Getting MJ Ready to Move

21 Oct

Now that the corn has been harvested (and Maxine will be home soon), I need to get MJ ready to move into the cornfield.

There’s quite a bit of corn left out there that they will enjoy eating.

Since they are ruminants, I need to make sure he’s getting a bit of corn along so that his system is used to it.  It’s very important to make sure ruminants don’t have sudden changes to their diet.

In case you can’t tell MJ enjoys the little snack to get him ready.  I also went and shut all the gates to the cornfield.

I also got the cattle shed ready by closing off the part where their hay is stored.  Hopefully, they won’t decide to eat it before I tell them it’s okay.  That’s part of their winter home below.

Norma Jean was scheduled to be weaned today, but she is still close to her mom.  In a couple of days, Maxine should be home, and then I’ll move them both into their winter home.

Linking to Homestead Barn Hop.  I’m also linking to Macro Monday even though these are more close ups (it’s hard to do a macro with MJ because of his size).  Hope that’s okay.

26 Responses to “Getting MJ Ready to Move”

  1. TexWisGirl October 21, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    such a big cute boy. i can’t wait for maxine to come home to keep him company.

    • Teresa October 21, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

      He’ll be quite happy!

  2. Alica October 21, 2012 at 7:43 pm #

    I’m anxious to see how they react to seeing each other again. Will MJ be able to kick up his heels with excitement?! 🙂

    • Teresa October 21, 2012 at 7:54 pm #

      I wouldn’t rule it out, but I’m guessing her ear will be dripping from all his kisses. 🙂

  3. palominoblue October 21, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    I love his speckled nose!

    • Teresa October 21, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

      I do too! With the white, we always said he had a permanent milk mustache.

  4. Tammy October 21, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    Awww, MJ is so cute! I have a weak spot for cows 🙂

    • Teresa October 21, 2012 at 9:40 pm #

      He’s awfully sweet. He truly holds a place in my heart~a big one.

  5. faye October 22, 2012 at 3:12 am #

    Snacking MJ made me laugh. I wonder if he appreciates all the trouble you go to? Such a lot of work and planning that goes on on the farm at this time of the year. Hope everything goes smoothly for you.

    • Teresa October 22, 2012 at 6:55 am #

      I know he appreciates the corn and the shed with the water tank inside it (and no llama to spit on him). 🙂

  6. Herding Cats October 22, 2012 at 4:58 am #

    Wonderful pictures and what a handsome cow.

    • Teresa October 22, 2012 at 6:55 am #

      I think he’s pretty awesome!

  7. Pat October 22, 2012 at 7:55 am #

    That muzzle looks so soft and sweet!

    • Teresa October 22, 2012 at 8:03 am #

      His muzzle yes, but you don’t want his rough tongue licking you!

  8. Coloring Outside the Lines October 22, 2012 at 8:10 am #

    He’s a big fella! Hope your hay holds out for the winter.

    • Teresa October 22, 2012 at 9:08 am #

      I have way more hay than they need, but I would like them not to waste it. They sometimes think it would be good bedding. Go figure.

  9. emily October 22, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    It’s hard to me to grasp that winter is right around the corner. He looks like he enjoyed that treat!

    • Teresa October 22, 2012 at 10:22 am #

      I haven’t seen him move that fast in quite some time! He does like his corn. 🙂

  10. Gunilla October 22, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

    He’s a handsome fellow!

    • Teresa October 22, 2012 at 12:08 pm #

      I might be prejudiced as his adoptive mom, but I think he’s incredibly handsome!

  11. Candy C. October 22, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    I always enjoy seeing your bovine friends! I know MJ will be glad to see his “family” again! That ear of corn looks so tiny in his big ol’ mouth!! 🙂

    • Teresa October 22, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

      They weren’t very big, but he can get a huge ear in his mouth all at once. I sometimes have to break them in half for Maxine. 🙂

  12. Donna Heber October 22, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    Hi Teresa,

    Wonderful photos of MJ. It will be nice for him to have some company. I love how the sky and clouds look in your pictures. So peaceful.

    • Teresa October 22, 2012 at 1:51 pm #

      It really is peaceful back in the pasture. He’ll be very happy to have his woman back.

  13. Mimi Foxmorton October 25, 2012 at 6:20 am #

    MJ just makes me want to snuggle up to her and take a nap. 🙂

    • Teresa October 25, 2012 at 6:55 am #

      He is awfully snuggly. Just don’t let that giant sandpaper tongue lick you. Ouch!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.