Good Random Fun

24 Feb

This week for good, I have wine.  We racked a lot of wine this weekend.  I still have about nineteen gallons in the carboys.

wine

In a couple of weeks, we’ll bottle about ten gallons.

Wine Collage

It will get to start filling the new rack my dad made for me (but I don’t have it moved out here yet).

wine

It’s good stuff!

Over the weekend, I noticed this random sign of spring.  Horn boogers!

Marley

Marley

Marley is starting to lose his winter undercoat.  That surely means spring is just around the corner.

For fun, I’m sharing my talented cow, Maxine.

Maxine

Maxine

She’s ambitongrous!

Sharing with Good. Random. Fun., Mosaic Monday, Macro Monday, and Ruby Tuesday 2.

34 Responses to “Good Random Fun”

  1. TexWisGirl February 24, 2014 at 12:28 pm #

    maxine made me laugh! so cute! yup, spring is on the way!

    • Teresa February 24, 2014 at 12:44 pm #

      They crack me up when they do that.:-)

  2. JP @ A Quiet Corner February 24, 2014 at 1:57 pm #

    WOW! If I could do that (GROSS!!!!), I would save on Kleenex for sure!

    • Teresa February 24, 2014 at 2:32 pm #

      I kind of admit there are times that I think it would be convenient (like in the middle of chores in the winter).:-)

  3. Jim February 24, 2014 at 3:09 pm #

    Great shots

  4. Rainey February 24, 2014 at 3:22 pm #

    Maxine is a very talented cow indeed… And has very sweet eyes.

    • Teresa February 24, 2014 at 3:23 pm #

      I love soft cow eyes.:-)

  5. Ralph February 24, 2014 at 4:13 pm #

    That wine looks great – unlike the mass bottle vintners, yours has a homemade style that works well as a table wine without pretense. Honest and tasty!

    Your animals are adorable, Marley unaware of (or not caring about) said booger, and Maxine even more winsome than the goats at least in these expressions.

    A hope for Spring’s arrival in a shorter time than the calendar suggests…

    • Teresa February 24, 2014 at 6:08 pm #

      I do think our wines have a much better flavor (and I know they are a bit more powerful).

  6. Eileen February 24, 2014 at 4:55 pm #

    I love your cute Maxine and Marley!! The wine sounds wonderful.. Nice to have your own stock..Great to hear spring is on the way!

    • Teresa February 24, 2014 at 6:08 pm #

      Marley may be changing his mind about losing that undercoat with the cold week ahead.

  7. EG CameraGirl February 24, 2014 at 5:09 pm #

    Maxine is indeed clever! Lucky you to have so much good wine on hand.

    • Teresa February 24, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

      I must say, cattle are the best at keeping their noses clean.😉

  8. Tamar Strauss-Benjamin February 24, 2014 at 6:46 pm #

    Horn boogers – now that is random and a new one to me!

    And…that’s a lot of wine!!

    • Teresa February 24, 2014 at 6:51 pm #

      It is a lot of wine, but we haven’t had good fruit harvest for a couple of years. While we had plenty, we figured we’d better stock up.

  9. Alica February 24, 2014 at 7:10 pm #

    Ambitongrous…now that’s a new one! :) I’m curious…what kinds of wine are in those pictures? What’s the kind with the “chunks” in it?

    • Teresa February 24, 2014 at 7:11 pm #

      The chunks are actually golden raisins in a sweet apple wine. The next one over is pumpkin. Then a dry apple. The last one is apple/cherry.

      In the bottles on the rack is plum.

  10. kim February 24, 2014 at 7:28 pm #

    Kind of cracking up over horn boogers. LOL. Totally new. The wine looks fun!

    • Teresa February 24, 2014 at 8:33 pm #

      We do have a lot of fun doing the wine.

  11. Yogi February 24, 2014 at 8:48 pm #

    I’m intrigued by your wine. I used to make beer. I loved it but I got tired of seeing the race between the bacteria and the yeast.

    • Teresa February 24, 2014 at 9:02 pm #

      We had one batch turn to vinegar, but otherwise, it’s not been a problem. I did make sure to buy new equipment and we use a chemical sterilizer. It’s been great.

  12. janicead February 24, 2014 at 10:44 pm #

    Nice share of pictures and story.

  13. Molly February 25, 2014 at 6:51 am #

    Oh my I love the macro shot of the horn, what a unique photo

    Mollyxxx

    • Teresa February 25, 2014 at 7:47 am #

      Thanks. Their horns are impressive.

  14. magicalmysticalteacher February 25, 2014 at 7:41 am #

    I always like visiting your farm. I never know what I’m going to find!

    Street Reds

    • Teresa February 25, 2014 at 7:49 am #

      I’m kind of the same way. I never know what I’ll find when I go out to the barnyard. Most days it’s good.:-)

  15. Pat February 25, 2014 at 7:52 pm #

    Ha! Love the new vocabulary word.

    • Teresa February 25, 2014 at 9:20 pm #

      I try to be creative occasionally.:-)

  16. WolfSong February 26, 2014 at 9:32 am #

    Oh Maxine!😛
    Well, a girl has to wipe her nose somehow, when she can’t hold a kleenex, right? LOL!

    • Teresa February 26, 2014 at 10:45 am #

      That’s for sure! I think she’s also getting the hay stuck to her nose. A little extra snack.😉

  17. pattisj February 28, 2014 at 11:58 pm #

    I’ve never heard of horn boogers, but welcome ANY sign of spring. Great shots of Maxine. She was really showing off her talent.

    • Teresa March 1, 2014 at 8:05 am #

      I’m pretty sure that’s not a technical term, but oh well…

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

