After Three Months

21 Aug

One of the weird things about the copper deficiency is that the goats lose their color.  Seriously.  It happened so gradually, I never even noticed.  Or when I did see Haley had a big light patch on her side, I was just confused.  Lily gives a good example of this color loss.  It is really noticable around the eyes.

Lily Osboer–January 2012

As the color fades, it becomes like a silvery patch around the eyes.

 

Lily–April 2017

She had copper given to her in May of this year, and here’s how she looks now.

Lily–August 2018

It’s unbelieveable.

9 Responses to “After Three Months”

  1. Claire Moxon-Waltz August 21, 2018 at 5:07 pm #

    it’s amazing to see all their improvements and how quickly things have turned around. I am so glad you finally got to the bottom of the problem. You will surely be able to help others who run into this problem as well.

  2. janicead August 21, 2018 at 5:40 pm #

    WOW. What a change.

  3. Billie Wallace August 21, 2018 at 7:48 pm #

    This is so slow moving. I never would have noticed. You are such a great maa! You have all your kids on the road to recovery.

  4. Lori D Benson August 21, 2018 at 8:33 pm #

    How do you test for copper defiency? Do you test the soil or a blood test with the goats?

    • Teresa August 21, 2018 at 8:43 pm #

      I had kids posted, and they did a liver test. There is a blood test, but I don’t know how accurate it is. I did also do soil core samples and hay samples.

  5. Margaret Birding For Pleasure August 22, 2018 at 1:44 am #

    Amazing and so glad you got that problem sorted

  6. Eileen Wise August 22, 2018 at 6:25 am #

    Hello, that is strange losing color. Lily is cute. Happy Wednesday, enjoy your day!

  7. A Quiet Corner August 22, 2018 at 5:16 pm #

    WOW!! That really is amazing! I never knew that…:)JP

  8. Jeanne August 22, 2018 at 6:28 pm #

    It’s a long, drawn-out process, but I can see the improvement, from the pictures you posted of Lily. She’s a very pretty lady.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.