Archive | 7:38 pm

Moving Goats Around

6 Sep

With the pasture finally getting mowed, I decided it was time to move some goats around.  I could let my moms and their June babies out there.  They really appreciate getting back out to forty acres of grass as opposed to the small paddock they’ve been in for  the last two-and-a-half months.

Vinnie

Vinnie

Joani was the last of the moms to go out because I really want to wean her kids.  She is my new milking doe in training.  She’s done really well since I first milked her last night, but we’ll see how it goes.  I’m hoping the rain in our forecast doesn’t come at milking time because my training stanchion is outside.

Joani and Wendall

Joani and Wendall

I left Joani’s boys, Oliver and Wendall in the north paddock.

Wendall

Wendall

Sam is still there, and I also put Xerxes up there.  I don’t need a little buck running around with the girls coming into heat.  I do not want February babies, and the girls tend to be a bit rough with those little boys.  Everyone is safe now!

Sam and Xerxes

Sam and Xerxes

I also kicked Hazel and Hilda back out.  They were happy to see their mom, Helen.  In fact, I actually saw Hilda nursing her.  I know Helen doesn’t have much milk left because I quit milking her about a week ago.  Didn’t seem to slow Hilda down though.

Hilda and Hazel (with Harley in the background)

Hilda and Hazel (with Harley in the background)

I think I’m done moving goats around until I take the June kids and Llenny the Llama up north for my petting zoo.