Friday’s Hunt v2.17

21 Oct

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week, the topics will be:  Starts with R, Week’s Favorite, and black and/or orange.  I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. I am crazy busy with teaching and working on the farm right now, but I will make sure to visit all participants.  Without further ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with Q:  You have to be quick and quiet to photograph some of the critters out in pasture.  I was lucky enough to find a red-bellied woodpecker and a squirrel close together.  Sorry for the bad quality, but they are too quick for me to get a good shot.

woodpecker-squirrel_6423ews

Week’s Favorite:  I have to say, introducing Llenny and the lladies was my favorite.  I finally let Maybeline and Odie out with the rest of the herd last night, and it didn’t take long for them to meet.  Here, Llenny’s singing his deep, throaty love songs.  That’s what will cause the girls to ovulate.  Here’s he’s just hanging on Odie and singing, but hopefully we’ll have crias in about a year.

llamas_6597ews

Llenny hanging on Odie

fall/spring:  I love this time of year.  It makes me wish I had more trees that got brilliant fall colors.  Most of mine just turn brown.

Llenny hanging on Odie

I still think the farm is beautiful this time of year, even if the colors are more muted.

guard-llama_6668ews

Now it’s your turn!

13 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v2.17”

  1. Patty Leonard Woodland October 21, 2016 at 7:16 pm #

    I’m so happy for Llenny and his Lladies. I wish I could hear his llove song. Llamas are certainly curious in their ways.

    • Teresa October 21, 2016 at 7:51 pm #

      They certainly are unique creatures.

  2. Ralph October 21, 2016 at 7:44 pm #

    Lleny and lladies are a lovely pic – I guess he is quite happy with his new llama friends! You don’t need bold autumnal colors to ad beauty to an already beautiful farm…

  3. Coloring Outside the Lines October 21, 2016 at 7:52 pm #

    I’m glad he has some ladies to yodel to! My trees are just now thinking about maybe letting their leaves change colors. So dry here. Our pond is down about 8 feet. Awful drought right now.

  4. Jim October 21, 2016 at 11:23 pm #

    Nice llamas you have, I remembered only one. “Hanging on” literally here. They must be teenagers. Your pasture does look really nice for a Fall picture.
    ..

  5. tarnegolita October 22, 2016 at 12:04 am #

    Crias! Is that what baby llamas are called? How cute! X

  6. Margaret Birding For Pleasure October 22, 2016 at 1:27 am #

    Ineresting to know that Llemy siniging wil make thefemaes ovulate. I hope Lllemy does not just have a favourite!!

  7. Gattina October 22, 2016 at 1:38 am #

    Love the picture of the young couple ! Interesting to read about love uses in animal world. Fortunately male humans don’t sing in the same circumstances, lol ! Your pictures look so peaceful !

  8. Jeanne October 22, 2016 at 4:50 pm #

    Very nice pictures! You were lucky and quick to catch the red-bellied squirrel and the redheaded woodpecker.
    I had no idea that Llenny would sing to his lladies! That’s fascinating! I wish I could hear him.

    • Jeanne October 22, 2016 at 4:52 pm #

      Oh – I forgot to ask if Maybelline and Odie are friendly – are they? That would certainly make things a lot nicer and easier when the crias come!

  9. janicead October 23, 2016 at 8:35 pm #

    Lovely post, Teresa. And informative. And lots of guys find the cooler weather invigorating.

  10. pattisj October 27, 2016 at 8:30 pm #

    Aw, so happy for Llenny! How cool to observe animal behavior.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Hunt v. 2.17 | brokenbarnfarm - October 24, 2016

    […] up with the rest of the Friday’s Hunters! Bummer, but you can still go check them out at Eden Hills This week our prompts are the Letter Q, Weeks Favorite, and Fall or […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.