Archive | 8:11 pm

Finishing Up

11 Nov

There are just a few things left that have to get done this fall.  One was disking the back forty where so much of the ground was torn up and left horribly uneven.

When I got home today, my nephews’ dad and grandpa were out there working.  Grandpa Buck was raking.

Their dad was planting.  They used a combination of pasture grass and rye as a cover crop.  The rye will come up early next spring, and it’s roots will help prevent erosion as the snow melts and we get our spring rains.  It will be mowed early and can be baled to feed later.  I need to see if it’s okay for the goats to eat.

I must say, they certainly had my baby bull wound up!  He was running and bucking from one side of the old ditch to the other.

This is one more job done.  Ever notice how my job seems to usually be the photographer?  I think I need to learn to drive a tractor next summer, so I can do more actual work.

We still have several things left:  putting in our driveway into the field, moving the hay and turning the cows into the corn field, and now I have to move the goats because they are spending time in the neighbor’s field again.  We’ll see if I can get that fence replaced yet this fall.  There isn’t much time as the sun sets on our beautiful days.