The Darkest Days

16 Dec

We’ve reached the darkest days of the year.

candle and bokeh

The winter solstice is on December 21st, and then the sun begins its journey back to the northern hemisphere.  I am anxiously looking forward to those longer days.

Leo

Leo

Right now I feel like the cats.  I’m ready to hunker down and nap about twenty hours each day, but I don’t even have a rainbow pillow to sleep on.

cat collage

It’s hard to get chores done outside.  Really, by the time I get home from work and make sure everyone is fed and watered, it’s dark.  I just want to curl up on the couch and do nothing.

Snickers

Snickers

I haven’t even hardly had the energy to set up photo shoots or bake.

fall flower bokeh

We won’t discuss the lack of house cleaning.  Hopefully, my winter break will give me renewed energy and time to play with photography and make more soaps.

Yep, sales have been good, and I’ll be making more soap over break.  Maybe that will get my energy jump-started for the new year.

Sharing with Monday Mellow Yellows, Blue Monday, Inspire Me Monday, and Ruby Tuesday Too.

32 Responses to “The Darkest Days”

  1. Alica December 16, 2013 at 12:16 pm #

    I am so with you! Thankfully, for some reason this year it seems like the longest days have come quickly for me. I need daylight to function at my best…as do my chickens, etc. However, I am glad for the excuse to stay inside in the evenings rather than go back outside and work! 🙂 Looking forward to SPRING!

    • Teresa December 16, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

      I’m just hoping our early winter means we’ll have an early spring! Hang in there. It’s on its way!

  2. TexWisGirl December 16, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

    sweet kitties enjoying their comfy time.

    • Teresa December 16, 2013 at 12:41 pm #

      They are very content to stay inside this time of year.

  3. Sally December 16, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    Hi Teresa,

    I need daylight too; that’s why I live in Florida.

    I look forward to reading your comment on my blog. Please return.
    Happy Blue Monday!

    • Teresa December 16, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

      Well, that would give you more sun. I do like my seasons though.

  4. Becca December 16, 2013 at 3:01 pm #

    I miss the sun, too! The cold would be so much more bearable (and I’d be more productive) if the days were longer. Most days I’m ready for bed by 7:00.

    • Teresa December 16, 2013 at 3:09 pm #

      Once I’m done milking, I’m pretty much done for the day. Truly sad. Hopefully the sun will hurry back this year. 🙂

  5. Pat December 16, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    Rainbow pillows must bring sweet dreams!

    • Teresa December 16, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

      It seems to for Leo, but it doesn’t stop his snoring. 😉

  6. Talon December 16, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

    I always get into a funk at this time of year. It’s seasonal, but it doesn’t make me feel any more chipper. Can’t wait until the Solstice and the stretching of the days. Your cats are beautiful, Teresa! And I’m LOVING your soap. My daughter and I will be regular customers. 🙂

    • Teresa December 16, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

      Glad you are enjoying the soap. I certainly do feel better about the cold even when the days get longer.

  7. Beth December 16, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

    snicker are a cutie. ( :

    • Teresa December 16, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

      Thanks. My boy always calls him a magnificent specimen.

  8. Meg December 16, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

    Leo and Snickers look pretty darn comfortable.

    About to peruse your soap store!

    • Teresa December 16, 2013 at 6:43 pm #

      Those cats do know how to make themselves comfortable!

      Hope you like the store, Meg.

  9. joyh82 December 16, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    What pretty soap. Your cats are adorable!

    • Teresa December 16, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

      Thanks. I really enjoy making the soap.

  10. genie December 16, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

    We suffer through these dark short days…so I know the feeling of sleepiness, weariness, and not having enough hours in the day to do all we want to get done. Know you are going to enjoy your break. Your soaps are beautiful.You do so much, my friend. Thanks for taking the time to stop by. genie

    • Teresa December 16, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

      I do appreciate the kind words, Genie. Thank you. Hope you have a great holiday!

  11. Leave It To Davis December 16, 2013 at 11:47 pm #

    Today was the first sunny day we have had in a couple of weeks now…and it actually warmed up to our usual 65 degrees! I don’t know how you all go all winter with ice and snow and gloom!!! Come on down to Texas and warm up a while….get some sunshine! Bring your kitties! and your goats! There’s a goat farm not too far from us….Soggy Bottom Goat farm! Sending warm wishes your way!

    • Teresa December 17, 2013 at 6:41 am #

      Thanks. I don’t mind the cold too much. We’ve been unusually cloudy for this time of year, though, and I’m craving my sun.

  12. Leovi December 17, 2013 at 8:51 am #

    Nice pictures, wonderful lights, I love candles!

    • Teresa December 17, 2013 at 9:06 am #

      Thanks. They do seem to add cheer this time of year.

  13. Gattina December 17, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    Wonderful ! I had forgotten that days will get longer ! I also wished I was a cat and sleep whole day on my bed as they do !

    • Teresa December 17, 2013 at 11:00 am #

      Cats really do have the perfect life (when they have a home like yours or mine).

  14. Ralph December 17, 2013 at 11:17 am #

    Cats have it made! Our Linus has seemingly slept all night, and is currently making a day of it today on this cold and snowy New England day. Which is what us grown-ups would do if work did nit intrude so much 🙂

    • Teresa December 17, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      Life would be awesome without work. I could get so much more creative stuff done! Hope you stay warm!

  15. EG CameraGirl December 17, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    Yep, soon – very soon – we’ll be over the hump and the days will be getting longer!!

    • Teresa December 17, 2013 at 11:41 am #

      I am truly counting the days! I can handle the cold if I can have my sunshine. 🙂

  16. lina@home tips December 17, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

    Pretty soaps and adorable cats. I live in tropical country, I think I can’t stand with long darkest day there.
    Thanks for dropping by, stay warm!

    • Teresa December 18, 2013 at 6:32 am #

      Thanks, Lina. I do need my sunshine, too.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.