New Life

25 May

It seems like we’re certainly in a strech of events that bring home the real meaning of the Circle of Life.  For the first time in the nine years I’ve had goats, I’ve lost one to a predator.  Something attacked and killed Millie’s kid Miranda.  We are all so sad about that, but the very next morning brought new life to the farm again.

This little gosling was hatched and is so very loved and protected by a whole bevy of adult geese that it’s downright dangerous to walk into the barnyard.  Annie’s little buckling is also growing stronger.  We prepare for a whole new round of kids to be born. The Circle of Life continues.

Linking to Farm Photo Friday, Photo Friday, and Camera Critters.

44 Responses to “New Life”

  1. Barbara F. May 25, 2012 at 2:48 pm #

    Oh Teresa I feel so bad that little kid met with a painful death….hopefully she is at Rainbow’s Bridge. The little gosling is so adorable. I would love to purchase some of your photos to frame. Have you thought of doing that? Also is there a chart showing all the goats and who gave birth to whom? I really enjoy your kids (kidds?) xo

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

      I am actually working on setting up a store through Zazzle to sell my pictures. Feel free to suggest ones that you’d like. 🙂 Hopefully I’ll be able to announce it in the next week or so. I have yearly records and a kind of chart, but it’s really hard to do with the goats. My genealogy program doesn’t like it because my girls start having kids when they are too young (well, yeah in human years). I’ll have to think about making a chart somehow. Thanks for your suggestions and support.

  2. TexWisGirl May 25, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    sweet little yellow face! at least the others keep you going…

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 4:13 pm #

      It really is a circle. When we lose one or someone is growing old, there’s always new life. 🙂

  3. Jen May 25, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    The circle of life is amazing… Sorry about Miranda, that stinks.

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      It’s really upsetting because I’ve always thought of my pasture as being pretty safe. You can bet I was out there last night making sure everyone was up to the barnyard earlier than they wanted to be.

  4. Pat May 25, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Oh, I’m so sorry about Miranda.
    The photo of the little gosling is precious.

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      Thank you. I do think the goslings are adorable!

  5. Audrey May 25, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Oh, Teresa I am so very sorry to hear this, it’s a terrible thing to have happen. Did you happen to catch the predetor?this happened to Daisy and the dogs one day about 4 months ago, fortunately I came out in time and rushed her to doctor Tharp. She is ok now but It was a horrible experience. I feel so bad for you and Millie, is she ok? The Dogs by the way are no longer aloud out when my girls are out. It was a freak thing they were always out together but not anymore. I will be thinking of you. And praying the abundance of new life this summer will ease the pain of your loss.

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

      Millie is amazing! She has such strength and resilience that I admire her. I didn’t catch what did it. I’m guessing it was a coyote. My son might come out and try hunting about dusk. Hopefully it was a fluke and we don’t have any more problems. I am so glad Daisy came through the experience. My dogs don’t have access to where the goats are. I wish I could put the Great Pyrenees with them, but she prefers the pack (my other dog) than the livestock.

  6. m5son May 25, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Sorry to hear about Miranda.

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 4:17 pm #

      Thank you. It’s never easy to lose one of our kids.

  7. Candy C. May 25, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    It was so sad to read about Miranda. I hope it was just a fluke and doesn’t become a problem! I told my little goaties to be extra careful because you just never know.
    The little gosling is precious! 🙂

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

      My son might get to do some hunting~coyotes in the pasture, and I know I have a raccoon in the barn.

  8. Mimi Foxmorton May 25, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Beautiful. (and so true)
    xo

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      It is truly a circle of life and death.

  9. Sharon Qualls May 25, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    Sorry about Miranda, he was a sweet little goatie. 😦
    Love the gosling, why do they have to turn into geese?

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      It’s either turn into geese or become raccoon snacks. Too bad they couldn’t stay cute and little and not be at such risk to be a snack.

  10. Alica May 25, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    I was sad to her about Miranda…and I’m glad there was a happy distraction for you! That gosling is so cute!

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      They are adorable. Unfortunately, I think I might have more distractions coming.

  11. farmer May 25, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    How sad…I hope your son finds that terrible beast that killed the poor baby.
    I parted with my geese a couple of months ago,my friend took them and they have two goslings hatched already!

    ps- my peacock earrings arrived today and they are more stunning in person then I could have imagined !!
    I’m in love with them, so thank you SO very much for making my day xo

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      Glad to hear the earrings arrived and you like them! Those geese are very prolific!

  12. Marigold and the Goatmother May 25, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    I read Isobelle’s tribute. I am SO very sorry and that has to be the worst way to lose one. Do you have any idea what the predator was? On the upside, the gosling is so very cute. True. The circle of life.

    • Teresa May 25, 2012 at 10:43 pm #

      I would guess it was a coyote. I feel so bad because it’s always been safe out there.

  13. Ozarks Goat Girl May 26, 2012 at 12:08 am #

    Oh, Miranda! I am so sorry. I will miss reading about that little boy with the funny name. I do not like the end of the circle of life.

    • Teresa May 26, 2012 at 6:47 am #

      It’s hard, but because it’s a circle, there’s always new life as well. It can’t replace the one we lost, but it does help to heal the heart and give the bigger perspective.

  14. Marie May 26, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    What a darling little gosling!

    • Teresa May 26, 2012 at 6:49 am #

      I do think they are the most adorable little creatures.

  15. Jottings From Jersey May 26, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    That is such a sweet photo! I am very sorry to read that Miranda was killed.

    • Teresa May 26, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      Thanks. As much as I hate it, that is a part of farm life.

  16. notesoflifeuk May 26, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Awww, sooo sweet! 🙂

    • Teresa May 26, 2012 at 10:56 am #

      The babies really are sweet, but their parents~not so much!

  17. Linda May 26, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    So sad that you lost Miranda…but glad you have new life…thank you for sharing your photos of life on the farm!

    • Teresa May 26, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

      Even though we have to deal with those sad losses sometimes, I do love my life on the farm. Glad you stopped by.

  18. Kay L. Davies May 26, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    What a precious little gosling, Teresa. I’m so sorry about the predator, though. I’ve lived in the country more than once, and know these things happen, but I know how you love your goats, too.
    K

    • Teresa May 26, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

      I think the thing that is so hard is I’ve had goats for nine years. After that long you kind of forget those things can happen.

  19. Eileen May 26, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    The gosling is so cute, great capture!

    • Teresa May 26, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      Thank you. They are truly adorable!

  20. ibeati May 26, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    mighty sweet

    • Teresa May 26, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

      I don’t think there’s much sweeter than those little goslings.

  21. SichtBar May 27, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    I´m sorry about Miranda. But thats what we have to deal with when we have animals. And for the same time what a joy to see the litte cute duckling. So sweet and well protected.

    • Teresa May 28, 2012 at 6:35 am #

      Nothing is going to get to that little one! 🙂

  22. JessicaWCassidy (@wifetoalineman) June 2, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    awww! what a very sweet ducky 🙂 so cuteeeeeeeeeeeeeeee 🙂 Dropping by from last weeks Camera Critters

    http://www.kidsnpet.com/2012/05/one-of-our-koi-fish/

    • Teresa June 2, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

      Thanks. The goslings are the most adorable I think!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.