am #

      Me too. I am tired of really big babies (or really little).

  10. Bev June 6, 2012 at 4:08 am #

    Whew! That is a giant baby. I hope all goes well for Haley. xoxo

    • Teresa June 6, 2012 at 7:37 am #

      Thanks. I’d never seen an x-ray like that before. Hopefully she’ll do well.

  11. Gattina June 6, 2012 at 4:57 am #

    now that’s the very first ultrasound picture I saw of a goat baby, lol ! When I see how you have to carry one goat to the vet I think with my cats it’s a little easier, although they don’t want to be in the carrier either !

    • Teresa June 6, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      She could have been more cooperative for it. 🙂 If they don’t fight and drag their feet, it’s not too bad. This is the first x-ray I’d ever seen too.

  12. becky3086 June 6, 2012 at 5:31 am #

    Interesting. I don’t have any goats yet but that looks like one big baby.

    • Teresa June 6, 2012 at 7:38 am #

      It looks big to me. Hopefully, she’ll do well.

  13. Jen June 6, 2012 at 6:54 am #

    Sayin a prayer all goes well!

    • Teresa June 6, 2012 at 7:39 am #

      Thanks. She could probably use a lot of those.

  14. Create With Joy June 7, 2012 at 5:59 am #

    Wow – hope she’s ok! Can’t help but wondering if she is a mom yet! 🙂

    • Teresa June 7, 2012 at 7:58 am #

      Not yet. I’ll let the world know when her kid arrives~hopefully very soon.

  15. Cas June 8, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Haley is so beautiful! Hope she have the easy labor..

    Visiting for WW- hope you can stop by:)

    http://www.cassandrasminicorner.com/2012/06/playing-in-the-sand.html

    • Teresa June 8, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

      Thanks for your well-wishes. I hope she does too. I keep telling her that it might be a good idea to have her kid today.

  16. artmusedog and Carol October 31, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Wonderful post ~ she is a beauty and not very happy with you ~ glad you got the answer and do hope she is okay ~ (A Creative Harbor) ^_^

    • Teresa October 31, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

      I did have to work hard to get her baby here, but he arrived safely, grew up, and has left the farm.

  17. Jim October 31, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    Thank you for the update, Teresa. I think Haley is an angel goat if there ever was one. She is a real keeper, I am glad you did. I’ve never been around goats much. The last ones we visited were supposed to be tame but one butted Mrs. Jim in her behind. Was that a little love push?
    ..

    • Teresa October 31, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

      Tame and having an attitude are two different things. I do have a couple of goats that like to push, usually gently. They are fun, but you have to understand how they work!

  18. Pondside October 31, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    That is going to be a giant kid!

    • Teresa November 1, 2012 at 6:50 am #

      He really was a big boy when he was born. Very bulky.

  19. Riet November 1, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    I hope everything will be alright with Haley. Will be heavy work for her.

    • Teresa November 1, 2012 at 8:48 am #

      She was wonderful! Although I had to help get her big buckling here, she was a great mother, and I’ve been milking her for a while now.

  20. Rocky Mountain Woman November 1, 2012 at 9:09 am #

    That is one big baby! Yikes…

    • Teresa November 1, 2012 at 9:11 am #

      And the x-ray ended up being about three weeks before he was born!

  21. Sue at Naperville Now November 1, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    Great x post (that I pray had a good ending. Off to read about that now.)

    • Teresa November 1, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      It certainly was a very happy ending!

  22. Sarah ~ Magnolia Surprise November 1, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    I checked out your post about his birth, and what a cutie! I don’t guess I’ve ever seen an x-ray of an animal, so your pic was pretty amazing!

    • Teresa November 1, 2012 at 11:51 am #

      This is the only one I’ve seen. I was getting paranoid after some of our difficult births, so I wanted to know what to expect. I was surprised how clear it was.

  23. debra November 1, 2012 at 11:29 am #

    I think an older post is fine! Going to see the baby now! 🙂

    • Teresa November 1, 2012 at 11:51 am #

      He was a cute guy! Big, but very cute. 🙂

  24. vbr November 2, 2012 at 7:46 am #

    Wow! That was a truly interesting little trip to the vet. Thanks for sharing that.
    And, I just wanted to tell you something that I have noticed on many visits to your site – whenever I look at the photos of your animals I am struck by how well groomed and cared for the animals are. They are immaculate, they simply radiate good health. It is a pleasure to see the dedication you obviously give to your creatures. Thanks for sharing with us.

    • Teresa November 2, 2012 at 8:11 am #

      That truly makes me feel good to hear. I’m glad to hear that people notice the work that goes into their care. Thanks. 🙂

  25. Anita November 3, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    Can’t say I’ve ever seen an x-ray of a pregnant goat belly. Very cool and what a sweet, albeit stubborn, girl!

    • Teresa November 3, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

      Sweet and stubborn are the two most perfect words to describe her! 🙂

  26. Betty November 3, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Now I’m wondering if she ended up having a C section? Did he end up being a real large baby or just average? Gee…I know what it’s like to take a cat to the vet…I can’t imagine taking a goat.

    • Teresa November 3, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

      She did have to have my help, and it wasn’t exactly an easy pull, but we did get him out without vet intervention. We did, however, have one C-section last year and should have had a second. It really was a difficult kidding season.

  27. Jenny Matlock November 13, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    This was really fascinating.

    And a little frightening.

    That is a huge kid inside of her!

    I hope she’s okay!

    What a good ‘mom’ you are to take such extra watchful care!

    Thanks for sharing this story.

    I’m going to show it to my Grandlittles. They will be fascinated as well, I suspect.

    A+

    • Teresa November 13, 2012 at 11:12 am #

      It was a bit scary. It was still three weeks before she finally had her kid. Everything turned out well, and she’s actually become one of my milking does. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Do You Recognize Him? « Eden Hills's Blog - June 23, 2012

    […] time, he was just some bones.  Haley, who had the x-ray to see how many kids she was carrying, finally had her little […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.