Androgynous Baby

7 Dec

Look who’s getting big!

peafowl_8471ew

The peachick is alost too big to fit beneath mom’s wing anymore.

Peafowl_8473ew

I still don’t know if the chick is a boy or a girl.  There are no bright blue/green feathers like daddy yet, but they don’t show up until they are a year old.

peacock_8477ew

For now, the little one looks like mom, but who knows what next summer will bring about.

peafowl_8479ew

I honestly would prefer another hen.  I already have to two males, and I don’t know why they get along.  I’d be afraid that the adults would pick on a teenage little guy.  After all, that’s how Blue Gryphon came to me.  The dominant male chased him off.

30 Responses to “Androgynous Baby”

  1. Donkey Driver December 7, 2015 at 8:13 pm #

    Do you save the feathers? When we had peacocks, we had feathers EVERYWHERE in the house.

    • Teresa December 7, 2015 at 8:17 pm #

      We do. My stupid chickens eat them if I’m not quick to get them though. 😦

      • Donkey Driver December 7, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

        Lol! I wouldn’t have guessed that!

      • Teresa December 7, 2015 at 8:42 pm #

        Stupid chickens. I think they are bored, but they drive me crazy.

      • Donkey Driver December 7, 2015 at 8:43 pm #

        Thats funny!

  2. Alica December 7, 2015 at 8:17 pm #

    So sweet! (can a bird be sweet?) This one sure is!

    • Teresa December 7, 2015 at 8:18 pm #

      I do adore this little one. S/he makes the cutest little sounds.

  3. Margaret December 7, 2015 at 11:36 pm #

    The young one is so cute

    • Teresa December 8, 2015 at 8:50 am #

      They really are.

  4. S. J. Qualls December 7, 2015 at 11:48 pm #

    The males are sooo pretty, but that mama is pretty in her own right. It would be nice if the little one turns out to be a hen.

    • Teresa December 8, 2015 at 8:50 am #

      I don’t know what I’d do if we ended up with a third male.

  5. Jeanne December 8, 2015 at 12:14 am #

    I enjoyed this little story! The baby is really getting big. For your sake, I hope A/V is a girl! It would be so much simpler!

    • Jeanne December 8, 2015 at 12:18 am #

      Argh! Tablets can be so frustrating! That booboo was supposed to be s/he !!

    • Teresa December 8, 2015 at 8:50 am #

      It would certainly be better! I’m hoping our streak of girls continues.

  6. TexWisGirl December 8, 2015 at 5:01 am #

    so cute! hoping for a female, then!

  7. Eileen December 8, 2015 at 5:59 am #

    Oh my, they are beautiful peacocks. I love the cute chick. Happy Tuesday, enjoy your day!

    • Teresa December 8, 2015 at 8:51 am #

      They really are beautiful birds.

  8. meigancam01 December 8, 2015 at 10:31 am #

    Beautiful!!!
    You are so lucky to have them!
    Thanks for sharing.

    • Teresa December 20, 2015 at 9:22 am #

      I do enjoy having them. They are beautiful birds.

  9. Freda Labianca December 8, 2015 at 6:29 pm #

    Beautiful birds! He grew fast!

    • Teresa December 8, 2015 at 6:39 pm #

      She. Please she! She’s still a baby though and wants to hide under mama’s wing.

  10. pattisj December 9, 2015 at 11:59 pm #

    It certainly is pretty.

    • Teresa December 10, 2015 at 7:02 pm #

      I agree. I just hope it continues looking like momma.

      • pattisj December 10, 2015 at 8:32 pm #

        Another male might not be a good thing. I hope so, too.

      • Teresa December 10, 2015 at 8:47 pm #

        Definitely wouldn’t be.

  11. Mascha December 10, 2015 at 2:06 am #

    Cute baby, glad, that it’s grown and has alive 🙂

    • Teresa December 10, 2015 at 7:03 pm #

      I am very happy s/he’s made it this long.

  12. Texan December 10, 2015 at 6:49 am #

    So pretty. We were recently offered a pair of peacocks. I almost said yes… but we we are not taking on any new animals right now. Except chickens. LOL. we need to get ourselves where we can be a bit more mobile. It was hard to pass them up!

    • Teresa December 10, 2015 at 7:04 pm #

      I do know that feeling. Sometimes I think it would be nice not to have to do chores every day, but I do adore them all.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

