Archive | 2:13 pm

Pumpkin Brownies

7 Oct

There’s something about fall and pumpkins that just inspires me to bake.  This weekend I baked and processed two pumpkins.

baked pumpkin

I decided to try pumpkin brownies with some of the pumpkin puree that I didn’t need for my holiday pies.

pumpkin brownies

Of course, it has to look different from brownies, so you know there’s something special with them.  That’s why I made them marbled.

pumpkin brownies

You’d think, making the recipe myself, I’d know what size of pan to use, but it’s a bit tricky.  I tried a 9 x 13 pan on my first attempt, but when I changed the recipe, I switched to an 8 x 8 (even though I wrote 9 x 9).  Well, I’d stick with the 9 x 13 because it turned out quite thick.

pumpkin brownies

It’s yummy, but it was quite thick.

pumpkin brownies

I think I might have to try another batch just to make sure they are still delicious when they are thin.

I’m sharing with Clever Chick’s Blog Hop, Monday Mellow Yellows, and Homestead Barn Hop.

I’m so happy to announce the winner of the giveaway is Kelly from Just a Click Away.  If you’re still interested in winning a copy, there’s still time to enter the giveaway at Goodreads (funky widget on the sidebar).