Hickory Trees

1 Oct

Last month, I showed you the hickory tree and told you about the nuts that were hanging on it.

Well for the first of October, I could only find one nut.

I looked as high as I could, but I just didn’t see them.

I did find lots of big leaves turning yellow.  Soon, the whole tree will be a bright yellow.

Looking down, however, they were everywhere.

The nuts are fairly small.  They are a very hard nut to crack; it generally requires a hammer.  Like a walnut, it has an outer shell.  If you’re lucky, they outer shell will open to reveal the white hard nut inside.

I’ve been picking nuts today.  I much prefer using the hickory nuts for baking than the black walnuts that grow here because the hickory nuts do not have a heavy oily taste the way the walnuts do.  They are perfect for baking!   I think we’ve picked enough to last all winter.  I’m obviously not the only one who was enjoying this year’s bountiful crop because I found several that looked like this.

This tree by the fallen cottonwood is just one of six shagbark hickory trees on the property.

They are considered a native tree to this area.  You can see that their bark looks all shaggy which is obviously where they got their name.

While Mom and I were going from one tree to another, I caught a glimpse of white.  Can you tell what it is?

I slammed on the brakes quickly, and it’s a miracle I didn’t throw Mom out of the Ranger.  I found a deer antler!

This is the first one I’ve ever found, so I’m a bit excited about it.

Linking to The First of the Month.

Linking to SOOC Sunday.

Linking to Homestead Barn Hop.

Linking to Macro Monday.

63 Responses to “Hickory Trees”

  1. Linda Makiej October 1, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    wowie! Really terrific shots!

  2. Sharon Qualls October 1, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    OH, NUTS! … and more nuts! Good for you! Nice to go gadding around with your Mom on a pretty day like today! Gee… what plans have you in mind for the antler? Something cool, I expect!

    • Teresa October 1, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

      It really was a perfect day for gathering nuts. I have no plans for the antler because I had no idea I’d ever find one. I’ll probably just set it in the house to provide a wonderful energy.

  3. Alica October 1, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    How do you go about storing the nuts? Do you have to dry them?

    • Teresa October 1, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

      I will put them in the freezer for two weeks to kill any potential worm eggs. Then I can crack them and pick them out. I think we just kept them in the refrigerator before. I’ll have to check with my mom when we get that far. I might even have another post in the future.

  4. Candy C. October 1, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    How cool, free nuts AND a cool deer antler! 🙂

    • Teresa October 1, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

      Almost a perfect day!

  5. Suzan October 1, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    How lucky you are to find the antler!! I’ve looked and looked and have never found one!! Guess the deer was enjoying your hickory nuts too!

    • Teresa October 1, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

      Probably! This is the first I’ve ever found.

  6. TexWisGirl October 1, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    how cool!

    • Teresa October 1, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

      I thought it was a pretty good day. This evening, I even found a seventh hickory tree!

  7. Gengen October 1, 2011 at 9:36 pm #

    Cool shot for SOOC Sunday.

    • Teresa October 1, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      Thank you. It was a beautiful day to be out in the pasture.

  8. Tina´s PicStory October 2, 2011 at 4:12 am #

    beautiful shots 🙂

    • Teresa October 2, 2011 at 7:45 am #

      Thank you. I really do have a beautiful pasture.

  9. Lauri October 2, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    Fabulous “drop,” my husband will be jealous. Linking from SOOC.

    • Teresa October 2, 2011 at 11:33 am #

      I’m glad you stopped by. I do love the hickory nuts.

  10. DawnTreader October 2, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Oh, nice find!

    • Teresa October 2, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

      I’m very happy to have these trees in my pasture! 🙂

  11. Marcie October 2, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    Such beautiful trees!!!

    • Teresa October 2, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

      Thanks. They are one of my more colorful ones in the fall.

  12. Emzkie October 2, 2011 at 5:19 pm #

    so cool! we got a hickory tree up front by the creek, near our driveway. so many nuts on our driveway! every time i drive on it, i could hear it crunched! lol.

    by the way.. my SOOC Sunday is up also. =)

    • Teresa October 2, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

      I certainly think it was a good year for nuts in general! It’s acorns that I keep driving on.

  13. Jama October 2, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    I’ve never heard of hickory nuts as they are not found here in Asia…I’m looking forward to seeing them in your baking soon.

    • Teresa October 2, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      They are a really good nut for baking because they are not very oily like a black walnut.

  14. EG Wow, Canada October 2, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    Doesn’t it make you wonder how tough squirrel teeth and claws must be to break into hickory nuts?

    Lucky find, the antlers!

    • Teresa October 2, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

      I certainly do not want to find out how sharp a squirrel’s teeth and claws are! I’m amazed at how they can eat those hard nuts.

  15. Linda Makiej October 2, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    nice shots!! and I learned something new about hickory nuts!! thanks!

  16. Teresa October 2, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    My pleasure.

  17. Mickie Brown October 2, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Hickory nuts–I’m not sure I have ever had one. Lovely post and beautiful photos. Congrats on your deer antler!! Mickie 🙂

    • Teresa October 2, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

      I was very excited about the deer antler. It’s found a new permanent home in my dining room.

  18. Karen October 2, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    Oh, I love hickory nuts!

    • Teresa October 2, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

      They are one of my favorites!

  19. kateri October 2, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Do you ever have problems with worms in your nuts? I would pick the hickory nuts on my parents farm in upstate NY and loved them. We have several hickories on our property, and I gathered the nuts a few times but they have always been full of worms. I’m bummed about it because I really do like hickory nuts.

    • Teresa October 2, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

      Don’t bother picking up any with a hole in them. As soon as you pick them, put them in the freezer for two weeks. That will prevent any worms from hatching. You have to do that also with fresh fruit that you have dehydrated. This should prevent any problems.

  20. Kendra at New Life On A Homestead October 2, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    Oooh, cool! Thanks for the beautiful pictures, and for linking up to the Barn Hop! Now I have to see if we have any Hickory Trees on our property. We picked black walnuts today 🙂 I’d be so excited to find another kind of nut growing here!

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 7:05 am #

      I have both the black walnuts and hickory nuts. I certainly prefer the hickory nuts!

  21. Kim,USA October 2, 2011 at 11:45 pm #

    Oh my gush a deer antler!! That is an awesome find. We also have hickory tree and never I find one nut my hubby said the squirrel are faster than lightning to get the nuts lol!

    Smell The Rose

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 7:07 am #

      The squirrels got them all last year, but there are so many this year I think the squirrels have already filled their stores for the winter.

  22. Pamela October 3, 2011 at 12:11 am #

    I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a hickory nut… at least not that I recall.
    (I know I’ve never found deer antlers)

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 10:27 am #

      You really should try hickory nuts if you get the chance. This is the first deer antler I’ve ever found!

  23. Kala October 3, 2011 at 12:53 am #

    I’d love to try tasting one of those baked hickory nuts.

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 7:07 am #

      They are really very good for baking!

  24. Tatjana Parkacheva October 3, 2011 at 1:14 am #

    Very nice photos, especially I like the first one.

    Regards and best wishes

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 7:07 am #

      Thank you. So glad you stopped by.

  25. Birgitta - foto CHIP October 3, 2011 at 5:08 am #

    I love nuts and your nut picture 🙂 But I have never seen a hickory nut nor tast it before 🙂

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 7:08 am #

      They are an excellent nut for baking! I’m glad to have these trees growing in my pasture.

  26. Jen C. October 3, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    I really love the photos of the hickory tree 🙂 I can’t believe it’s already turning yellow. We’re still waiting here and it most likely won’t start coloring here until late October….

    I’ve never heard of or tried hickory nuts before. I wonder if it’s not a very common nut. Makes me wonder what it tastes like too since you mentioned it’s a better nut to use for baking than walnuts.

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 7:10 am #

      They aren’t one that you would buy in the stores. I’m not sure why not, but I’m certainly happy to have the trees growing here. They are better than black walnuts, which are very oily. The English walnuts that you purchase at the store are still a bit oilier also.

  27. April October 3, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    What beautiful trees! Congratulations on your deer antler find! ~April

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 10:25 am #

      Thanks! I was really excited about the antler.

  28. Laura Hegfield October 3, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    wow…beautiful finds and photos!

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 10:25 am #

      Thanks. Glad you stopped by.

  29. Connie October 3, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Beautiful trees…I have learned something visiting you today.

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      Nice of you to stop by and take the time to comment. I appreciate it.

  30. Mariane (TheMarianeC) October 3, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Such an amazing series of photos and the nut photo is just marvellous 🙂

    Mine:
    http://staronephoto.wordpress.com/macros-2/monday-macro/

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      Thanks. It really is beautiful in the pasture this time of year.

  31. Ida October 3, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    Wonderful shots. I’ve never seen a Hickory Nut so it was quite interesting reading about them. So happy that you spotted the Deer Antlers. Aren’t they amazing.

    http://wishesdreamsandotherthings.blogspot.com/2011/10/macro-monday-and-31-days-of-reflection.html

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

      I was almost more excited about the antler than the nuts! Thanks for stopping by.

  32. mysimplecountryliving October 3, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

    Thanks for the information on the Hickory and I really am happy for you that you found that nice deer antler. Isn’t nature amazing? Thanks for sharing and have a wonderful week.

    • Teresa October 3, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      Glad you stopped by. I do feel quite lucky to have noticed the antler.

  33. Darc October 9, 2020 at 2:35 pm #

    Just think I found a bunch of hickory nuts just not sure if they really are!! Been watching these trees for years and they remind me of the walnut trees around the corner! I’d lihe to gather up as many as I can.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.