Scavenger Hunt Open House

23 Apr

My town is an amazing small town!

Town sign_5697ews

Not only do I love that you have a farm just inside the city limits (or more than one), but they are super supportive of my farm just south of the town.

Barn_5698ews

I do appreciate all of their support, and I hope they like the products and services that I provide.

soap room_5198ews

Last weekend, I started milking half of Clover. Really.  She lost her buckling, and her doe will still only suck from one side, so I’m milking the other one out.  She’s figured out this is the entrance to the new milk room.

door_5712ews

In these two glass jars is one day’s worth of milking one side of her out.  I think that’s pretty good!

Milk_5693ews

I am using this milk to make homemade goat’s milk lotion (and freezing some for more soap) to sell.

oil and lotion_5706ews

lotion_5694ews

I’m really excited about making lotion, and I’ll have more new items coming to my soap room.  I’m going to do another open farm this coming Saturday.

Soap Room_5199ews

Hopefully, I stay healthy and feel like it’s a good idea to promote it a bit more this time.  Hopefully, I can do this every weekend once I’m done teaching for the summer.

If you want, there’s still time to join in Friday’s Hunt.  This week’s items are at the top of my sidebar.

I’m sharing with Scavenger Hunt Sunday (items in bold), Weekend Reflections, and The Barn Collective.

24 Responses to “Scavenger Hunt Open House”

  1. Jeanne April 23, 2016 at 8:59 pm #

    That looks like quite a bit of milk for one side of only one little goat lady. Seems odd that her doeling only wants to suck from one side!.

    I really like your first two photos!

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

      It’s because the kids will sometimes go to the same side, and now that her brother is gone, she is still just going to the same side.

  2. brokenbarn April 23, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

    Because we love your products and I can’t wait to try the lotion!

    • Teresa April 23, 2016 at 9:08 pm #

      Thanks, Jen! Up next is my bug repellent lotion bars. 😉

      • brokenbarn April 24, 2016 at 8:34 am #

        I am so excited about those! I have been telling everyone!

      • Teresa April 24, 2016 at 8:49 am #

        Thanks!

  3. islandrambles April 23, 2016 at 10:14 pm #

    I think it is a lovely idea to make your creams using the goat milk! A bug repellent would also be wonderful.

    • Teresa April 24, 2016 at 10:01 am #

      Thanks. I thought a lotion bar bug repellent was a great idea. Hope it works as well as it sounds.

  4. Margaret April 24, 2016 at 1:19 am #

    Your products looks really nice displayed in the photo and is the lotion for the body, face or what? Great tams for your meme. Hope you are having a lovely weekend

    • Teresa April 24, 2016 at 10:01 am #

      Thanks! The lotion would work for anything, but it’s probably best for hands, arms, and legs.

  5. pattisj April 24, 2016 at 2:15 am #

    I didn’t realize Clover lost her little buckling. He seemed to be doing well. Hoping your Open Farm plans work out well for you.

    • Teresa April 24, 2016 at 10:03 am #

      Her kids both were sick when they were born with a bacterial infection that attacks the brain. Sadly, he was too far for the antibiotics to help. I do hope her girl will make it.

      • pattisj April 24, 2016 at 11:32 am #

        I hope so, too.

  6. Eileen Wise April 24, 2016 at 7:29 am #

    Hello, it is great you can use your own goat’s milk to make the lotion. I wish you good luck on your next open farm! Happy Sunday, enjoy your new week ahead!

    • Teresa April 24, 2016 at 10:03 am #

      I am really excited about the lotion! My mom tried it and decided it was pretty amazing!

  7. tomthebackroadstraveller April 24, 2016 at 10:28 am #

    I’m so glad that I live in an area with many farms, both large and smal. Thank Teresa for joining in this week and I hope to see you again.

    • Teresa April 24, 2016 at 2:50 pm #

      I always love barns, but I figure you’d get tired of me always sharing mine. I was happy to sneak in a barn photo that wasn’t mine.

  8. MaryBeth April 24, 2016 at 12:15 pm #

    Quite a lot of milk from only one side. We used to have Pygoras but no more. Neat to have. Love your tail count—good idea. Your lotions sound wonderful.
    MB

    • Teresa April 24, 2016 at 2:51 pm #

      My goats don’t give near as much as some full-sized diary goats, but Clover is only half dairy, so I thought she did quite well.

  9. Lea April 24, 2016 at 2:34 pm #

    Small towns are the best!

  10. Ellen April 25, 2016 at 4:18 pm #

    A very nice barn. Glad you support each other…

    • Teresa April 25, 2016 at 7:47 pm #

      It really is a pretty amazing little town. Of course, I’ve lived here almost all of my life.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Shoes | Eden Hills - April 25, 2016

    […] post is brought to you by Song-ography, old shoes, and Kenny Chesney’s No Shoes, No Shirt, No Problem.  I’m also sharing my shoes with Tuesday’s Treasures and Mosaic […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

