In the Spirit

6 Dec

When I sat down at the computer tonight to figure out what to do for a blog post, I realized I had nothing.  I’ve been so busy preparing for and going to the craft shows and trying to put things up and clean my house that I haven’t had time to do much of anything blog worthy.  Add to that we’re still so wicked muddy that it’s miserable to even go out in the barnyard, I haven’t taken many pictures.  So in the spirit of Good. Random. Fun., I grabbed my camera and put the flash on to see what I could find in the dark.

Litha (back) and daughter Reva

Litha (back) and daughter Reva  (SOOC)

First I went into the greenhouse, and I found Muffin and Pistol all settled in for the night.  I hope Pistol is under the shelf because she wants to be and not because some Muffin is being a big bad bully goat.  I assume that’s the case. I’ve seen her under there many times.

Muffin and Pistol

Muffin and Pistol

Then I crossed the mud pit to the barn I took this picture standing under the only light in the barn.  Wanda is at the beginning of the third section.  You can see the opening to the long cattle lean-to behind her.  There’s no light back there.

Wanda (Bambi in the back doorway)

Wanda (Bambi in the back doorway)

By the time I got to where Wanda was standing, I wasn’t sure who I was taking a picture of.  I thought it was Helen and her girls, and I was right!

Helen, Hilda and Hazel

Helen, Hilda and Hazel

Standing in the door to the lean to, I was clueless.  I couldn’t really see anyone.  I thought I saw a bit of light, so I snapped and got Annie!  No wonder I couldn’t see a mostly black goat in the dark.

Polka Sallie Annie Osboer

Polka Sallie Annie Osboer

I stood at the start of the lean to and shot towards the back.  I was looking for someone.  Didn’t see who I was looking for, but there’s our wonderful herd queen, Minnie Pearl resting.

Minnie

Minnie [Maisie, Moose, and Victoria (among others) in the back]

I kept going back (carefully and taking pictures to look and see that I wasn’t going to walk on anyone), and I finally found who I was looking for.

Llenny, Coral, Clover and Wanda

Llenny, Coral, Clover and Wanda

I’m pretty disappointed that the guard llama didn’t wake up with all the flashes and my talking.  He’s supposed to be guarding them from coyotes.  Or maybe these girls are taking the early watch because they certainly had their eyes on me.

I’m sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun. and SOOC Sunday.

18 Responses to “In the Spirit”

  1. Patty Leonard Woodland December 6, 2015 at 9:20 pm #

    Maybe Llenny knew you were no threat?

    • Teresa December 6, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

      No threat? He didn’t know I was there. He never even twitched an ear. LOL

  2. pattisj December 6, 2015 at 9:23 pm #

    Llenny, must have been all tuckered out! This was a fun walk-through in the dark, seeing everyone snuggled in for the night.

    • Teresa December 6, 2015 at 9:37 pm #

      I did have fun doing it. Who know not having a blog post for the day could turn out so well!

  3. Jeanne December 7, 2015 at 1:09 am #

    I love this one! That’s really a neat idea! I especially got a chuckle out of the last picture.

    • Teresa December 7, 2015 at 11:45 am #

      Sometimes, you just have to punt!

  4. Eileen December 7, 2015 at 6:41 am #

    Good morning, they are all so cute. Llenny is just too tired to get up! Happy Monday, enjoy your week ahead!

    • Teresa December 7, 2015 at 11:50 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. He certainly was sleeping quite soundly!

  5. EG CameraGirl December 7, 2015 at 8:31 am #

    You did very well in the dark! I’m sure Llenny will do his job when needed.

    • Teresa December 7, 2015 at 11:49 am #

      I certainly hope so!

  6. Sherrie Plummer December 7, 2015 at 12:21 pm #

    Hi,
    I’m amazed you can remember all their names. Great shots under the circumstances. Have a great day!

    • Teresa December 7, 2015 at 12:55 pm #

      Thanks, Sherrie. It’s not to hard to remember their names. I’ve known them all their lives. 😉

  7. jesh stg December 7, 2015 at 2:00 pm #

    Wanda – she looks like a real personality and the last group pic cracked me up! No need to apologize – these are all great and funny pics, Teresa!! This winter I find out about “mud” when living in the country:)
    By the way thank you for the comment on my plein air – I did delete that post, but you still can find it on Art Notes (click on top right)

    • Teresa December 7, 2015 at 3:14 pm #

      Wanda is really funny. She gets that from her mom and grandmaa.

  8. Tamar December 7, 2015 at 2:17 pm #

    That guard llama is sleeping on the job!!

    • Teresa December 7, 2015 at 3:15 pm #

      I suppose I have to let him sleep, but I couldn’t believe he didn’t wake up with the commotion.

  9. Freda Labianca December 7, 2015 at 6:12 pm #

    Llenny is slacking on the job. LOL. Hopefully he doesn’t slack when it counts though. He probably smelled you and knew it was safe so keep sleeping. I bet the barn would have to be more restless if it’s a coyote too.

    • Teresa December 7, 2015 at 7:20 pm #

      He was just dead to the world. I hope someone would wake up and alert everyone in the case of danger.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.