Archive | 8:37 pm

A Full Barn

5 Sep

Thursday was one of the hottest days of the year (followed by Friday and Saturday).  It only makes sense.  After all, we usually bale my hay in July when it’s horrible weather.  Since this is my first cutting of hay, Mother Nature was nice enough to give us July weather.

Goats in hayfield_6118w

I got off work early because of the heat, so I came home and made sure the guys raking and baling had plenty of water to drink.

Raking_6123w

Baling_6129e

Then I helped stack hay in the barn.

Hay_6143w

It’s the first time we’ve ever used one of those nifty little elevators.  I’m pretty sure we will do whatever it takes to make sure we get to use it every year from now on.

Elevator_6136w

Not to say we’re getting old and wimpy or anything, but we did stack about 600 bales that evening.