The Good. The Random. The Fun.

14 Apr

The Good.  We got our rain!

rain on window

We got nearly four inches of rain from Saturday evening to Monday morning.  I could hear the ground breathing a sigh of relief.

rain puddle

The goats were not as happy with the long rain event, but they will truly enjoy all the green grass we have now.

animals in shelter from rain

I suppose I should mention that our temperatures went from 82*F (27.8* C) on Saturday evening just before the storms arrived to a frigid 27*F (-2.8* C) this morning.  That means the last of our precipitation came in the form of…snow.

April Snow

The Random.  When my son moved in, he knocked a piece off the arrowhead plant.  I stuck it in my blue ball quart jar.

plant in quart jar

Now it’s rooted and ready to be planted.

plant in quart jar

The Fun.  About the most fun Bob could find with our rainy weekend was a nap under the coffee table.

orange cat

I must say, that does sound like a good idea!

Sharing with The Good. The Random. The Fun., Mandarin Orange Monday, Blue Monday.

38 Responses to “The Good. The Random. The Fun.”

  1. Mary Ann April 14, 2014 at 12:18 pm #

    I love that you rooted the arrowhead! It looks great.

    We got a smattering of snow here, but are going below freezing tonight. So tired of the weather!

    • Teresa April 14, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

      We’re supposed to be below freezing here again tonight. I really am with the goats on wanting green grass. It’s so much better for them.

  2. TexWisGirl April 14, 2014 at 12:21 pm #

    well, i’m glad you had good rains before the snow came to make it all look clean. 🙂

    • Teresa April 14, 2014 at 12:23 pm #

      Yes. I’m glad it wasn’t all in the form of snow!

  3. Jeanne April 14, 2014 at 12:48 pm #

    Yay for rain!! BOO for the cold!!

    • Teresa April 14, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

      At least this time of year, it doesn’t last for long!

  4. Tamar Strauss-Benjamin April 14, 2014 at 1:24 pm #

    We got a ton of rain too – at last it wasn’t snow! Thanks for linking up and have a dry week!

    • Teresa April 14, 2014 at 2:03 pm #

      I was very grateful to get all that rain! Now I want warm to help the grass grow. Thanks so much for hosting.

  5. Sally April 14, 2014 at 2:36 pm #

    Hi Teresa,

    Awk! I know the rain’s a blessing, but . . . no more snow!

    Have a Happy Blue Monday and an excellent Easter celebration!

    • Teresa April 14, 2014 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks, Sally. We were dry enough that any form of moisture was good. I’m ready for warm weather though.

  6. becca givens April 14, 2014 at 2:49 pm #

    According to my hubby – we got much needed rain in TX as well, and now are having some in LA … freeze warnings for Central TX — strange strange, but I’m guessing it’s Winter’s last hoorah before it must go away!!

    • Teresa April 14, 2014 at 2:50 pm #

      Well, last year, we had a freak snowstorm in May. I’m not tempting Mother Nature by saying it’s the last (but I hope it is).

  7. Sarah ~ Magnolia Surprise April 14, 2014 at 3:46 pm #

    So, did you join Bob under the coffee table? Glad you got some much needed rain — too bad it ending up snowing again of all things!

    • Teresa April 14, 2014 at 3:47 pm #

      I didn’t join Bob. I’d have gotten stuck. 🙂 I am thrilled we got the moisture!

  8. Pat April 14, 2014 at 5:58 pm #

    So glad you got all that rain! It was q beautiful 82 here yesterday, wind and rain today, and snow forecast for tomorrow!
    Bob’s found a quiet spot.

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 6:35 am #

      That sounds exactly like ours! Stay warm.

  9. Eileen April 14, 2014 at 6:41 pm #

    Oh no, I think that rain/snow is headed this way… I love the shot of your goat looking out of the barn..And Bob looks very comfy under the table.. Wishing you a happy week ahead!

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 6:36 am #

      Thanks, Eileen. They really do not like to be out in the rain.

  10. Jennifer Davidson April 14, 2014 at 7:37 pm #

    The cat’s got the right idea. They’re smart.

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 6:36 am #

      Bob is an expert napper.

  11. Lorik April 14, 2014 at 8:40 pm #

    What a perfect pussy cat…and very much like mine….sleeping all the time…but also in appearance! Thank you for sharing on Mandarin Orange Monday:)

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 6:37 am #

      Thanks for hosting, Lori!

  12. Marie April 14, 2014 at 8:56 pm #

    I love the rain! 🙂 We are experiencing rain here right now and it’s supposed to be SUMMER! 😛

    I’m entry 16 in Blue Monday. ♥

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 6:37 am #

      This is our usual rainy time of year, but this was rather a long and cold rain.

  13. Anne April 14, 2014 at 10:50 pm #

    gzorgeous photos! What the heck is with the weather! We went from 77-80 to 22 in a few hours! 50 and 60 for two days and than SNOW! Just go back to the North Pole pleeeeeeeease! I love your photos and always enjoy seeing the goats. Our yard is filled with weeds and my hubby wishes he had a goat to help maintain the messy yard we have! we can not seem to get a handle on anything. I turned wrong last Monday while filing on a high shelf and pulled something in my right side. I am useless. So I missed linking up but shared my blues anyway. Husg to you and enjoy the moisture.

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 6:38 am #

      Sorry to hear about your injury, and I hope it’s better soon. I do have Victoria in the yard right now, and she’s decided my tulips are tasty. Forget the weeds!

  14. Alica April 14, 2014 at 11:29 pm #

    Four inches…I’m sure the ground was soooo happy for that rain! We seem to be following a similar weather pattern here…temps dropping to the mid twenties and a wintry mix tomorrow night???!!!

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 6:39 am #

      It needed it. We were horribly dry. I’m glad for the rain, but I could do without the cold.

  15. pattisj April 14, 2014 at 11:49 pm #

    I agree, Bob has the right idea! We will see the cold move in here overnight. I don’t think any snow is expected for us this time around.

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 6:39 am #

      I hope you’re done with snow. We’re all ready for spring to last.

  16. Margaret April 15, 2014 at 3:41 am #

    Hi Theresa Nay! you’d never fit under the coffee table!!! glad the rains came, not too good for the kids though stuck inside.

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 6:40 am #

      Haha, Margaret! I bet I could get under there! The kids (and all the animals) are not happy with the sudden drop in temperatures.

  17. erika April 15, 2014 at 4:12 am #

    I saw the mid west had snow again and now maybe the east coast. ugh awful for you guys. I hope MJ faired well through it all. Maybe he should have got a turn in the kitchen ( can you imagine?) 😉

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 6:40 am #

      I’m pretty sure MJ wouldn’t fit through the door. 🙂 He is handling it well.

  18. Mitzi April 15, 2014 at 7:52 am #

    Seems as though the weather change that you had made its way South last night. Yesterday it was 82 and by 5 it was in the 60’s switching over to the low 30’s by late evening. Kind of makes me wonder what our “Hurricane Season” will have in store for us this year. Lovely photos

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 8:24 am #

      Thanks. I hope it’s not a bad year for hurricanes. Someone should get a break with the weather.

  19. naquillity (@naquillity) April 15, 2014 at 2:12 pm #

    our weather went from really pretty over the weekend to snow and rain today. the temp right now is 38 degrees, sigh… at least the sun is trying to filter through right now… enjoy your rain and hopefully the grass will be enjoyable to the goats soon. have a great day~

    • Teresa April 15, 2014 at 2:25 pm #

      Thanks. I’m ready for this weather to settle down. Hope you have a good week.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.