Archive | 5:15 pm

Beets!

2 Aug

One reason it was pretty easy for me to simply not care about my garden is the fact that I have a generous sister with a huge garden.  She brought me a bucket of beets.

I’ve perfected the roasted beets, and I did a couple of batches.

Then I froze them for easy fixing this winter.

I also prepared some by boiling them.

I thought about keeping the water to use as dye, but then I decided I’d never get that far, so I just drained it down the sink and peeled them.

They will get smashed for later use.

I also peeled and grated some.

It kind of looked like I killed something in the kitchen.

I’ll use those two batches of beets to play with some new recipes.  If they turn out, I’ll share with you.  If not, you’ll never know what crazy things I attempted to concoct.   When I finished preparing the beets, I took the tops, roots, and peels out to the birds.

The chickens appreciated them.