Little Critters

28 Aug

This past week has reminded me that I need to have a whole week’s worth of blogging pictures since I don’t have time during the week now.  That means I went for a walk in the pasture and my yard Saturday afternoon.  Today, I’m sharing some of the little things I found.  The bee was enjoying the thistles that my yard goats are too short to eat.

Bee 4801ews

The swallowtails are still enjoying the thistles too.

swallowtail 5031ews

This spider was in the garden.  I used to hate them (mostly because I’d walk into their webs), but now I appreciate their beauty and all the bugs they eat.

spider collage

I captured my first buckeye of the year!  It’s perfect!

Buckeye 4688ews

Then there’s the fritillary.

Fritillary 4772ews

This one was not so perfect.

Fritillary 4762ews

I don’t know how the admiral is even able to live and fly with all the damage to its wings.

admiral collage

I’ll save the rest of my walk for the rest of the week.

If you want to join me for Friday’s Hunt next week, I have the items listed at the top of my side bar.

12 Responses to “Little Critters”

  1. scotiaspinner August 28, 2016 at 7:18 pm #

    Love the butterflies and bees – they bring a whole different kind of beauty to the eye. That buckeye is just stunning! I, too, am not fond of walking into spider webs, but I still love the spiders – they have a lot of variety and play an important role in keeping down the biting bugs, so I let them be!

    • Teresa August 29, 2016 at 10:58 am #

      Thanks, Claire. It’s amazing how much more you can appreciate all creatures as you get older. Although, I don’t think I’ll ever appreciate the round worm.

  2. Jeanne August 28, 2016 at 7:40 pm #

    I love all the pictures! Even the raggedy butterflies! But my favorite has to be the black swallowtail.

    • Teresa August 29, 2016 at 10:59 am #

      I love the swallowtails. My favorites are the tiger swallowtails, but the black ones are pretty amazing too.

  3. TexWisGirl August 29, 2016 at 6:29 am #

    love the swallowtail. and love the garden spiders, too.

  4. Eileen Wise August 29, 2016 at 7:27 am #

    Beautiful butterflies and cool spider. Great captures. Happy Monday, enjoy your new week ahead!

    • Teresa August 29, 2016 at 10:59 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. Hope you have a good week too.

  5. Margaret Birding For Pleasure August 30, 2016 at 12:12 am #

    I especially love ethe butterfly images

    • Teresa August 30, 2016 at 12:22 pm #

      Thanks, Margaret.

  6. pattisj August 30, 2016 at 11:03 pm #

    I’ve seen some fairly-tattered butterflies still pollinating away! It’s rather amazing. You have lots of beauties!

    • Teresa August 31, 2016 at 9:35 am #

      They really are amazing.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

