Hazy Shade of Winter

The song choice for Song-ography today is Hazy Shade of Winter by the Bangles.  I have to tell you, I’m sick of being sick of winter.  Yeah, we’ve had tons of beautiful icicles and skies.

sun over icicles

goats, icicles and sun

Moose is adorable trying to find a place to nap off the ground.

Moose

SOOC Moose

But on the farm the frigid temperatures and poor conditions are not just an inconvenience, it’s life and death.

angled icicles

If you look closer, you’ll see Moose has a bit of frostbite on his long ears.  He gets them wet drinking, and then they freeze.  Sadly, several of my long-eared goats are looking a little rough.

goat

SOOC

I can’t get my gates open, so I’m not sure how to prepare for the girls giving birth next month.  Hopefully, we’ll get a solid week of warmer weather (without an ice storm at the end of it) to let me get rid of ice and open the gates.

Mary

SOOC Mary

MJ, my steer, isn’t walking to the cattle tank.  At nearly seventeen, with three gimpy legs, I don’t blame him.  I’m carrying water to him every day.

SOOC

SOOC

The goats’ side of the cattle tank has an ice rink in front of it.

SOOC

SOOC

I’ve been babying Quigly all winter.  He was one of three goats that caught a cold/crud last fall.  The winter has been so hard, he just hasn’t been able to catch up.  There’s not been five minutes all winter that he hasn’t had access to food (which is why Little Bit is so round), but he can’t eat enough to gain weight.

SOOC Little Bit and Quigley

SOOC Little Bit and Quigley

I’m thankful, he’s just holding his own.

Sharing with Song-ography, SOOC Sunday, Shadow Shot Sunday, Monday Mellow Yellows and Blue Monday.

44 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sharonodegaard
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 14:15:50

    Those icicles are amazing! And your goats are adorable (and I didn’t think I would ever call goats adorable, but they are!).

    Reply

  2. TexWisGirl
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 14:45:46

    i hope the weather breaks for you soon.

    Reply

  3. Stephanie
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 16:00:37

    Hope your weather gets warmer for the goats. Just looked at all of your beautiful images right down the page.

    Reply

  4. pattisj
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 17:05:17

    It’s sad to have frost-bitten ears. It does look like Little Bit is eating well! Hoping your weather breaks soon–for you and your animals.

    Reply

  5. Pat
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 18:41:38

    Hope the weather gets better soon. You and your animals need a break.

    Reply

  6. nicki
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 19:25:29

    Cool, cool icicles and as always – cute goats. Hope Little Bit feels better and winter cuts you a break soon.

    Reply

  7. Kathy
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 19:28:22

    Oh my..that first shot with that beautiful golden light bouncing off the icicles…simply beautiful! Thank you for joining in at Song-ography.

    Reply

  8. Erika
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 20:03:39

    Despite all the hardships and cold the goats still smile sweetly for you and your camera.

    Reply

  9. Anne
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 20:40:40

    Those icicles look like the wind was blowing to make them form sideways! Nice to see some sunny pictures.

    Reply

  10. Leave It To Davis
    Feb 23, 2014 @ 20:48:39

    Beautiful icicle pictures!!! Your goats look like they smile at you…..are they? Or is that just the way their mouth is shaped? If they do smile, no wonder you love them so. I hope you do have a couple of weeks of warm weather and no rain or precipitation of any kind…..to help you to get all caught up. You work too hard!

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Feb 23, 2014 @ 20:56:43

      Goats smile. They really do. Some are huge show-offs for the camera too. Thanks. I do hope it gives me a chance to get prepared for babies.

      Reply

  11. lina@home tips
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 03:25:13

    Cold but stunning winter shots,
    Your goats look pretty and healthy. Hopefully the coming babies experience warmer weather.

    Reply

  12. Nancy @ A Rural Journal
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 08:15:53

    Sending up prayers for MJ and Quigley. xo

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Feb 24, 2014 @ 08:18:55

      Thanks. I think Quigley will make it since he’s hung in this long, but MJ truly worries me since he’s on the old side of things.

      Reply

  13. Sally
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 10:02:12

    Hi Teresa,

    Oh, your job is so tough–especially in this nasty looong winter. I wish that I could offer some encouraging word, but . . .

    all I have is:

    Happy Blue Monday!

    Reply

  14. Marigold
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 10:12:11

    Winter. Yuck. Ours is rain and more rain. The ducks are happy anyway. Why, oh why, can’t the Goatmother take pictures like you? :)

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Feb 24, 2014 @ 12:07:46

      The geese and ducks were happy here when we had rain the other day. Not so much when the hail, sleet and snow came. :-) Your goatmother is very good at taking pictures.

      Reply

  15. EG CameraGirl
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 17:11:24

    I’m embarrassed to tell you that I LOVE your icicles. Please forgive me. ;))

    Reply

  16. Ida
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 17:57:23

    Those icicle photos were fabulous. – It is sad though that the animals are having are hard time getting through the rough winter. I don’t envy your job but at least you are doing the best that you can under the circumstances. Hoping you get a break in your weather soon.

    Reply

  17. JOY
    Feb 24, 2014 @ 19:23:04

    Winter is a time I do not miss farming. Miserable, especially during the horrid cold. I do enJOY these pictures. Those smiling goats…how cute.

    Reply

  18. Little Wandering Wren
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 00:05:37

    It does look tough on all of you – however beautiful the icicles are. The poor goat with the frost bitten ears, surely your Spring and a big thaw are just around the corner for you? Hope so
    Wren x

    Reply

  19. Gemma Wiseman
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 01:21:10

    First, I must say I admire your spirit so much. Even though this post is tinged with sadness,, I feel you should be proud of all your achievements and especially proud that you have the strength to hang in. I am sure Moose is smiling, just happy to be loved. And love that first photo of light on icicles. So magical.

    Reply

  20. Candy C.
    Feb 25, 2014 @ 07:23:50

    Dang, I saw where your weather has turned colder again today. Poor goaties with their frostbitten ears! This horrible winter has GOT to end sometime and I hope it’s sooner rather than later for the sake of all the critters.

    Reply

    • Teresa
      Feb 25, 2014 @ 07:48:33

      Me too. I’m sure most of the ears will heal with just a bit of scarring on the tips and no real losses, but I still feel bad for them.

      Reply

  21. itsallaboutpurple
    Feb 26, 2014 @ 14:58:19

    pretty ice and such cute critters!! spring is coming, i can feel it!!

    Reply

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

Blog Stats

  • 478,097 hits

For the Love of Blogging, Turn it Off

Copyright Notice

Entire Contents © Copyright 2010 - 2014 Eden Hills. Text and photographs may not be published, broadcast, redistributed, re-blogged or aggregated without express permission. Feel free to contact me to purchase a print or discuss a licensing agreement. Thank you.
Get your own free Blogoversary button!

Disclaimer

The information on this web site is supplied for general reference and educational purposes only. This information does not represent the management practices or thinking of other goat breeders or the veterinary community. I am not a veterinarian, and the information on this site is not intended to replace professional veterinary advice. This information is not intended to diagnose or treat any health problems or illnesses without consulting your veterinarian. I disclaim all liability in connection with the use of this information.
