Friday’s Hunt v2.16

14 Oct

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt.  I want to thank everyone who joined in last week.  I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up.  It’s very simple.  Anyone can participate.  The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week, the topics will be:  Starts with Q, Week’s Favorite, and fall/spring.  I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. I am crazy busy with teaching and working on the farm right now, but I will make sure to visit all participants.  Without further ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with P: Obviously, I have pumpkins on my mind right now.  Here’s some of the pumpkins from my pumpkin patch being hauled up to sell.

pumpkins_5874ews

Week’s Favorite:  My favorite this week was finding the time to go for a walk in the pasture and enjoying a wide variety of birds.  I shared some earlier this week, but today, I’m sharing my shot of the bluebird being photobombed by the yellow rumped warbler.

bluebird and yellow rumped warbler

bluebird and yellow rumped warbler

Whole:  Well, it’s not quite the whole herd, but it’s pretty close.  There is a whole hickory tree just starting to turn golden.  I will admit, this time of year I wish I had a lot more trees that have brilliant colors.

goats-in-pasture_6064ews

Now it’s your turn!

17 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v2.16”

  1. tomthebackroadstraveller October 14, 2016 at 7:14 pm #

    Man, that corn is tall.

    • Teresa October 14, 2016 at 7:27 pm #

      That’s how we grow it in Iowa! 😉

  2. Gayle October 14, 2016 at 7:25 pm #

    Nice to see the herd behaving themselves but nearly as fun.

    • Gayle October 14, 2016 at 7:26 pm #

      ‘not’ nearly as fun.

  3. Jeanne October 14, 2016 at 8:03 pm #

    I enjoyed the picture of the bluebird and the yellow rumped warbler. The herd looks so peaceful! – What a nice change, eh?

  4. Jim October 14, 2016 at 8:05 pm #

    Nice looking pumpkins, good size variety. Are some of them pie pumpkins? Our daughter bought a bale of hay for her front entry decoration. Real hay from a roadside farmer. I can’t remember when I had a pumpkin pie made all the way from scratch.
    Your pasture is really pretty, a nice slope to the hill, good for sledding and practice for skiing. Iowa’s Mt. Crescent? That is where we would go if not Colorado.
    ..

    • Teresa October 14, 2016 at 8:23 pm #

      My pie pumpkins did not do well this year (weather and weeder geese). Those are all jack-o-lantern pumpkins.

  5. Patty Leonard Woodland October 14, 2016 at 9:08 pm #

    Our bluebirds are all gone. I can’t say as I blame them – it’s gotten quite chilly all of a sudden. Watching your herd is mixed for me today

    • Teresa October 14, 2016 at 9:37 pm #

      Oh. I am sorry. I hope all is well.

  6. Su-sieee! Mac October 14, 2016 at 9:36 pm #

    That’s a cool catch of the bluebird and the yellow warbler. That’s a lot of work, but lots of fun, no doubt, to offer a pumpkin patch to the public.

  7. Gattina October 15, 2016 at 1:51 am #

    what a cute colorful birdie ! Be happy that you don’t have more trees, in a few weeks they will look all naked !

  8. Jackie October 15, 2016 at 9:07 am #

    I love that first photo!

  9. Margaret Birding For Pleasure October 15, 2016 at 9:49 am #

    Great bounty of PUMPKINs on your PATCH and I love the bird. Thanks for hosting

  10. Ralph October 15, 2016 at 10:41 am #

    Ah, pumpkins are the perfect autumnal treat visually! I hope you sell them all. The meadow full of goats is just beautiful…

  11. pattisj October 15, 2016 at 6:32 pm #

    Those little warblers are fierce when it comes to territory!

  12. vem030956 October 16, 2016 at 1:33 pm #

    Love your pumpkins…and the goats…oh to be lying out there with them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Surprise! | Midnight Calico Farm - October 15, 2016

    […] Sharing with Friday’s Hunt hosted by Teresa at Eden Hills. […]

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.