Archive | 12:53 pm

Rainy Random 5 Friday

4 Oct

Our unusually warm spell is in the midst of being broken by several days of rain, which are bringing much cooler temperatures.  We had a three-quarters of an inch overnight and more this morning.  There’s more in the forecast this evening, with a chance of sever weather.  I really am ready for some more fall-like temperatures.  I can’t believe how green the alfalfa is yet.

Clouds

Clouds Window

It does, however, make me think of skipping the farmer’s market tonight. My soaps really do not like wet weather, and I didn’t get to stay home and bake all day like I did the last time it rained during a market.  Pretty sure I’m going to wimp out because I’ve also had parent-teacher conferences two evening this week, and I really need to spend some time with the goats.

Question Mark Butterfly

Question Mark Butterfly

I’ve seen an increase in the butterflies around the place the last few days.  They have been quite active!  It might have something to do with the fruit flies in my house from all the tomatoes (I’ll be roasting more this weekend).  I set some bananas outside because they were collecting flies.  Well, the butterflies  and bees (and flies) liked that.

Admiral and Question Mark butterflies

Admiral and Question Mark butterflies

It’s definitely that time of year that makes the bucks smell bad and follow the does along the fence.  I still haven’t found a chastity belt for Kizzy, but I have told her to keep her tail down and stay away from the buck pen.  It’s hard to track heat cycles when I’m not home until after dark because of conferences, but this is the week I need to know who’s in heat (but more about that in another post).

Love or Hormones

Boeris and Meg

So far, any feedback I’ve gotten on Aeviternus Adventures Book I: The Elements, has been quite positive.  That’s encouraging, and I’ve actually started writing Book II.  I’m sure it will go a lot faster when the market ends and the garden is done producing.  You can still enter to win a copy at the Goodreads giveaway (link in the funky sidebar widget) or enter my blog giveaway by leaving a comment HERE  before Sunday night telling me you’d like to win a copy.

I’m sharing today with Random 5 Friday, Weekly Top Shot, Photo Art Friday, Orange You Glad It’s Friday, and Camera Critters.  This is also the first week of the fall edition of Nurture Photography hosted by Kristi at Live and Love Out Loud and Rebecca at Bumbles and Light.  The topics are green/active.