Moving Goats Around

6 Sep

With the pasture finally getting mowed, I decided it was time to move some goats around.  I could let my moms and their June babies out there.  They really appreciate getting back out to forty acres of grass as opposed to the small paddock they’ve been in for  the last two-and-a-half months.

Vinnie

Vinnie

Joani was the last of the moms to go out because I really want to wean her kids.  She is my new milking doe in training.  She’s done really well since I first milked her last night, but we’ll see how it goes.  I’m hoping the rain in our forecast doesn’t come at milking time because my training stanchion is outside.

Joani and Wendall

Joani and Wendall

I left Joani’s boys, Oliver and Wendall in the north paddock.

Wendall

Wendall

Sam is still there, and I also put Xerxes up there.  I don’t need a little buck running around with the girls coming into heat.  I do not want February babies, and the girls tend to be a bit rough with those little boys.  Everyone is safe now!

Sam and Xerxes

Sam and Xerxes

I also kicked Hazel and Hilda back out.  They were happy to see their mom, Helen.  In fact, I actually saw Hilda nursing her.  I know Helen doesn’t have much milk left because I quit milking her about a week ago.  Didn’t seem to slow Hilda down though.

Hilda and Hazel (with Harley in the background)

Hilda and Hazel (with Harley in the background)

I think I’m done moving goats around until I take the June kids and Llenny the Llama up north for my petting zoo.

14 Responses to “Moving Goats Around”

  1. Jan September 6, 2015 at 7:47 pm #

    Great seeing all the goat pictures again. Been awhile, but have enjoyed your business! Have a great rest of the weekend!

    • Teresa September 6, 2015 at 7:57 pm #

      It has been crazy busy, and I haven’t been in pasture much with all the work and the grass made it really hard to walk.

  2. Jeanne September 6, 2015 at 7:54 pm #

    I’m trying to get all this straight in my mind! It must have been quite a big job for you, getting them all situated. The pictures are great!

    • Teresa September 6, 2015 at 7:58 pm #

      Wasn’t too bad, but I did have to fix the fence where Sugar destroyed it before I could keep everyone on the right side.

  3. Margaret September 7, 2015 at 2:01 am #

    They are all looking good and healthy. Love thT shot of Wendall.

    • Teresa September 7, 2015 at 11:01 am #

      Thanks. It’s been a challenge to keep them healthy this year with all the excess rain.

  4. TexWisGirl September 7, 2015 at 3:05 pm #

    glad everyone’s settled – for now. 🙂

    • Teresa September 7, 2015 at 4:14 pm #

      For now. Seems like I’m always moving goat to make babies, avoid making babies, have babies, etc…

  5. Freda Labianca September 7, 2015 at 4:11 pm #

    Oh, Wendall sure has a sweet face!

    • Teresa September 7, 2015 at 4:14 pm #

      He sure does, but he’s about the most wild kid on the farm.

  6. pattisj September 9, 2015 at 12:14 am #

    You have to keep on top of so many things! My brain would be frazzled. Everybody loves a petting zoo.

    • Teresa September 9, 2015 at 7:59 pm #

      Yep. My brain is totally fried right now.

  7. janicead September 14, 2015 at 11:56 am #

    You truly love your life in Eden Hills. Even thought it is so much work…..

    • Teresa September 14, 2015 at 8:21 pm #

      I do. I wouldn’t want any other life.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

