Friday’s Hunt v3.24

16 Jun

Welcome back to Friday’s Hunt. I want to thank everyone who joined in last week. I had a lot of fun visiting everyone who linked up. It’s very simple. Anyone can participate. The link opens at 7pm Central time and will close Sunday at 7pm, so you have plenty of time to enter. Hopefully, you’ll be inspired to visit some of the other entries.

If you didn’t participate this week but would like to next week the topics will be: Starts with Y, Week’s Favorite, and splash. I will always keep a list of the items for the coming week in my sidebar at the top. I am crazy busy with working on the farm right now, but I will make sure to visit all participants. Without further ado, here’s my interpretations for the week.

Starts with X:  Believe it or not, I’ve had quite a few goats whose names started with X.  Blogging might have everything to do with that.  It is x-tremely important to note that it is completely x-ceptable to cheat on the letter X.   My goats: Xander, Xavier, Xena, Xerxes, Ximon.  Of course, I’m sharing Xerxes, who is the only one still here.

Xerxes Moxon Osboer

Week’s Favorite:  When I was trying to find the orioles’ nest, I ran into this fellow.  As unafraid as he was, it makes me wonder if it’s the one who was hanging out in the chicken coop.

Insect:  I know this jumping spider isn’t really an insect, but hopefully, he’s helping to keep them out of my soap room.

jumping spider

This bee is an insect.  I don’t want to get any closer to him.

Before I turn it over to you, I have a quick question as we’re nearing the end of round three.  Does everyone want to continue?  I’m enjoying it and love visiting your posts.  It’s about the only blog visiting I do these days since life has gotten so crazy.  I’m up for it if you are.  Any suggestions for changes/improvements (besides taking X out of the alphabet)?

Now it’s your turn!

Updated to add next week’s items. (Sorry)

12 Responses to “Friday’s Hunt v3.24”

  1. Ralph June 16, 2017 at 7:31 pm #

    I’d hope this meme continues! The letters are fun (although you’d note in my post, ‘X’ is difficult to find but I kinda found some. But that’s a fun challenge! And the insect clue meant I I had to stretch the boundaries a bit, which made today’s Friday Hunt so much fun! I’d keep the ‘X’ for the challenge…

  2. Jeanne June 16, 2017 at 7:57 pm #

    I haven’t taken part in the Friday’s Hunts, but I hope they will continue! I enjoy seeing what you come up with each week, Teresa, and this series, with the goats’ names has been super! I enjoy looking at the posts from those who do take part, when I have time to do so. Is that fair?

    • Jeanne June 16, 2017 at 8:01 pm #

      By the way…How old is Xerxes??

      • Teresa June 16, 2017 at 8:17 pm #

        He turned 2 in March.

  3. Patty Leonard Woodland June 16, 2017 at 8:24 pm #

    I HATE jumping spiders. They scare the devil out of me. Xerxes is a beauty

  4. Gattina June 16, 2017 at 9:34 pm #

    I hope you will continue ! I enjoy your goat pictures ! They are so funny !

    I don’t like insects but love your little squirrel !

  5. pattisj June 16, 2017 at 10:33 pm #

    I vote we do it again! I missed a couple this time around. Handsome Xerxes! Looks like you have a squirrel buddy. I don’t like jumpy little spiders, they’re so unpredictable.

  6. Suzanne Gunter McClendon June 17, 2017 at 1:07 pm #

    YES! I hope that you will continue Friday’s Hunt. I really enjoy it even though I came late into the game. Better late than never, right?

    Your Xerxes is beautiful. 🙂 I’m kind of partial to the name. Our empty-nest transition baby was named Xerxes.

    Your squirrel is adorable and I love the bee photo! I love trying to photograph bees and spiders and all sorts of creepy crawlies. I have a wasp buddy while I’m sitting out photographing the birds and squirrels, but it is very fast. I have yet to get a clear picture of it. I agree with the others about the little jumpy spiders. They’ll about make me wet my pants. haha There is one living on and in our mailbox, so I have to check the mail very carefully. So far so good on it not jumping on me.

    Have a blessed weekend!

  7. tomthebackroadstraveller June 17, 2017 at 5:35 pm #

    …and “Y” is?

    • Teresa June 17, 2017 at 5:45 pm #

      So sorry. Next week is Y, week’s favorite, and splash.

  8. scotiaspinner June 18, 2017 at 1:54 pm #

    I love the pictures of Xerxes. I never realized he had that sort of striped “mane” before on his neck. It’s really kind of unusual looking. He’s a handsome guy! The colour of the various parts of your bee suggest it is Bombus pennsylvanicus, which has the common name of “American Bumble Bee” although there are many other bumble bee species in Iowa. Not likely to sting unless provoked. I will likely continue with Friday’s Hunt. My favourite part is the 3rd random category. Sometimes I would like to switch out week’s favourite with another random category. The random things make me think about new pictures to take and push me outside of my flowers-birds-animals category sometimes! You could ask your regular contributors to suggest a group of random topics sometimes and then pick some of those, so you don’t have to always come up with them!

    • Teresa June 18, 2017 at 2:32 pm #

      That is a good idea. I used to do a scavenger hunt with five items, but that got a bit difficult sometimes. I like the three, and you’re not the first to say they struggle with the favorite. Maybe I can do that and add a “photographer’s choice” sometimes.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.