The End of Summer

19 Aug

I’ve said it before:  the end of summer–from the first of August until the true start of fall– is my least favorite time of year.  It’s when the grass is getting eaten down and the risk of worms in the goats increase.

Margarita

There’s still green everywhere, and I still have to try to keep the yard mowed, and it’s also the busiest time for trying to put up the produce.

plums

This past week, I canned my first batch of roasted tomato sauce.  I still have several batches of sauce to do and some cold packed tomatoes also.

I’ve begun milking in earnest now, and I’m getting about six quarts of milk each day, so I’m working hard to make sure it all gets processed into yummy foods.

draining feta cheese

I’m also working on getting enough frozen for next year’s kids.

Anubus

It’s very easily the busiest time of year for me on the farm (with the exception of the crazy week of spring break babies), and I enjoy so many of the things going on (except the worms).  Then, in the middle of it all, I have to go back to teaching.

I’m not ready.  I’m never ready to leave everyone and go back to a full-time off-farm job, but after twenty-five years of teaching, it gets harder and harder.  As the herd grows older, it seems like I’m constantly evaluating who I can’t leave home all day, and do I need to have someone euthanized because of their risk of falling and getting stuck down.  I don’t have anyone at that point this year (thankful for that).

Vixen

I’m trying to figure out how I will get everyone their supplemental feeding when I’m going to be gone all day because I’m still building Aurora up and giving extra care to some of the goats struggling with the lack of copper.

Aurora

There’s so much to be done, and it’s hard enough to get it accomplished when I’m here all day.

And my dog and I are going to have a hard time being separated from each other for the whole day.  He’s been glued to my side (or sitting by the gate) the entire summer.

Sky

If my posts become shorter, you’ll know it’s because I’m frantically trying to get everything done and I’m back to work too, wishing I were home.

3 Responses to “The End of Summer”

  1. Margaret Birding For Pleasure August 20, 2018 at 2:31 am #

    That is a wonerful shot of Vixon anad Sky already looks sad, The ony answer to coping with too much work is to somehoe cut down and prioitise.

  2. janicead August 20, 2018 at 1:47 pm #

    And you are probably years from retirement, too. Sad Sky face.

  3. Jeanne August 20, 2018 at 3:13 pm #

    I’d been thinking of you, knowing you would have to go back to school soon. What a difficult time for you and all your critters!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.