They’ve Got to Go

27 Aug

I have to get rid of my roosters.  Well, two of them have to go.  Rodney (behind the peacock) and one other have the bad habit of attacking me.  I’m to the point I go in the chicken coop as seldom as possible.

Peacock Rooster 4849ews

It needs cleaned out.  I need to get ready for winter.

Chickens 4837ews

I can’t do any of those things because the stupid roosters attack.  I will see if the one below will settle down when the other two go.  He likes to act tough, but he’s never actually attacked me.  I will give him a chance.

Rooster 4865ews

It’s not fair to everyone else though.  You can see the chicken wire that has come off the outside pen.  I can’t put it back up because it’s a several hour job, and they will attack me.  I’m pretty sure that’s why the neighbor’s cat managed to kill two of my hens.  Fay (the chicken in the background above) was caught in the wire. She wasn’t nearly as caught as she thought she was because she freed herself as soon as I got close to help her.  The roosters have to go.

19 Responses to “They’ve Got to Go”

  1. Patty Leonard Woodland August 27, 2016 at 8:28 pm #

    Time for chicken and dumplings! Our leghorns were attacking me but I had started feeding the New Hampshire red rooster bits of apple. Now he protects me. He runs those leghorns off. Heh. I guess he thinks I’m one of his hens.

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 8:50 pm #

      This might be the one time I wish I weren’t a vegetarian. LOL I had a fourth rooster, and he protected me. These guys are jerks (and that’s the nicest thing I’ve called them in months).

  2. hedgewitch August 27, 2016 at 9:08 pm #

    We are finally roosterless–they weren’t attacking us so much as mauling the hens–I mean viciously for no reason, they would run all the way across the yard to attack some poor hen,and rip her feathers off. They went away to the neighbors, who are not vegetarians. 😉 Life is very peaceful now.

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 9:20 pm #

      I chose this breed of rooster because they are small bodied (better for the girls) and I’d never seen one that wasn’t nice. These guys are horrible though. I can’t go into the coop without something in my hand for protection.

  3. Margaret August 27, 2016 at 9:37 pm #

    Oh dear you can’t up at as you say you better let them go than being attacked

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 9:51 pm #

      I really am at the point I don’t have a choice but to get rid of them. I hate to. They are beautiful birds, but I just can’t keep them here.

  4. Coloring Outside the Lines August 27, 2016 at 9:54 pm #

    My daughter was attacked by a rooster when she was little. Scared me to death- he jumped on her back and dug in with his claws. She wasn’t hurt, but I’ve never forgotten that and to this day I am afraid of roosters.

    • Teresa August 27, 2016 at 10:13 pm #

      I’ve had some naughty roosters before, but most have been fine. These are evil. One tried attacking my face. I don’t know why they’re so mean.

  5. Jeanne August 28, 2016 at 12:46 am #

    I’m with you Teresa! Those birds are definitely too scary! What a shame! Who on earth will get the job of catching them?

    • Teresa August 28, 2016 at 8:49 am #

      I’ll end up catching them. Hopefully, I’ll have someone to watch my back while I do it. LOL

  6. Eileen Wise August 28, 2016 at 7:34 am #

    Oh wow, I am sorry. I hope you were not hurt badly. BAD Rooster.. Happy Sunday, enjoy your new week ahead!

    • Teresa August 28, 2016 at 8:49 am #

      Couple of spur marks, but nothing too serious. Of course, I don’t go in there without something in my hand to defend myself.

  7. Tuesday August 29, 2016 at 4:43 am #

    We got rid of one of our nasty roosters yesterday. He will make a fine Coq au vin!!

  8. Jim August 29, 2016 at 3:21 pm #

    Roosters used to chase me when I was small. You are the boss, they need to know that. I’d try a rolled up newspaper and when he or the other one comes, whap it really hard against your leg, then pretend to attack him with it. Most animals remember the newspaper even when you don’t have it. You might need to what him, I did Adi when she crossed the road. Scares the BJ our of them, she never crossed again. Not even to chase a squirrel. I watched her once watching a squirrel, most times I didn’t temp her.
    ..

    • Teresa August 29, 2016 at 3:49 pm #

      I really have tried with these guys. They need to go.

  9. pattisj August 30, 2016 at 10:59 pm #

    With the two roosters gone, the other may step in to take their place since they no longer are a threat. But, you never know. Hopefully he’ll be on good behavior!

    • Teresa August 31, 2016 at 9:35 am #

      He’s already upped his game. I am just looking for a humane way to get rid of all three. Makes me sad because I do like rooster’s crowing in the morning, and they are quite handsome.

      • pattisj August 31, 2016 at 1:55 pm #

        They are beautiful. There is something special about the crowing that meets us deep inside, like the assurance the sun will rise again.
        I had a small mixed aquarium at one time. One of the angelfish hid in the hollow log at the bottom as the other was so mean. When the vicious fish was removed, the hider came out and repeated the behavior toward the other fish. I finally got a tiny African frog that grew and grew and ate them all! That was not intentional, but that’s life. 😉

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.