Archive | 7:12 pm

Sausage Tortellini Soup

7 Nov

Every so often I decide I just have to try something new.  My most recent experiment was to try tortellini.  I’d never done anything with it before.  After scouring the Internet and reading a whole bunch of recipes, I decided to just wing it.  Here is what I came up with.

I started by sauteing in about a tablespoon of olive oil:

1 medium onion, chopped

1/2 cup chopped bell pepper

1/4 cup chopped celery

1 cup diced zucchini

1 pound sausage links, sliced (I used vegetarian sausage)

2 cloves of garlic, minced

When this was nice and soft, I added two pints of tomatoes.  If you are using boughten tomatoes, it would be about 32 ounces.

I also added two 12 ounce cans of vegetable stock

and 1 cup of pizza sauce.

Add 1/2 teaspoon of basil and 1/2 teaspoon of oregano, and mix well.

Bring the soup to a boil.  Then add 10 ounces of tortellini.  Since this was the first time I’d ever done anything with tortellini, I decided to go easy and bought a package in the refrigerator section of the grocery store.  I chose the cheese stuffed tortellini.

After the tortellini has been added, cook for another eight minutes.

It’s ready!  Very easy to make, and great with a nice crusty loaf of bread to sop it up.

This is definitely a recipe I will make again.  It will be perfect when it’s snowy and windy outside.