Happy Goats

6 Apr

Once I got the cows on the Back Forty, I set about moving the goats around.  First, I let my moms out.  They were very happy to see they could get to pasture.

goats going to pasture

Some took off without thought of their kids.  Some kids followed and some stayed in the barnyard.

Blaze's doe Sugar's buck and doe

Blaze’s doe
Sugar’s buck and doe

Pistol was a bit more conservative and made sure she had all three of her kids.

doe goat and triplest

They had only been out there a couple of minutes, when my non-mom goats noticed their companions had been let out into the big pasture.  It didn’t matter that they’d had access to the front pasture for the last couple of weeks while the moms were locked in the barnyard.  Nope.  They were still jealous.

goats in pasture

They ran to join the moms.  I’m not going to lie.  I think a goose might have been run over.

running goat collage

Even my ten-year-olds joined in the race to the pasture (well, Millie walked regally out to pasture).  Minnie and Meg were acting like spring kids!

old goats collage

Of course, when the two groups met, it required the typical head-butting and horn locking behaviors that drive me crazy.

doe goat fight collage

It didn’t last long though because everyone wanted to eat.

goats in pasture

There were family reunions.  Star was quick to locate her mom, Vixen.

doe goats

Everyone was happy with the move.

wether goat in pasture

Litha’s quads found my thinking stone.  I’m impressed!

goat kid rock collage

Finally, the llama joined the party!

llama

Everyone is on the Back Forty that’s supposed to be there!

Sharing with Song-ography where the song is Happy by Parrell Williams, Shadow Shot Sunday, Monday Mellow Yellows, Mosaic Monday, Mandarin Orange Monday, and Blue Monday.

60 Responses to “Happy Goats”

  1. Carol Blackburn April 6, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

    Oh what fun and happy photos. I think you can enter those goats in the 400 meter run and win. I absolutely love the shot of the kid jumping off of your thinking stone. Kids of any kind can put a happy smile on my face.

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 2:28 pm #

      They are so much fun to watch out in pasture! They like my thinking stone too because it’s the perfect height and flat on top.

  2. Dotsie April 6, 2014 at 1:52 pm #

    Totally fun to see the pictures and read your descriptions, All those little kids! They certainly seem delighted to be out in pasture.

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

      It is their perfect playground!

  3. Eileen April 6, 2014 at 2:03 pm #

    Oh wow, these photos are so darn cute. I love the scene where they are all running for the field.. I hope the goose wasn’t hurt. The kids are just adorable, jumping with what looks like happiness. Awesome post, thanks for sharing.. have a happy week!

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

      No goose was injured. Can’t verify it was or was not run over, but they were not about to slow down for the goose.

  4. TexWisGirl April 6, 2014 at 2:29 pm #

    hooray for happy animals (except maybe one goose).

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 2:31 pm #

      It was certainly in the wrong place at the wrong time. No injuries though.

  5. Bethany April 6, 2014 at 2:31 pm #

    Great pictures!!! Oh the goat jealousy… Lol! The grass is ALWAYS greener under the goats feet haha. I am interested in seeing how my goats family dynamics turn out this year, it’s the first year I am keeping a couple does.

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

      They really do maintain those relationships. It’s not unusual for a mom and her kid from the previous year to be lying together with all their kids around them. It’s really neat to see.

  6. Jeanne April 6, 2014 at 2:33 pm #

    A “two-G” comment: Goofy Goats!! Great pictures too!

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 2:42 pm #

      They really are! Thanks for stopping by.

  7. Mary Ann April 6, 2014 at 2:55 pm #

    Teresa, you have NO SNOW!!!! The goats all look so healthy and happy, and I know you are getting some much needed rest! Your pictures are always so good!

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

      Thanks Mary Ann. The snow is gone, but we’re still horribly dry and cold. We’re all anxiously waiting for green.

  8. tayetofthegoats April 6, 2014 at 3:25 pm #

    I’m gonna sneak onto your farm tonight and steal Blaze’s doeling!!! She is the cutest thing I’ve seen this week. I must suggest the name “Splash” for her. Beautiful pictures, Teresa! I love the one of the goats in the shade with the sun shining through the trees.

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 3:35 pm #

      Thanks. I do think she might be the one kid that I just can’t part with this year. She’s going to be a more muscly version of her Aunt Bonnie when she’s grown up.

  9. nicki April 6, 2014 at 4:40 pm #

    Just looking at the pictures of how happy they all were makes me happy. Love the full-on charge scene. hehe!

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 4:56 pm #

      They really like their Back Forty!

  10. Lavender Dreams April 6, 2014 at 4:54 pm #

    Oh my! They are fun to watch and photograph! And CUTE, too! Looks like the weather is improving and everyone is content. Enjoy your evening my friend! Hugs!

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 4:56 pm #

      Thanks. We’ll be much happier when the grass is green, but this is much better than being cooped up in the barnyard.

  11. Judith @ Lavender Cottage April 6, 2014 at 4:59 pm #

    Sure are a happy looking group, kicking up their heels and jumping around. You are so good to know everyone’s name, I trip over names with only 6 grands.

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 5:02 pm #

      Well, I’m still trying to name the new little ones. The older ones I’m good with (although I do occasionally call them by the wrong name).

  12. A Quiet Corner April 6, 2014 at 6:42 pm #

    Awwww…what a hay ending!!!!

  13. makeupladyks@aol.com April 6, 2014 at 6:47 pm #

    Love this — happy happy goats

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 8:18 pm #

      I love happy goats too. They are not near as cranky.

  14. Erika April 6, 2014 at 8:53 pm #

    Of course I love all these cute pictures. Are your bottle fed indoor babies able to get out to play? I forgot is your llama male or female and if its a she is she going to have a baby too?

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 8:55 pm #

      The llama is a neutered male, so no babies there. I have only two bottle kids left. Fez is about to the point of joining everyone in the barnyard. He’s been out to play several times. I can’t let Ed out there because of the blindness and mobility issues. He does have some outdoor access in my yard, but that’s it.

  15. ImagesByCW (@ImagesByCW) April 6, 2014 at 9:05 pm #

    Awww – that is just too cute! Your photos are excellent. Love how you caught some of them in action or mid-air. Baby-goats are the cutest. We came across one once and stayed for probably more than 30 minutes just watching how it jumped and hopped and ran and jumped again – sooo funny.

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 9:28 pm #

      Yes, I could watch them all day!

  16. nancyjeannn April 6, 2014 at 9:41 pm #

    yup … everyone sure looks happy!! love your photos of your dear four~legged babies!!

    • Teresa April 6, 2014 at 9:49 pm #

      Thanks. We’re all a lot happier when the goats get to go out to pasture.

  17. CJ April 6, 2014 at 11:58 pm #

    I probably shouldnt have laughed, and really – probably shouldnt be admitting that I laughed when you said a goose probably got run over. 🙂

    • Teresa April 7, 2014 at 6:20 am #

      Welll, it happens. Nobody got hurt.

  18. Lori April 7, 2014 at 1:54 am #

    I love your goats..and the cute family. I also smiled at your joke (?) why they all ran over to the fence …busy bodies maybe. Thanks for sharing on Mandarin Orange Monday:)

    • Teresa April 7, 2014 at 6:22 am #

      They really were jealous. Just wanted to be in the big pasture.

  19. Shane April 7, 2014 at 2:20 am #

    I find your goats totally fascinating Teresa!
    They each have their own personality – just like us.
    Great excitement for the new mums and their kids getting out to pasture.
    I’ve had quite a bit to do with dairy cows and they are wonderful animals with definite heirarchy, likes and dislikes – I love them!

    • Teresa April 7, 2014 at 6:23 am #

      I do enjoy both the goats and cattle. Sweet and fun animals.

  20. kathy April 7, 2014 at 7:51 am #

    Oh my goodness, those babes on the stone are just precious! How could that not make anyone happy just seeing them romping. Thanks for joining in at Song-ography.

    • Teresa April 7, 2014 at 7:58 am #

      I love just going out to pasture with the herd and watching them play. It makes me happy too.

  21. Sally April 7, 2014 at 8:17 am #

    Hi Teresa,

    Thanks for sharing happy “babies” playing and this gorgeous blue sky.

    I’m looking forward to reading your comment on my Easter blues post. Please come back.

    Have a Happy Blue Monday!

    • Teresa April 7, 2014 at 8:55 am #

      I always love to share the kids frolicking in the sunshine!

  22. lina@my home sweet home April 7, 2014 at 9:19 am #

    How many goats do you have there? It must be fun seeing playing babies.

    • Teresa April 7, 2014 at 9:20 am #

      I can’t give you an exact number. I have about 65 right now.

  23. Pat April 7, 2014 at 9:21 am #

    What a great series. Pistol is such a good mom, keeping her triplets close.

    • Teresa April 7, 2014 at 9:42 am #

      She really is a good mom. Even the ones that leave their kids in the barnyard make sure to come back soon.

  24. veralynne April 7, 2014 at 9:30 am #

    Wow you had quite the adventure. Those pictures are the best. I love, love, love, the ones of the babes on your rock. That is post card perfect….another line you might get in????? I know it is hard work, but those babies are so cute. You are an awesome “mom” and I love seeing your daily blogs about them. Kudos to you!

    • Teresa April 7, 2014 at 9:43 am #

      Thanks. I have note cards, but I’ve not made post cards yet. I’ll have to think about that.

  25. Sarah ~ Magnolia Surprise April 7, 2014 at 10:43 am #

    What fun — I enjoyed running along! The kids bouncing on your thinking stone are awfully cute, and I got a kick out of the non-moms all lined up at the fence!

    • Teresa April 7, 2014 at 10:51 am #

      Glad you enjoyed your visit. They were very jealous of the moms getting to be in the Back Forty. Like me, they think it is the best place to be!

  26. Ida P. Krause April 7, 2014 at 11:45 am #

    What a joyous time these goats seem to be having. I loved seeing your photos. The ones of the goats racing towards the pasture were awesome, poor goose though. I laughed at that part. –

    • Teresa April 7, 2014 at 11:54 am #

      As mean as the geese tend to be, it’s okay to laugh at them. The goats were thrilled to go out to the Back Forty.

  27. itsallaboutpurple April 7, 2014 at 7:11 pm #

    oooohhhh can I please just say that I love your place, I love your critters!! I need to live on a farm, can I come live with you?!?!

    • Teresa April 7, 2014 at 8:12 pm #

      As long as you’re willing to work, I’d take you in. 😉

  28. magicalmysticalteacher April 8, 2014 at 6:38 am #

    I’ve always been amazed at how kids can climb their mothers’ backs!

    Desert Shadows

    • Teresa April 8, 2014 at 6:41 am #

      They are impressive little babies!

  29. Marla aka Crazy Mom April 8, 2014 at 7:01 am #

    Happy Pictures!! Thank you for the smiles. 🙂

    • Teresa April 8, 2014 at 7:47 am #

      Glad you liked them!

  30. pattisj April 10, 2014 at 6:18 pm #

    It sure looks like they were excited to get there!

    • Teresa April 10, 2014 at 7:39 pm #

      They were thrilled!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.