Archive | 4:17 pm

Odds and Ends

18 May

My corn was planted this weekend.  After a cold, wet start to the spring planting season, farmers have been planting as quickly as they can to get everything planted. Now we just have to hope for a good growing season.

My garden was tilled this weekend as well.  I’m afraid to plant because it’s supposed to be pretty cool this coming weekend.  I’ll probably wait until next week to plant.

It’s smaller this year because I just can’t keep up with everything.  Also, we are leaving for two weeks for vacation this summer, so I need to have a bit less to deal with.

Salem–just because he’s cute.

Um. At some point, I need to decide what to do with the blog while we are gone–just post a couple of farm pictures each day or maybe give a few vacation updates.

The chickens and goose are sharing a nest in their new accommodations.

I’m still working on getting my yards into shape.  I did manage to get a lot more tamed down this past weekend. Caroline was helping me with cleaning up some scrub mulberry.

I even managed to get everything under the windmill cleaned up.

I have been cutting a lot of asparagus for the last week.  It just came up like crazy when we turned warm.  I’ve already cut more than I got all of last year.

I did my first planting of the year.  I put in some rhubarb.

Hopefully, my dog will not destroy it.