Archive | 4:45 pm

Harley’s Babies

7 Jun

Have you ever thought you had time to do something and then it turns out you were wrong?  Harley thought she’d go out to pasture with everyone last night for an after grain evening snack.  As I watched her stiffly walking across the barnyard, I noticed she had dropped and her udder had popped.  I thought it might have been better for her to stay up here, but the goats usually do a pretty good job of coming back up.

Harley and baby

Well, about fifteen minutes later, I saw Harley coming back from pasture by herself.  As she hurried up the lane, she had amniotic fluid spurting out with every step.  She got to the barn and was going to stay there.  I really did not want her to give birth on the llamas’ poop pile (yes, they pile their poop, usually exactly where I don’t want it).  That means I had to drag her to the love shack.  She does not simply walk.  That would be too easy.  So I drug her there, leaking fluid the whole way.

It only took about fifteen minutes of her panting and talking and acting all crazy before she finally laid down and gave one small push.  At that point, I could see feet and nose.  I was going to untuck the hooves so the baby would come out easier when Harley stood up, and because I was holding the baby’s hooves, it fell out.  That sent Harley into a nose dive.  She really was being a bit crazy.

 

She cleaned her first little girl off and I kept waiting for the next one, but there were no obvious contractions.  After about fifteen minutes, I checked and the feet were right there.  It was only another minute before she laid down and did one little push.  Baby girl two had arrived!

She kept cleaning and drying and had finally settled down just a little bit when baby three had back legs out.  I did pull this one because I don’t like letting them sit there partway out, and she really wasn’t pushing much at all.  It was all okay because baby girl three was here!

She has three beautiful little girls.

I hope you’ll come back to join me for Friday’s Hunt.  I have this week’s items at the top of my side bar.

