Friday’s Hunt v1.17

22 Apr

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  I’m excited for week seventeen!  It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week, the topics will be:  Starts with R, Week’s Favorite, and texture.  I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. Without further ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with Q:  I was frantically wandering the farm trying to find the letter Q when I had an epiphany–the windmill!  Surely that looks like the letter Q.

Windmill Q_5533ews

I also have our wonderful herd queen, Minnie Pearl.  I love this girl so much.

Minnie Pearl Saanen

Minnie Pearl Saanen

It’s really hard for me to believe that she (and Meg) are twelve.  Minnie was the first goat I ever milked.  She was always so easy.  No training. No fuss or muss.  She just let me milk her.

Herd Queen_5600ews

Week’s Favorite:  Of course, I have a strict rule about yard goats, but I just didn’t want to see the young bucks smashed by the big boys, so Sam and Xerxes are in the yard.  There’s just so much I love in that picture: goats, green grass, flowering fruit trees, the heady scent of their blooms mingling with the magnolia, the clothes line for great smelling laundry.  I think it’s perfect for saying “Happy Earth Day!”

Xerxes

Xerxes

At Rest:  For some reason, the boys like this brick thing in front of my deck.  They were at rest when I got home the other day, and I just had to take a picture.

Sam and Xerxes

Sam and Xerxes

Now it’s your turn!

I’m also sharing with Random 5 Friday, Fun Friday Favorites, Willy Nilly Friday, Camera Critters, and Saturday’s Critters.

45 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v1.17”

  1. Cloudia April 22, 2016 at 7:26 pm #

    Q-uite nice!

    • Linda aka Crafty Gardener April 22, 2016 at 7:37 pm #

      I had to stretch my imagination to find a Q this week too, you found a good one, I’ll have to check my windmill and see if I see a Q there, never thought of looking there. Love the photo goats at rest.

      • Teresa April 22, 2016 at 8:59 pm #

        I’m lucky to always have a herd queen for this letter (and a Xerxes for X). 😉

    • Teresa April 22, 2016 at 8:59 pm #

      Haha! Thanks, Cloudia!

  2. Jeanne April 22, 2016 at 7:39 pm #

    Ahh! Sam and Xerxes are so Q-Ute!

    • Teresa April 22, 2016 at 8:59 pm #

      They are. They are such funny boys. They always act like I’m going to kill them, and I have no idea why.

  3. Ralph Villers April 22, 2016 at 8:16 pm #

    I love your ‘Q’ quivering in the wind! Minnie is true royalty, she looks so dignified and refined, a true treasure. The kids look so busy learning they roles on the farm, and so inquisitive in your yard – the brickwork their latest in a long line of discovery 🙂

    • Teresa April 22, 2016 at 9:00 pm #

      Thanks. Minnie truly is a queen!

  4. tomthebackroadstraveller April 22, 2016 at 8:30 pm #

    Minnie Pearl Saanen’s beard is almost as long as mine.

    • Teresa April 22, 2016 at 9:00 pm #

      She’s got an impressive beard and an equally impressive rack. That’s my girl!

  5. Judith @ Lavender Cottage April 22, 2016 at 9:46 pm #

    Well, I wasn’t too tired tonight to see the Q from your windmill, very clever! I know how I feel about loving and protecting our one and only dog, can’t imagine what it’s like to spread the love and concern over all the goats, Llenny and everyone else.
    Thanks for hosting.

    • Teresa April 22, 2016 at 9:55 pm #

      Some days it can be a bit overwhelming, especially as my herd grows older, but I do adore them!

  6. Marie-AZ April 22, 2016 at 9:55 pm #

    Love the goats in the yard. That windmill was so neat too, as well as your close-up portrait shots!

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 7:29 am #

      Thanks, Marie. I love my windmill!

  7. TexWisGirl April 22, 2016 at 10:06 pm #

    really cute ‘earth day’ shot. and sweet minnie… loved your Q find!

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 7:29 am #

      Xerxes is adorable, but he his the wildest little thing. He gets that from his mother.

  8. Margaret Birding For Pleasure April 23, 2016 at 12:48 am #

    a Q -uiniessentila post. Love Minnie and that was a great find on the farm for Q. Thanks for hosting and I hope you have a wondeful weekend.

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 7:29 am #

      Thanks, Margaret. I really enjoy hosting Friday’s Hunt. Thanks for joining each week.

  9. Gattina April 23, 2016 at 2:01 am #

    Not bad ! indeed the windmill looks like a Q ! I am sure that your goats love the bricks because they are warm ! All pictures are so cute !

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 7:30 am #

      Thanks, Gattina! They like to be up on things too. They love the picnic table in the barnyard.

  10. Mascha April 23, 2016 at 2:16 am #

    Lovely series, but the last photo is the cutest!
    Have a nice weekend

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 7:30 am #

      Thanks, Mascha. I thought they looked adorable there.

  11. Eileen Wise April 23, 2016 at 5:35 am #

    Hello, your Q photo is great! Your Minnie is a sweetie. Cute goats and photos. Thanks for hosting, Have a happy weekend!

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 7:31 am #

      Thanks, Eileen! Happy weekend to you too!

  12. Alica April 23, 2016 at 7:10 am #

    Great idea for Q! I’m still thinking on that one. (I missed P last week, so I think I’ll add it into my post this week as long as i”m not breaking any rules! 🙂 )

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 7:20 am #

      I think that’s a perfect plan!

  13. Brenda @ It's A Beautiful Life April 23, 2016 at 6:09 pm #

    My first time here … and I’m so glad I found your blog! I love your goat photos. Minnie Pearl the Queen Goat. Your windmill Q. And those lads at rest. Oh my, how perfect is that!

    Thanks for a fun visit.

    Wishing you a beautiful weekend…
    Brenda

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 9:06 pm #

      Glad you enjoyed your visit. I hope you’ll come back again!

  14. Latane Barton April 23, 2016 at 6:37 pm #

    It looks like a fun meme. May have to try it out soon.

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 9:06 pm #

      I’ve really enjoyed it! Hope to see you joining in.

  15. Eileen Wise April 23, 2016 at 7:24 pm #

    Hello, I always enjoy seeing your cute goats. Thank you for linking up and sharing your post. Happy Saturday, enjoy your weekend!

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

      Thanks, Eileen. You too!

  16. pattisj April 24, 2016 at 2:09 am #

    That makes the perfect Q! Those boys look good resting out there. Handsome fellas. You are blessed to have a Queen and Xerxes to use those letters!

    • Teresa April 24, 2016 at 10:02 am #

      I used to have to name a baby with an X name each year, but now that I kept Xerxes, I’m set! LOL

  17. Snap April 24, 2016 at 8:06 am #

    Maybe the bricks are warm and that’s what your boys like???? !!!! Or they just taste good….! Always fun to see your goats and yes — Happy Earth Day! Have a great week.

    • Teresa April 24, 2016 at 10:03 am #

      The goats always like to find silly places that they can curl up in.

  18. sandy1943 April 24, 2016 at 9:58 am #

    all friends special

  19. artmusedog April 25, 2016 at 9:51 am #

    always so adorable ~ ‘your kids’ and very creative photography on your blog ~ beautiful!

    Happy Week to you ~ ^_^

    • Teresa April 25, 2016 at 1:07 pm #

      Thanks, Carol. Hope you have a good week too!

  20. tanya breese April 28, 2016 at 12:57 pm #

    that is the most clever Q!! i love your goats, they are so cute and i love how xerxes is resting his little chin right on the brick…my dog ozzy rests his head in the strangest places sometimes 😀 thank you so much for linking to willy nilly! hope to see you again soon!

    • Teresa April 28, 2016 at 8:02 pm #

      Thanks, Tanya. I couldn’t resist taking a picture of the boys looking so relaxed.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Hunt | A New Day Dawns - April 24, 2016

    […] Rest in the Vitex, probably waiting for someone to fill the peanut feeder. I’ll link up to Eden Hills blog before the cut-off, but we have a birthday girl to celebrate until […]

  2. Friday’s Hunt 1.17 | brokenbarnfarm - April 24, 2016

    […] you for joining me for another Hunt. Thank you to Teresa at Eden Hills for hosting each week. If you have a chance, stop over and visit all the Friday’s Hunt […]

  3. Day of Rest | Midnight Calico Farm - April 24, 2016

    […] Sharing with Friday’s Hunt hosted by Teresa at Eden Hills. […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.