Friday’s Hunt v2.9

26 Aug

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week, the topics will be:  Starts with J, Week’s Favorite, and surprise.  I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. I am crazy busy on the farm right now, but I will make sure to visit all participants.  Without further ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with I:  Instructions for roasted tomato sauce.  I was asked for more instructions on how to do the roasted tomatoes.  I have to give credit to Claire because she was kind enough to tell me how to do it.  I did make a minor adjustment or so, but it’s Claire who deserves credit.

Wash, core and remove any bad spots from the tomatoes.  Then coarsely chunk them into glass baking dishes.  Because it heats the whole house, I prefer to do as many as I can at one time.  I personally add onion, green pepper, and garlic.  You can add whatever you want.  Drizzle the tomatoes with olive oil and put them in a 400*F oven.  Bake it for three hours.  You will have to make sure to carefully stir them to keep the tops from burning.

tomato sauce_4277ews

tomato sauce_4280ews

Then you just put them through the colander.  If you don’t mind the seeds and skins staying in there, you can just put it through a blender.  Then I add seasoning to taste.  For me, it’s some oregano, basil and more garlic.

roasted tomatoes4281ews

Then it’s ready to freeze or can.  I can mine for space reasons, so I add 1/4 tsp. citric acid (1/2 tsp./quart) and process them in a water bath for 35 minutes for pints (40 minutes for quarts).

Week’s Favorite:  I want to thank everyone who has inquired about Cutie.  She’s doing quite well!  The swelling is down and the infection is gone.  The knee still doesn’t bend well, but I’m sure it will take a lot of work to get it back in shape and build muscles.

Cutie Pie Goodberry

Cutie Pie Goodberry

She’s even managed to get in the patio chair for a nap!

kid in chair4660ews

Pink: Going back to work has really taken time away from the farm.  I am going back to more butterfly pictures from earlier in the month for pink.  They just love those pink flowers! It better be close enough to pink because that’s all I’ve got.

Monarch

Monarch

Thanks so much!

Now it’s your turn:

23 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v2.9”

  1. Ralph Villers August 26, 2016 at 7:35 pm #

    That sauce looks divine! Cutie Pie is so disarmingly cute 🙂 The pink flowers that the beautiful butterfly is hovering about is a perfect pink. All s nice…I’m happy to be back!

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 7:34 am #

      Thanks. It’s good to have you back!

  2. vem030956 August 26, 2016 at 7:38 pm #

    Wish I could can or freeze..but don’t have the space to do it. So glad Cutie Pie is doing well and I really love your butterfly and pink flower.

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 7:35 am #

      It does take a bit of space. I’m lucky to have shelves for storage in my basement.

  3. Tony McGurk August 26, 2016 at 9:58 pm #

    That tomato sauce sure looks good Therese. I love photos of goats on things, they just don’t seem content with the ground & always seem to want to be up on something. I saw one video on Youtube of 2 Goats jumping around on top of a lying down Bull. The Bull didn’t seem to care less. Wonderfully sharp & clear shot of the beautiful Butterfly.

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 7:35 am #

      Thanks. When I had my old steer, the kids would bounce on him. He was a saint.

  4. pattisj August 26, 2016 at 11:11 pm #

    The sauce looks tasty! Glad Cutie Pie is on the mend. It looks pink to me!

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 7:36 am #

      This is how I’ll always make my sauce now. Love it! I’m glad Cutie is finally doing better again.

  5. Patty Leonard Woodland August 26, 2016 at 11:14 pm #

    I’m so glad Cutie is doing better. She is such a little sweetie pie.

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 7:37 am #

      Me too. She’s a keeper, so this has been really stressful for me. I’m hopefully, she’ll get full use of the knee back.

  6. Margaret Birding For Pleasure August 27, 2016 at 12:23 am #

    that tomato sauce looks good and glad Cuti is doing well now. Love the shot of her on the chair and that gorgeous butterfly. Thanks for hosting and have a wonderful weekend.

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 7:37 am #

      Thanks, Margaret. Hope you have a great week too.

  7. Gattina August 27, 2016 at 2:29 am #

    A beautiful butterfly ! Cutie looks like a Diva laying on her couch ! Very elegant, lol !

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 7:38 am #

      Cutie does have certain Diva tendencies. LOL

  8. Jim August 27, 2016 at 6:59 am #

    Cutie has my vote for president. It will be interesting how fast and how much her leg muscles strengthen. It took me six months back when I was twenty. Your roasted tomato sauce looks really nice. Mine can’t have seed, how do you get them out?
    ..

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 7:33 am #

      I have a vintage thing that I use to take the seeds and skins off. They still make them. Food Mill

  9. suz August 27, 2016 at 10:07 am #

    yee-haw. cutie’s legs look so much better and glad to hear she’s clambering about. and thanks for the recipe – tomatoes are piling up around here. –suz in ohio

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 8:51 pm #

      I am really glad Cutie’s doing better. Hope you try the recipe and enjoy it!

  10. Su-sieee! Mac August 27, 2016 at 7:27 pm #

    Glad to read that Cutie is doing better. Good for her getting up on that chair. Can only mean wonderful healing going on. Your roasted tomato sauce looks yummy.

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 8:51 pm #

      It really is a relief that she’s doing better. Now if she would quit thinking I’m going to give her another shot…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Hunt “I” | Old Codger Photography - August 26, 2016

    […] Linked to Friday’s Hunt […]

  2. Friday’s Hunt v2.9 | brokenbarnfarm - August 27, 2016

    […] for joining me for another weeks Friday Hunt. Thank you to Teresa of Eden Hills for hosting. Don’t forget to click on the link and check out some of the other participants […]

  3. Friday’s Hunt#2.9  | Books, Dreams, Life - August 28, 2016

    […] in with Eden Hills for Friday’s Hunt. Sorry for this for being […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.