Archive | 7:35 pm

Another Friday

27 Dec

I don’ t know where the time goes, but here we are again at Random 5 Friday.  I’m solidly in the midst of my winter break.  I’m pretty sure I won’t be ready to go back to work when I have to.

pinecone

I’ve been babying my laptop for several months, but it only works for about 30 minutes now before overheating.  That means I treated myself to a Christmas present today.  I have a new computer.  I’m still trying to get used to how this one works.  I think I’m really going to like it.  I also got one for my mother for her birthday, but my whole family is pitching in on that one.

geraniums

I took my Annie goat to ISU’s vet hospital on Monday, and they did surgery to remove her ovaries and uterus because of the fluid.  They drained 19 liters of fluid from her uterus.  It was also fusing to other organs, so that left lesions when they removed it.  They also figured out that her uterus was so big that she hadn’t been able to adequately relieve herself.  It’s amazing her bladder hadn’t burst.  Sadly, later in the evening she died.  That was just too much for her system to take.  At least she’s no longer in pain.

Snickers

Snickers

The vet came today to trim Millie’s broken horn, but we both agreed that Millie had already done an adequate job.  Hopefully, it doesn’t break any further, or she’ll be into the live blood well.  While he was here, he also looked at Bambi’s hoof.  Bambi is a brat, and I had to get food to bribe her.  I managed to get a collar put on her, but then she took off running.  Of course, we were in the midst of a huge pack of goats, and she began pulling me across the barnyard.  I did pretty good until someone (I don’t even know who) stepped in front of me.  Then I went down, and Bambi ended up dragging me across the barnyard.  But we had her!  He checked her foot and found just a small nick but no infection.  She’s such a brat.

Reva

Reva

Little Bit

Little Bit

I have another warm day tomorrow before we drop back into the deep freeze.  I’m hoping to get some gates open tomorrow because I still want to put some bucks and does together to make babies for June.  Right now, the only one I know I could get back with the bucks is Reva.  That’s because I’ll put her with Kizzy’s triplet from this year, Little Bit.  He’s actually getting big now!

Sharing with Random 5 Friday, Camera Critters, I Heart Macro, and Saturday’s Critters.