Archive | 6:41 pm

Confusing Weather and Birds

25 Oct

Our weather has been unusually warm this month.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s been great for staying outside all day at the pumpkin patch.  But today, we took a dive and have really cold rain.  This weekend (just in time for the pumpkin patch) it’s supposed to be nice again.  I think the birds might be confused too.  We do have woodpeckers year round.

woodpecker_6782ews

This ingenious red-bellied woodpecker figured out a do-it-yourself bird feeder.

redbellied-woodpecker_6799ews

But eastern bluebirds are here just during the summer months.  I’d think it’s getting a bit late for them to be here.  (You can click on the image to make it larger.  The birds were really blending in.)

bluebird_6781ews

In contrast, dark-eyed juncos are usually here in the winter.  I used to think they were just called snow birds because we never see them unless there’s snow, and then they are everywhere.

junco_6787ews

All of these images were taken during my walk yesterday.

I’m sharing today with Wild Bird Wednesday.

I do hope you’ll come back and join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items listed in my sidebar.