Archive | 6:49 pm

The Wethers

7 Aug

I’m trying to figure out what to do with my wethers.

wether_3782ews

If you remember, two years ago, Bud had bladder stones that led to his surgeries.  The stones were determined to be pure calcium.  Typically that kind of stone isn’t seen in Iowa, but it is common out west where goats are browsed in fields rich in clover.  At the same time Bud was going through his issues, my vet had another goat die with the same type of stone.

bladder stones 32ew

The next year, right around the same time, I lost Marley to bladder stones.

Marley

Marley

The only thing I can come up with is that the clover somehow changes chemically at this time of year in a manner that causes the imbalance leading to calcium bladder stones.  That’s not a crazy as it sounds.  Alfalfa, which is commonly fed to ruminants safely, can be poisonous after a frost.  Clover is also a legume.  They eat it fine most of the summer and in their hay.  This one time of year it seems to cause problems.  It’s the only thing that makes sense.

swallowtail on clover

swallowtail on clover

I still have three wethers.  I don’t want to lose any of them.

Casey

Casey

Myson

Myson

Moose (scratching on the fence)

Moose (scratching on the fence)

I think I will move them to the front pasture with the bucks by the first of September.  Hopefully, that will work.

If you want to join me for Friday’s Hunt, I have next week’s items at the top of my side bar.