On the Homefront

11 Jul

As exciting as it is to go away on vacation, it’s also kind of scary to know you aren’t going to be home to take care of the animals and farm the way you usually are.  That can make it even more scary to come home.  Of course, I wasn’t surprised to find that the vacuum cleaner hadn’t jumped out of the closet to pick up the dog’s fur while I was gone.

Bob

Seriously, how can one dog shed so much?  It was right after this picture that Bob’s nap was disturbed because I drug out the vacuum.

Of course, it’s always the outside animals that worry me the most.  I was a bit surprised that Naughty Rooster Boy was still around after the reports of him attacking both my mom and son.  I figured the story that he had escaped the pen was a cover-up of the great noodle murder, but he’s still here to torment another day.

Naughty Rooster Boy

I did my tail count of babies, and everyone was present and accounted for!  I can’t believe how much some of those kids have grown in the short time I was gone.

Spike

I can tell that some of the goats have dropped weight, but that’s to be expected with the horrible heat of last week.  They just don’t feel like eating when it’s that hot.  I’m keeping a close eye on Kizzy since she’s trying to raise three kids.

Kizzy and too many kids

While I was gone, I did get word from my son that the well was running dry.  It still has some water in it thanks to a half inch of rain on Monday, but our drought conditions are continuing.  Luckily, if the well does go dry, and can haul rural water to the animals.

I was happy to see that my corn still looks this good.  Every day, the news reports that the amount of corn in good condition is dropping.

Still, after traveling east, I feel so lucky to have my corn looking like this.  There are many fields in Illinois and Indiana that are just completely burned up.  I’ve been getting that half inch of rain or less about every week to help it hang in there.

I’m even seeing some ears forming now.

On my farm, the drought is most obvious in the Back Forty.  The hayfields were cut and baled at the end of May.  By now they should have been baled a second time (or just ready to).  Instead, it’s thin and turning more brown all the time.

The watering hole where the cows and llama drink is almost completely dried up.

There’s just a little bit left, and then they won’t have any water back here.

I remember when I was still in the process of buying the farm, the man who had his cattle here for the twenty years before I got it said there was only one day in all that time that there wasn’t water in the ditches.  The main ditch through the Back Forty is already dry.  I scared up one lone frog still clinging to the tiny bit of mud in the bottom.

Instead of the constant chirping of frogs, it’s completely silent except for the dry rustling of the cottonwood leaves as they fall from the trees.

It looks more like September than July.

I’m concerned for all these trees and pastures and crops that so desperately need water.  Hopefully, we’ll see that change in the weather pattern that the weatherman said might be coming to bring us some rains.

Still, I count my blessings that I do have rural water to provide my animals, and even if I have to buy hay, I know I’ll be able to get it.  My conditions here are so much better than many others.

Since coming back from vacation, I’ve become aware of the horrible plight of fellow blogger Feral Woman in the midst of a Montana wildfire.  You really should grab a box of tissues and read about the fires on her blog, Go West Feral Woman.  I was happy to see that Nancy from A Rural Journal has set up a way to donate to the Montana Red Cross to help victims of the fires.  I can’t put the widget on my WordPress blog, but you can donate at Nancy’s blog (worth the visit anyhow) if you want.

Linking to Jenny Matlock for Alphabe-Thursday where the letter is H.  I’m also linking to Thankful Thursday and Rural Thursday hosted by Nancy of A Rural Journal and Lisa of Two Bears Farm.

64 Responses to “On the Homefront”

  1. Alica July 11, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    I’ve been hearing stories too, from the midwest of horrible drought conditions. A friend who farms in Goshen, Indiana has lost their entire corn and bean crops to drought. Completely. And they only have enough feed for their animals for the next three weeks. Makes our “dry spell” seem like peanuts here.
    I’m glad all was well while you were gone…and I hope you soon get some more much needed rain!!

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

      Traveling through Indiana really put it in perspective. It’s bad here, but it’s nothing compared to them. I can’t count the fields where the corn is only a couple of feet tall and brown on the bottom half. It’s just sad.

  2. TexWisGirl July 11, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    thank you for helping spread the word on feral’s fundraising efforts! and i am glad your corn crop is still okay. fingers crossed for more rain for you. i hate the idea of the well…

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 4:12 pm #

      I’ve never had to even think about not having water. They compare this year’s drought to the mid-eighties, but I was a carefree teen at that time. Hope we can help reach that goal for the Red Cross.

  3. Gail July 11, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Being so dependent on the weather is why my grandmother urged my grandfather to get a job at a nearby factory. To make a living on the land requires a lot of courage, I think. I applaud you for that courage and your hard work. Hope you get some rain very soon.

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

      It really is a gamble. I’m not that big into risk, so I do have a real job too. 🙂

  4. Rocky Mountain Woman July 11, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    We are burning up also and on water restrictions so that if a fire does start there will be enough water to fight it.

    It’s 104 in the valley today!

    Yikes!

    xxoo,

    RMW

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

      Oh my goodness! I hope things cool down and we all get some much needed rain.

  5. Rebecca July 11, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    We returned from our holiday to a broody hen!
    Here in England completley opposite weather, wet, wet. None stop rain!
    Great H post

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

      I would gladly send you some hot dry weather in exchange for some of your rain. 🙂

  6. Texan July 11, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    Drought is so hard. I hope your well can hang on with some water! I also hope your corn makes!

    I know a doggy who could equal yours in shedding LOL. A certain big white dog we just adopted LOL.. But he is worth all the clean up LOL. :O)

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

      I have one of those too, but I can’t even get her to come in when we’re in dangerous heat. Poor girl. I love seeing how spoiled your puppy is going to be. 🙂

  7. Erika July 11, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Bob looks like my Harry Potter! At least you can get a photo of your furry little guy; mine always turns away when I pull out the camera.

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

      He was sleeping. Sometimes he’s the perfect model, but most times he just turns and walks away. 🙂 Cats!

  8. Nancy July 11, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    I’m glad that all of the animals were present and accounted for. It is becoming rather scary with how dry it is here. Everything is turning brown and crunchy. Ijust hope everything comes back next year if we don’t get some rain soon.

    Welcome back and thank you for your contribution. xo

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

      My pleasure. I’m really concerned for my little white flowering almond. You can’t even buy them anymore. If it dies, I won’t be able to replace it. So far my big oak trees are looking okay.

  9. Marian Jeanne Stone July 11, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    Love this shot of your goat in the bucket. Hope that you get water soon. Know that the heat and the drought are a terrible combination, but do think your corn looks pretty good considering …. Thank you for stopping by my blog, and definitely hope you get some rain really soon!

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

      I really am feeling quite lucky right now. 🙂 All the kids just love sleeping in those feed pans. It always makes me smile.

  10. Pat July 11, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    That’s a pretty green cornfield! Hope you get some rain soon.

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

      I think it is absolutely beautiful! I’m hoping to be one of the lucky few that might actually get some rain this weekend with the isolated storms they are saying might happen.

  11. Robyn July 11, 2012 at 8:37 pm #

    Teresa,
    Hope you had a great vacation. It’s nice to get away for a few days and nice to come home!

    It takes so much work to leave for a few days! The things we don’t realize as kids.

    We are dry also. We had .85″ a week ago! With the wind and heat it didn’t last long. Upper 90’s this week and my car say 100* this afternoon.

    We keep praying for rain. So much of the midwest and south are dry.

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

      I think we should organize a giant bloggy rain dance and see if we can make it happen! 😉

  12. Esther Joy Hunter July 11, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    We have had terrible drought conditions and were so thankful to get 3/4th inch of rain a few days ago. Here’s hoping and praying we all get more relief from the heat and dryness!

    • Teresa July 11, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

      Truly we do need some relief. Glad you at least got some rain.

  13. I laughed out loud at the picture of the cat napping in the middle of the dog’s hair, and I enjoyed seeing the naughty rooster and the kids – but I do hope you get some rain to sustain you, soon.

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 8:21 am #

      That dog hair is just everywhere about five minutes after I’m done vacuuming. 😦 I admit I am quite attached to the rooster even though he’s become so naughty. Hopefully, we’ll get some rain soon.

  14. Anonymous July 12, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    I love to read about your farm and your animals. Good you could have some vacation and worrying is just human. have a nice day

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 8:21 am #

      Thanks. I figure we have to get rain sooner or later.

  15. yogaleigh July 12, 2012 at 1:24 am #

    Good H. And good reminder that these hot dry conditions that are just cause for complaint in the city are major problems on farms.

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 8:22 am #

      Truly this drought is destroying livelihoods for many and the wildfires are just tragic.

  16. Debra Pugh July 12, 2012 at 5:19 am #

    No amazement here at the shedding picture! Two dogs and one cat and constant shedding.
    I am glad that your corn is still holding up …this is a horrible year between heat and drought 😦

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 8:22 am #

      I can see signs of stress, but I just keep hoping it hangs in there. 🙂 That’s about all I can do now.

  17. JDaniel4's Mom July 12, 2012 at 6:22 am #

    I wish I could send the heavy rains we have had the last few days your way. I am glad you were able to get away for a few days.

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 8:23 am #

      Thanks. We could certainly put that rain to good use. 🙂

  18. Rebecca Nichols (@satakieli) July 12, 2012 at 6:46 am #

    I hope you had a lovely vacation. I remember too, when my parents still had a lot of animals they used to worry about going away and having to leave them in the care of someone else. They often came back to discover one of their naughty chickens had escaped!

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 8:24 am #

      They actually put Naughty Rooster Boy back in! I was very surprised. I have to say I had amazing help in order for me to do this trip.

  19. Lisa @ Two Bears Farm July 12, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    I hope that you get more rain soon! And that the corn continues to look so healthy.

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      Me too! I am just grateful for every drop that falls.

  20. Nancy July 12, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    Thank you for sharing at Rural Thursdays, Teresa. ox

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      My pleasure! I love this meme.

  21. Sanghamitra July 12, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    Fantastic photography and texture! Lovely colours.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Hope to see you on my blog:)

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      Thanks. I’m so glad you stopped by.

  22. Theresa July 12, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    It is tough to leave animals behind when one is traveling. Looks like all was taken care of safe and sound…beautiful life!

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      I did have wonderful help! Of course, I offered my son a cash bonus if nobody died while I was gone. 🙂

  23. Coloring Outside the Lines July 12, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    Sorry to hear about your well- this drought is affecting so many, in so many different ways.

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      Really, I am still one of the lucky ones. That was really obvious as I was traveling to the east.

  24. Anita July 12, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    I love the photo of Spike. So cute. Praying for more rain for you and all the other farmers who are suffering this summer (not to mention those dealing with fires too).

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      It really has been a horrible hot dry summer for so many.

  25. Candy C. July 12, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    I hope your corn continues to hang in there and that ya’ll get some much-needed rain. Also hoping for rain for those east of you. All your critters look to have made it through your absence without any issues, even Naughty Rooster Boy! 😉

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

      The animals did quite well without me. 🙂 Of course, I probably missed them more than they missed me.

  26. alissa July 12, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    I live in Nebraska. No water here! My husband has been complaining of the peppers and tomatoes not growing well. It’s too hot. Our corn and potatoes seem to be doing alright though.

    • Teresa July 12, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

      I’ve been watering the tomatoes and peppers here about every night. Hope we all get some rain very soon.

  27. Gattina July 13, 2012 at 12:40 am #

    Besides the work of course I think you live in eternal holidays ! Surrounded by beautiful nature and such cute animals !

    • Teresa July 13, 2012 at 12:42 am #

      It is a lot of work, but it is totally worth it!

  28. Jen July 13, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    It is kinda scary to leave the animals in the care of others… I’m the also the main caretaker of my animals, my family wouldnt know what to do if I left… thats not a good thing, lol. Ooo I sure my poor animals would get water and food… just not the way I do it 😉

    • Teresa July 13, 2012 at 8:17 am #

      It’s easy to feed and water. The hard part is knowing personalities to make sure each one is feeling well and the little “extras” they get. I was very lucky to have some great help while I was gone.

  29. Judie July 13, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    Theresa, your photos are wonderful. The draught around the country is just so sad. So many farmers are suffering!

    You should teach that dog to use the sweeper!!

    • Teresa July 13, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      It really was heartbreaking to drive through the countryside and see the effects of the drought. I also went through the areas devastated by storms. It was really an eye opening drive.

  30. Sue Anderson July 13, 2012 at 10:43 am #

    Hope you all get some rain soon. Drought is so hard to deal with, and those fires have been devastating to so many.

    “/

    • Teresa July 13, 2012 at 11:07 am #

      It’s really bad when you’re grateful that you’re just dealing with the drought and not the storms and wildfires on top of it. Hopefully our weather pattern will get back to normal.

  31. Pondside July 14, 2012 at 10:25 am #

    Sometimes, when one has animals, it’s a toss up whether it’s worth it to go away. I think that, with the way your work, you need a holiday now and again! I’m glad that all the creatures were well on your return. Such a worry about the water though!

    • Teresa July 14, 2012 at 11:06 am #

      It was a great escape. I’m sure we’ll make it through this drought eventually.

  32. Jenny Matlock July 25, 2012 at 11:53 am #

    It sounds like a harrowing time while you were gone.

    How happy that you have someone excellent to care for things.

    These dry conditions are getting frightening, aren’t they?

    I can’t imagine the burden farmers carry with the lack of rain.

    Thank you for linking this.

    I am going to check out the Feral blog right now.

    A+

    • Teresa July 25, 2012 at 11:55 am #

      It is really scary how dry we are. They are saying it’s the worst since the Dust Bowl era. I’m still hopefully to get something for a harvest.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.