Archive | 2:32 pm

Zucchini Chips

16 May

As I think about planting the garden, I imagine what a bumper crop of zucchini squash I’m going to have and wonder what the heck I’m going to do with all of them.  I decided to try making zucchini chips.  I started by getting a food dehydrator.  It’s not a fancy one.  It’s only got one temperature setting~on.

For a test run, I bought a couple of medium zucchini.

I didn’t bother peeling them; I just sliced them very thin.

My first batch was two zucchini sliced and put in a bowl with a tablespoon of olive oil

and a mixture of herbs and spices.  It was an old recipe I had made, but I don’t even remember where I got it.  You could use any combination of herbs you wanted to try.  I used about a tablespoon.

I tossed the zucchini and made sure they were all coated with the oil and herbs.

I placed them in a single layer on the dehydrator trays.  The two zucchini filled four trays.

Turn on the dehydrator and it will do the rest of the work.

I did rotate the trays a couple of times to make sure they dried evenly.  It took between 4 and 5 hours for them to dehydrate.

I was very pleased with how they turned out~a bit tangy and almost sweet.

I did a second batch of 2 medium zucchini, a scant tablespoon of olive oil and a package of ranch dressing mix.

It doesn’t look like it is very much to coat all that zucchini, but they do get smaller, so it will be plenty.

This one was amazing!

My dehydrator’s book did recommend storing them in an airtight container and placing them in the refrigerator, so they don’t draw moisture.

They really do shrink, so I think it will be good if I have a ton of zucchini in the garden this summer.  I’m thinking I should try some with a hot sauce for a bit more kick.

Linking this to Jenny Matlock’s Alphabe-Thursday.  It’s hard to believe, but we’re finishing this round~the letter Z.

Linking to Rural Thursday hosted by Nancy at A Rural Journal and Lisa at Two Bears Farm.