Pop Up Showers

29 Jun

I’m so happy to say that I woke up this morning to thunder and a quick shower moving through.  It only left us about a tenth of an inch of rain, but I’m so grateful.  It is so important to continue getting rain for the crops.

I’m lucky that my corn is still doing well, and when I went out to take pictures of how much the rain helped it, I saw more dark clouds.

More showers were moving in, and that’s exactly what my pasture needs to grow also.

I watched the clouds roll in and the thunder began to sound again. Now, we’re getting more rain!

After a mad scramble to the barn, the goats are just standing around watching the rain fall.

They are nice and dry in there.  My pasture and field are getting much needed rain.

I could stand here and watch it bounce off the patio bistro table all evening!

I am so grateful for each drop of rain we get.  I hope all those suffering from drought conditions get some relief.

Linking to Farm Photo Friday, Friday Photo, and the Summer Daze Photo Party.

22 Responses to “Pop Up Showers”

  1. Alica June 29, 2012 at 6:48 pm #

    Your hay looks great! So glad you’re getting much needed rain!

    • Alica June 29, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      Oops…your CORN looks great! (I had just been reading another blog about hay…this mind is way too full. Sorry! 🙂 )

      • Teresa June 29, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

        Well, that makes more sense. 🙂

    • Teresa June 29, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      We have the alfalfa on that small buffer strip. Most of the hay I make is just grass off the pasture. That grass is really struggling.

  2. TexWisGirl June 29, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

    hallelujah!!!

    • Teresa June 29, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

      It really was a wonderful relief. Unfortunately, we are still looking at near 100 degrees and very few chances for more rain in the next week.

  3. Texan June 29, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    I know just how great it is to see rain sometimes!! So glad your getting some!

    • Teresa June 29, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

      It’s amazing how really good it feels to be in it and how wonderful everything smells afterwards. 🙂

  4. Marigold and the Goatmother June 30, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    Oh, love that first rain photo and the downspout one! Awesome! I hope the little owl managed to find his way somewhere and not get wet!

    • Teresa June 30, 2012 at 10:04 am #

      I’m sure the little owl is well protected in all the brush and woods. It was a beautiful rain!

  5. Chai Chai June 30, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    Your corn looks good, lets hope it stays that way. Everyone down your way is praying for rain, such a simple thing and yet so precious and precarious.

    • Teresa June 30, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      I really do feel lucky with my corn looking good yet. Hope this heat/drought ends for all of us.

  6. Pondside June 30, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    I wish I could send some of our over-abundance of rain down to the south where it’s needed so badly. We are into another cold and rainy weekend, but I darn’t complain!

    • Teresa June 30, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

      I remember just two summers ago, we were completely flooded and felt like it was a rain forest. Too bad we couldn’t just even it out a bit. Hope you get a break from the rains.

  7. WolfSong June 30, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

    We’re not quite at drought conditions, but we sure could use some rain! Sadly, I’m hearing far too many people say “Oooh, I love this heat, I hope this summer is like last summer!” Except last summer *was* a drought for us, and it was not pleasant! Hopefully our forcasted thunder storms will come rolling through soon!

    • Teresa June 30, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

      Hope you get some rain. That’s the exact way I feel about people loving our mild winter. I’m hoping for cold weather!

  8. messyme June 30, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

    I am so happy for you that you got rain. Isn’t it sad that we have to wish each other well that we received rain? It could be worse, I suppose. Lovely photos and I love the downspout also. Really a nice photo there.

    • Teresa June 30, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

      Thanks. I really do appreciate this rain. I just hope it keeps coming. It would be nice if the whole weather across the country would settle down.

  9. Candy C. July 2, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    YAY for much needed rain! Your corn is looking great! I love the picture of the goaties standing in the barn doorway avoiding the rain! 🙂

    • Teresa July 2, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

      They aren’t too keen on that getting wet.

  10. project alicia July 6, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    Nothing quite like a good morning thundershower! Crops are looking good. Thanks so much for linking to our Summer Daze Photo Party!

    • Teresa July 9, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

      I am so grateful for our little shower. If only we could get some more.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.